Below the old bridge linking Chalkida with the mainland you’ll witness something that happens nowhere else in the world
Scroll
Heute
SUN
MON
TUE
10°
WED
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Eubäa. Ein einmaliges Spiel der Gezeiten, köstliche Meeresfrüchte und das Tor zur zweitgrößten Insel des Landes

Chalkida liegt auf der langen, schmalen Insel Eubäa/Evia, aber Sie brauchen nicht in ein Boot zu steigen. Stattdessen führen Sie zwei Brücken vom Festland hierher. Die prächtige, neue Hängebrücke ist imposant, aber die wirkliche Magie des Ortes wird spürbar, wenn Sie über die alte Brücke fahren. Das Wasser, das unter der Brücke durchläuft, wechselt alle sechs Stunden die Richtung.

Ein weltweit einmaliges Phänomen, das selbst Wissenschaftler nicht erklären können. Hunderte Besucher kommen täglich von Athen hierher. Nicht nur das bizarre Naturphänomen ist Anziehungspunkt, die meisten suchen einfach Erholung vom Trubel der Großstadt. Hier locken Sie  charmante Cafés und Bars an, Spaziergänge am Ufer und vor allem die Meeresfrüchte. Chalkida ist der Zufluchtsort für Athener und steht auch Ihnen offen.

Besichtigen Sie auf Eubäa

Geheimnisvolle Fluten und verrückte Gewässer

Wenn Sie nach Eubäa fahren, bietet Ihnen die Natur unter der alten Brücke, die das Festland mit Chalkida verbindet, ein Schauspiel ohnegleichen. Alle sechs Stunden wechselt die Strömung die Richtung. Dieses seltsame und einzigartige Phänomen hat mit der Anziehungskraft des Mondes zu tun, aber auch mit dem Höhenunterschied des Meeresspiegels zwischen dem Norden und Süden des Golfs von Eubäa.

Viele Details aber bleiben noch im Dunkeln. Südlich der alten Brücke liegt die neue Brücke von 1993, ein Wunderwerk der modernen Technik: Eine 694,5 m lange Hängebrücke, 215 m hoch und 35,5 m breit. Auch wenn die neue Brücke vielleicht beeindruckender ist, hat die alte Brücke doch mehr Charme. Sie ist das Markenzeichen Chalkidas und führt direkt ins Herz der Stadt.

Frische Meeresfrüchte in Hülle und Fülle am Strand

Spazieren Sie entlang der lebhaften Küsten Chalkidas vorbei an Fischern, Künstlern und Straßenhändlern. Genießen Sie in einem der vielen Cafés einen Kaffee oder Drink inmitten der lebhaften, freundlichen Einwohner und Touristen. Die Uferpromenade hat unendlich viele Tavernen, jede mit ihrem ganz eigenen Stil. Suchen Sie sich Ihre persönliche  Lieblingstaverne  aus und probieren Sie die köstlichen, fangfrischen Meeresfrüchte. In der Nacht erleuchten die Lichter der Stadt das Meer. Den Ausblick genießen Sie am besten in einer der schönen Musik-Bars entlang der Küste bei einem Cocktail.

Die Karababas-Burg mit Meerblick

Zeit für einen Besuch in der einen, verbleibenden Burg, die Halkida  bis zum 19. Jahrhundert bewachte. Die Burg von Kanithos, auch Karababa, liegt auf dem grünen Hügel von Fourka und ist eine der scvhönsten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Gegend. Sie wurde im Jahre 1684 fertiggestellt und verhinderte die Eroberung Chalkidas durch Francisco Morosini während des türkisch-venezianischen Krieges. Heutzutage beschützt die Burg zwar nicht mehr die Stadt, aber von hier hat man immer noch den besten Blick auf den Golf und das Festland.

Dirfis in Evia

Ein magischer Ort nur 1 ½ Stunden von Athen entfernt. Die eindrucksvollsten Orte sind Steni Dirfis und Stropones mit ursprünglicher Natur, viel Wasser und Outdoor-Angeboten.

Versteckte Juwelen auf Halkida

Das Archäologische Museum von Halkida

Am Eingang des Museums erwaret Sie  eine kopflose, hermaischen Säule, die an der venezianischen Festung gefunden wurde. Auf dem Vorplatz können Sie Kapitellen, Grabstelen und riesige Statuen aus der Römerzeit besichtigen.

Historische Gebäude

Entdecken Sie die schönen, alten Gebäuden von Chalkida.  Das Rote Haus aus dem Jahr 1884, das Haus der Statuen, von dem Unternehmen für Euböische Studien im Jahr 1891 gebaut, das Rathaus, eine Mischung aus Barock und italienischem Eklektizismus, die Villa Kriezoti  und die Villa Karakostas.

Die Moscheen

In der hauptstadt von Eubäa werden Sie eine überraschende vergangenheit entdecken. Allerdings ist von den elf ursprünglichen Moscheen nur die eine auf der Kotsou Straße erhalten geblieben und das ohne ihr Minarett. Die Emir Zade-Moschee wurde in den ersten Jahren der türkischen Eroberung gebaut. Eine gravierte Inschrift in arabischer Sprache kann man am Eingang heute noch erkennen. Innen gibt es eine schöne Sammlung von byzantinischen Mosaiken und Keramiken.

  • Die Karababas Burg
  • Dirfis in Evia
  • Das Archäologische Museum von Halkida
  • Historische Gebäude
  • Die Moscheen
Highlights

Chalkida

A tidal mystery and gateway to Evia
Below the old bridge linking Chalkida with the mainland you’ll witness something that happens nowhere else in the world
Scroll
Today
25°
TUE
22°
WED
21°
THU
22°
FRI
23°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
A unique tidal phenomenon, fabulous seafood and all of Evia at your doorstep await you in Chalkidia

The city of Chalkida sits across from the long narrow island of Evia, the second-largest island in Greece, but you don’t have to take a boat to get there. Instead, there are two bridges. The magnificent suspension bridge is highly impressive but the real magic, the ‘crazy waters’ of the Gulf of Evia, is best seen from the old bridge just beyond it. It may seem like a really small tide for those used to the Atlantic but its behaviour is seen nowhere else on this planet.

Every six hours the tides here change direction, for reasons that science is still unable to fully explain. Hundreds of visitors come almost daily from Athens, though probably not only to see this bizarre natural phenomenon. More likely, they are drawn by the warm atmosphere, the cafes and bars, the walks by the shore and the delicious seafood. 

What to do in Chalkida

Mystery tide, crazy water

Below the old bridge linking Chalkida with the mainland, you’ll witness something that happens nowhere else in the world. Every six hours, the currents swell up and change direction. This weird behaviour is somehow due to the moon’s gravitational pull and the difference in sea level between the north and south parts of the Gulf of Evia but the details remain a little murky.

South of the old bridge, the new bridge (1993) is a marvel of modern technology: a cable suspension bridge, 694.5m long, of which 215m are 35.5m above the sea. Impressive though this may be, the old bridge still retains its charm as a signature landmark of Chalkida, leading straight to the heart of the town’s social life.

She sells seafood by the seashore

Chalkida’s lively seaside invites you to walk amongst fishermen, wandering artists and itinerant sellers and then sit down for a coffee or a drink amid groups of happy friends. The waterfront is lined with tavernas, each with its own trademark style. Choose the one that attracts you and dig into delicious freshly-caught seafood. At night, the city’s lights illuminate the sea while you have a cocktail at one of the music-bars along the shore.

Karababa’s Castle with a sea view

Time to pay a visit to the one remaining castle of the two that guarded Chalkida until the 19th century. The castle of Kanithos, or Karababa if you prefer, tops the green hill of Fourka and is one of the most impressive attractions in the area. It was completed in 1684 and proved vital in preventing Francisco Morosini from conquering Chalkida during the Turko-Venetian war raging at the time. It no longer protects the city but it still has the best view of the gulf and the mainland opposite.

Dirfis, in Evia

A magical place, just 1½ hours from Athens. The most impressive towns are Steni Dirfis and Stropones. Enjoy rare natural beauty, gushing water, a mouth-watering choice of food and a wealth of outdoor activities

Hidden gems of Chalkida

The Archaeological Museum of Chalkida

You’ll be greeted by a headless Hermaic stele found at the Venetian fort. In the forecourt, you’ll find column capitals, funerary steles and larger-than-life statues from the Roman era.

Historic buildings

Among the beautiful old buildings, you’ll find in Chalkida are the Red House, built in 1884; the House of Statues, constructed by the Euboean Studies Company in 1891; the Town Hall, a mixture of baroque and Italian eclecticism; and the Kriezoti mansion and Karakostas manor.

The mosques

In the capital of Evia, you will uncover a history that will surprise you. Of the eleven mosques that used to be dotted around the city, only the one on Kotsou Street remains, its minaret removed. The Emir Zade mosque was built in the first years following the Turkish conquest. An engraved inscription in Arabic can be seen at the entrance and inside there’s a fine collection of Byzantine mosaics and ceramics.

  • Karababa’s Castle
  • Dirfis, in Evia
  • The Archaeological Museum of Chalkida
  • Historic buildings
  • The mosques
Highlights

Plan your trip