Chalkida

Le pont de l’escapade idéale
Below the old bridge linking Chalkida with the mainland you’ll witness something that happens nowhere else in the world
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
11°
THU
12°
FRI
SAT
10°
SUN
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
L’Eubée. Un phénomène de marées prodigieux, des fruits de mer extraordinaires et le point d’accès à la deuxième plus grande île de Grèce

Pendant que vous vous approchiez de Chalkida, le pont suspendu vous réserve un accueil très impressionnant dans une parmi les plus grandes îles de la Grècel’Eubée. Cependant, c’est un peu plus loin, sur le vieux pont, que se cache la vraie magie du lieu: les «eaux folles» du golfe d’Eubée, une véritable attraction. Elles tourbillonnent, montent et changent de direction tout le temps.

Il s’agit d’un phénomène unique au monde. Le courant maritime est inversé continuellement, comme le courant humain qui traverse quotidiennement Chalkida, la ville bien aimée des Athéniens. Accueillante et animée, elle vous invite à vous promener tranquillement au bord de la mer, pour y trouver des cafés, des bars et des petites tavernes servant du poisson frais. Pour une «escapade» loin du stress, une excursion même d’une journée, Chalkida vous attend à la sortie du pont, sur la rive relaxante de la vie.

Attractions à Chalkida

La marée mystérieuse avec ses eaux “folles”

Avec votre passage en Eubée, sous le vieux pont de Chalkida, vous verrez un phénomène qui n’a lieu qu’à cet endroit et nulle part ailleurs dans le monde: toutes les six heures, les eaux montent, tourbillonnent et le courant change de direction. Ce phénomène «fou» est dû à l’attraction de la lune ainsi qu’à la différence du niveau de l’eau entre la partie nord et la partie sud du golfe d’Eubée.

A côté, le nouveau pont suspendu, datant de 1993, représente un véritable phénomène technologique: il est d'une longueur de 694,5 mètres dont 215 sont suspendus à une hauteur de 35,5 mètres. Malgré ce nouvel édifice imposant, l’ancien pont conserve tout-de-même son aura car il représente la marque déposée de Chalkida, un point de croisement qui mène directement au cœur de la vie sociale de la vile.

Du poisson frais sur la plage

Pour trouver du poisson frais, pour boire un café, une boisson fraiche ou alcoolisée ou pour une grande promenade tranquille, la plage de Chalkida, très animée, vous invite à marcher devant les pêcheurs et les vendeurs de rue, les artistes et les groupes d’amis qui s’amusent. La rue est pleine de tavernes, chacune d’entre elles ayant son propre style. Choisissez celle qui vous plait le plus et profitez de délicieux fruits de mer. Le soir, la plage illumine la mer de son éclat et dans de très jolis bars en vogue, la joie, la musique et les cocktails sont au rendez-vous.

La châteu-fort de Karababa avec vue sur le golfe de l’Eubée

Il est temps de se promener dans une des deux forteresses qui protégeaient la ville de Chalkida jusqu’au XIXe siècle, la seule qui existe encore de nos jours. Il s’agit de la forteresse de Kanithos (ou Karababa) sur la colline verdoyante de Fourkas, une des plus belles attractions de la région. Elle a été achevée en 1684 et a empêché à l’époque Francesco Morosini de s’emparer de la ville de Chalkida pendant la guerre entre les Turcs et les Vénitiens. Aujourd’hui, les trois remparts ne servent plus à la protection de la ville mais, depuis ses bastions, vous profiterez d’une vue magique sur le golfe.

Le mont Dirfys en Eubée

Une destination magique à juste 90 minutes d’Athènes. Les villages les plus importants sont Steni de Dirfys et les Stropones d’Eubée. Admirez la beauté naturelle rare, des eaux qui coulent, un régal de choix gastronomiques et plusieurs activités en plein air.

Les trésors cachés de Chalkida

Le Musée Archéologique de Chalkida

L’entrée du musée vous accueille avec une magnifique statue d’Hermès sans tête, découverte dans la forteresse vénitienne. La cour présente des colonnes, des pierres tombales et des statues de grande taille datant de l’époque romaine.

Des bâtiments historiques

Découvrez-les dans la ville de Chalkida. La maison rouge, édifiée en 1884, et la maison avec les statues de la Société des études eubéennes (1891) sont de haute facture. Le bâtiment qui abrite la mairie de la ville présente des éléments baroques et d’autres reflétant la technique italienne. La maison de maître de Kriezoti et la résidence de Karakosta sont également à voir.

Les mosquées

Dans la capitale de l’Eubée, vous découvrirez un passé qui vous surprendra. Des onze mosquées qui existaient dans la ville, seule celle de la rue Kotsou existe encore de nos jours, sans son minaret. La mosquée d’Emir Zadé a été construite au début de l’occupation turque. Vous pouvez y voir, à l’entrée, une inscription sculptée en arabe et, à l’intérieur, une collection notable de céramiques et de mosaïques byzantines. 

  • La châteu-fort de Karababa avec vue sur le golfe de l’Eubée
  • Le mont Dirfys en Eubée
  • Le Musée Archéologique de Chalkida
  • Des bâtiments historiques
  • Les mosquées
Highlights

Chalkida

A tidal mystery and gateway to Evia
Below the old bridge linking Chalkida with the mainland you’ll witness something that happens nowhere else in the world
Scroll
Today
25°
TUE
22°
WED
21°
THU
22°
FRI
23°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
A unique tidal phenomenon, fabulous seafood and all of Evia at your doorstep await you in Chalkidia

The city of Chalkida sits across from the long narrow island of Evia, the second-largest island in Greece, but you don’t have to take a boat to get there. Instead, there are two bridges. The magnificent suspension bridge is highly impressive but the real magic, the ‘crazy waters’ of the Gulf of Evia, is best seen from the old bridge just beyond it. It may seem like a really small tide for those used to the Atlantic but its behaviour is seen nowhere else on this planet.

Every six hours the tides here change direction, for reasons that science is still unable to fully explain. Hundreds of visitors come almost daily from Athens, though probably not only to see this bizarre natural phenomenon. More likely, they are drawn by the warm atmosphere, the cafes and bars, the walks by the shore and the delicious seafood. 

What to do in Chalkida

Mystery tide, crazy water

Below the old bridge linking Chalkida with the mainland, you’ll witness something that happens nowhere else in the world. Every six hours, the currents swell up and change direction. This weird behaviour is somehow due to the moon’s gravitational pull and the difference in sea level between the north and south parts of the Gulf of Evia but the details remain a little murky.

South of the old bridge, the new bridge (1993) is a marvel of modern technology: a cable suspension bridge, 694.5m long, of which 215m are 35.5m above the sea. Impressive though this may be, the old bridge still retains its charm as a signature landmark of Chalkida, leading straight to the heart of the town’s social life.

She sells seafood by the seashore

Chalkida’s lively seaside invites you to walk amongst fishermen, wandering artists and itinerant sellers and then sit down for a coffee or a drink amid groups of happy friends. The waterfront is lined with tavernas, each with its own trademark style. Choose the one that attracts you and dig into delicious freshly-caught seafood. At night, the city’s lights illuminate the sea while you have a cocktail at one of the music-bars along the shore.

Karababa’s Castle with a sea view

Time to pay a visit to the one remaining castle of the two that guarded Chalkida until the 19th century. The castle of Kanithos, or Karababa if you prefer, tops the green hill of Fourka and is one of the most impressive attractions in the area. It was completed in 1684 and proved vital in preventing Francisco Morosini from conquering Chalkida during the Turko-Venetian war raging at the time. It no longer protects the city but it still has the best view of the gulf and the mainland opposite.

Dirfis, in Evia

A magical place, just 1½ hours from Athens. The most impressive towns are Steni Dirfis and Stropones. Enjoy rare natural beauty, gushing water, a mouth-watering choice of food and a wealth of outdoor activities

Hidden gems of Chalkida

The Archaeological Museum of Chalkida

You’ll be greeted by a headless Hermaic stele found at the Venetian fort. In the forecourt, you’ll find column capitals, funerary steles and larger-than-life statues from the Roman era.

Historic buildings

Among the beautiful old buildings, you’ll find in Chalkida are the Red House, built in 1884; the House of Statues, constructed by the Euboean Studies Company in 1891; the Town Hall, a mixture of baroque and Italian eclecticism; and the Kriezoti mansion and Karakostas manor.

The mosques

In the capital of Evia, you will uncover a history that will surprise you. Of the eleven mosques that used to be dotted around the city, only the one on Kotsou Street remains, its minaret removed. The Emir Zade mosque was built in the first years following the Turkish conquest. An engraved inscription in Arabic can be seen at the entrance and inside there’s a fine collection of Byzantine mosaics and ceramics.

  • Karababa’s Castle
  • Dirfis, in Evia
  • The Archaeological Museum of Chalkida
  • Historic buildings
  • The mosques
Highlights

Plan your trip