Drama

Das gastfreundliche Makedonien
Agia Varvara's Park, city of Drama
Scroll
Heute
10°
MON
TUE
WED
11°
THU
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Ein Filmfestival, ein urzeitlicher Wald und ein warmes Willkommen vertreiben die kältesten Temperaturen

Ganz anders als der Name verspricht ist Drama alles andere als schrill. Den Berg Falakro (glatzköpfiger Berg) im Blick können Sie die Wärme und Gastfreundschaft der Einheimischen schnell zu spüren. Bewundern Sie die pure Schönheit der Natur Makedoniens. Sie wird am deutlichsten im Agia Varvara-Park, wo sich sprudelnde Quellen in Kanäle und Teiche verwandeln, um die uralten Bäume zu bewässern. Die Wassermühlen und Tabakhäuser der Vergangenheit erinnern an die Unschuld der guten, alten Zeit. Authentisch und ehrlich verhilft Drama zu den einfachen Freuden Ihres Urlaubslebens.

Besichtigen Sie in Drama

Kato Nevrokopi… Brrr

Jeden Winter taucht Kato Nevrokopi im Wetterbericht Griechenlands auf – als kältester Ort im ganzen Land. Deswegen wird er auch liebevoll „Sibirien Griechenlands“ genannt. Der Wind weht eisig über die Landschaft Nord-Griechenlands und die holzbefeuerten Öfen laufen auf Hochtouren, aber die Menschen sind warmherzig und gastfreundlich. Nicht zufällig ist hier die Kälte liebende Kartoffel eine regionale Spezialität. Ein wunderbares Gericht sind auch die köstlichen soutzoukakia, scharfe Fleischbällchen am Spieß.

Karantere, ein lebendes Denkmal

Ein Panorama wie aus einem Märchen entsprungen: 70.000 Hektar überschäumende Natur an der bulgarischen Grenze. Die roten Tannen, die den Wald dominieren, können bis zu 60m hoch werden. Die Einheimischen Makedoniens nennen ihn Karantere, die Förster ein „authentisches und einzigartiges Naturdenkmal“, Reisende eine unglaubliche Erfahrung. Erleben Sie sie.

Die Angitis-Höhle und der unterirdische Fluss

Erforschen Sie die Angitis Höhle. Das Wasser, das ins Tal des Kato Nevrokopo fließt, verschwindet unter der Erde auf verschlungenen, dunklen Wegen, um dann aus einem geheimen Ausgang wieder offen ins Flachland zu plätschern. Hier ist die Öffnung der noch teilweise unerforschten Angitis-Höhle. Der geheimnisvolle, unterirdische Fluss bewässerte einst eine Landschaft, in der Mammuts und Nashörner grasten.

Das Filmfestival in Drama

Im September wird es dramatisch in Drama. Das Internationale Kurzfilm-Festival findet hier statt. Seit 1978 kommen Cineasten aus Griechenland und der ganzen Welt hierher. Während des Festivals wird die Stadt mit Ausstellungen zu Fotografie, Malerei und Bildhauerei, Buchvorstellungen und Kino-Workshops zum Kulturhafen.

 

Die verborgenen Schätze Dramas

Der Dionysoskult

Wer die dionysischen Riten wie ein Einheimischer feiern will, muss während der zwölf Tage des Dreikönigsfests kommen. Die Dörfer rund um Drama führen den Dionysoskult mit Verkleidung, Tanzen, Singen und riesigen Glocken auf..

Die unberührte Schönheit von Fraktou

Einer der letzten, wahrhaft ursprünglichen und unberührten Orte auf dieser Erde werden Sie in Drama finden. Es ist der urzeitliche Wald Fraktou. Seit 1980 als Naturdenkmal gelistet, gilt er als der bedeutendste der drei urzeitlichen Wälder Europas und ist der zweitgrößte der Umgebung.

Die Schlucht Pyrgos-Petroussa

In dieser Ecke Nord- Griechenlands erwartet Sie eine majestätische Wanderung im Schatten der steilen Felswände. Die Schlucht beginnt in Dorf Pyrgos und führt durch die fast vertikal aufsteigenden Wände des Bergs Falakro. Über 12 km voller hoher Felsen und dichter Flora bieten auch vielen Wildtieren einen Rückzugsort. Eine unglaubliche Erfahrung.

  • Karantere, ein lebendes Denkmal
  • Die Angitis-Höhle und der unterirdische Fluss
  • Das Filmfestival in Drama
  • Der Dionysoskult
  • Die unberührte Schönheit von Fraktou
  • Die Schlucht Pyrgos-Petroussa
Landmarks

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Parnassos Ski Resort: Skiing in Greece with sea view

Winter in Griechenland

Der lichtdurchflutete griechische Winter verspricht ein Winterurlaubserlebnis der besonderen Art
Tavern Pefkospilia

Regionale küchen aus Griechenland

Eine Reise zu der regionalen Küche Griechenlands

Drama

Hospitable, unpretentious and genuine Macedonia
Agia Varvara's Park, city of Drama
Scroll
Today
20°
SAT
20°
SUN
13°
MON
17°
TUE
19°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Acting true to life: A city whose film festival, primeval forest and hospitable residents offer you a warm welcome

Despite its name, there is nothing stagey about the reception that awaits you in Drama. After you gaze up at Mount Falakro (Bald Mountain), allow the  hospitable locals to introduce  you to its attractions. In Agia Varvara park, bubbling springs flow into canals and ponds, watering ancient trees and reminding you of nature’s pure beauty. The watermills and tobacco warehouses of the past will return you to the innocence of yesteryear. Unpretentious and genuine, Drama will help you rediscover the simple pleasures during your holidays in Macedonia.
 

What to do in Drama

Kato Nevrokopi…chilling at... -200C

Every winter night the weather report in Greece lists the coldest places in the country and Kato Nevrokopi is invariably at the top, earning it the nickname of the Siberia of Greece. The wind freezes everything, the wood-burning stoves are constantly on but the people are warm and friendly. After all, the area’s other claim to fame, the local potato, loves the cold. Try some with the area’s delectable soutzoukakia, skewered spicy meatballs.

Karantere, a living monument

The view before you has  fairy tale written all over it; 70,000 hectares of vivid red fir forest on the Bulgarian border in Macedonia, some of the trees reaching as high as 60m. The locals call it Karantere, foresters call it an “authentic and unique” natural monument and for you, it will be nothing short of incredible.

Angitis cave and the underground river

Water flowing down the Kato Nevrokopi valley disappears into the ground for a dark and mysterious journey, only to re-emerge at this secret exit to resume its course down to the plain. You are at the mouth of Angitis cave. Partially unexplored, the  rare underground river  before you once watered a landscape inhabited by mammoths and rhinos.

Drama’s movie festival in Northern Greece

Every September, drama comes to, well… Drama in the form of the International Short Film Festival. Established in 1978, the festival brings cinema lovers from all over Greece and abroad and the proposition becomes even more attractive with the addition of photography, painting and sculpture exhibitions, book presentations, concerts and cinema workshops.

 

Hidden gems of Drama

Dionysian rites

If you want to celebrate the rites like a local, come to the area during the 12 days of Epiphany. That’s when the local villages around Drama stage Dionysian rites involving all manner of costumes and masks, dancing, singing and giant bells.

Fraktou’s virgin beauty

How many places on the planet are still pristine? One of them is the primaeval forest of Fraktou in Drama. Listed as a natural monument since 1980, it is the most important of the three remaining primaeval forests in Europe  and the second largest in area.

The Pyrgos-Petroussa Gorge

In this corner of Northern Greece, you’ll take a majestic walk in the shade of two sheer rock faces. The gorge starts at the village of Pyrgos and unfurls  to where the slopes of Mt Falakro become practically vertical. It meanders some 12km between high rocks and dense flora and is a refuge for a wealth of wildlife species. An amazing experience.

  • Karantere, a living monument
  • Angitis cave and the underground river
  • Drama’s movie festival
  • Dionysian rites
  • Fraktou’s virgin beauty
  • The Pyrgos-Petroussa Gorge
Highlights

Plan your trip

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Tavern Pefkospilia

Local cuisine in Greece

Explore the hidden parts of traditional Greek cuisine
Parnassos Ski Resort: Skiing in Greece with sea view

Winter holidays in Greece

Greece's bright light welcomes you to experience the most exciting winter holidays of your life