Hiking in Kefalonia’s Mt Ainos National Park
EXPERIENCE

Randonnée dans le parc national du Mont Ainos à Céphalonie

Le plus haut sommet des îles Ioniennes offre les meilleures randonnées à Céphalonie, avec une forêt de sapins unique, une nature riche et des vues jusqu'au Péloponnèse
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
1.5 - 5 heures
Par saison
Mai - Octobre

APERÇU

Randonnée dans le parc national du Mont Ainos à Céphalonie

Si vous pouvez résister aux plages légendaires de Céphalonie, il existe une autre facette de l'île qui est tout aussi mémorable mais qui n'est connue que par quelques chanceux. S'élevant au centre de l'île, le Mt Ainos (ou Mt Aenos) est le plus haut sommet des iles Ioniennes et est recouvert d'une riche forêt verte. C'est également l'un des rares parcs nationaux des îles grecques, ce qui signifie que si vous aimez explorer la nature et admirer des vues époustouflantes, vous êtes au bon endroit.

Céphalonie compte des dizaines de sentiers de randonnée (sur la côte et à l'intérieur des terres), mais ceux du mont Ainos sont très particuliers car le parc national protégé par Natura 2000 est dominé par les sapins de Céphalonie. Une grande partie de la faune est spécialisée dans cet écosystème unique. Si vous êtes vraiment chanceux, vous pourrez même apercevoir certains des chevaux semi-sauvages de Céphalonie.

Que vous parveniez ou non à atteindre le sommet de 1 628 m de Megas Soros, vous pourrez profiter de vues magnifiques sur Céphalonie et les autres îles ioniennes, et même jusqu'à la côte du Péloponnèse.

Il existe cinq sentiers de randonnée balisés sur le mont Ainos, mais nous en soulignons deux ici (un itinéraire facile et une randonnée un peu plus poussée vers le sommet). Tout ce dont vous avez besoin, c'est de bonnes chaussures et du matériel de randonnée de base (et pour les randonnées les plus longues, idéalement un guide), le paysage de Céphalonie se charge du reste. 

  • Sentier 1 : Centre environnemental de Mt Ainos à Hionistra 

    Cette randonnée simple commence au centre environnemental du mont Ainos et emprunte un itinéraire circulaire à travers la forêt de sapins vers le poste d'observation d'Hionistra et retour. Vous profiterez de certaines des plus belles vues du Mont Ainos, notamment Argostoli et Sami ainsi que les îles d'Ithaque et de Lefkada.
  • Sentier 2 : Digaleto à Megas Soros

    Un sentier de randonnée de difficulté moyenne qui commence au village de Digaleto, dans les contreforts du Mt Ainos, et vous emmène jusqu'au sommet. Les vues sur la mer Ionienne (jusqu'au Péloponnèse) sont à couper le souffle.
Lire la suite Read Less

A NE PAS RATER

La forêt de sapins

Peu importe la randonnée que vous choisissez, vous traverserez la célèbre forêt de sapins de Céphalonie, qui couvre les deux tiers de la montagne. L'Abies cephalonica (également connu sous le nom de sapin grec) est originaire de Céphalonie et est l'un des sapins les plus rares d'Europe. Il peut atteindre 25 à 35 mètres et possède des feuilles plates en forme d'aiguille. Il était autrefois si abondant ici que les Vénitiens appelaient la montagne Monte Nero (montagne noire) en raison de la couleur de son bois. C'est la seule forêt de sapins sur une île grecque et c'est la raison principale de la création du parc national dès le début des années 1960.

La faune et la flore

Chaque saison sur le Mont Ainos est différente, offrant l'opportunité d'apprécier des plantes et des animaux différents à chaque visite. Il existe plus de 400 espèces de plantes, dont la Viola cephalonica, une petite fleur mauve qui pousse dans les fissures entre les rochers (notamment autour du point de vue Hionistra) et le petit Crocus hadriaticus blanc. Ne manquez pas d'observer le lézard de Moria (un lézard endémique des îles Ioniennes et du Péloponnèse qui aime l'ombre) et écoutez le chant des mésanges charbonnières (l'une des 100 espèces d'oiseaux recensées sur le mont Ainos, dont l'aigle serpentin, l'aigle royal, la perdrix et le pic noir). Différents types de champignons fleurissent en automne et des chevaux semi-sauvages (à la crinière et à la queue épaisses), utilisés à l'origine pour l'agriculture mais aujourd'hui relâchés, vivent en liberté.

Une vue unique

Même si vous ne visitez que le centre environnemental de Mt Ainos (où vous pourrez en apprendre davantage sur la faune et les sentiers de randonnée du parc national de Céphalonie), vous bénéficierez d'une vue magnifique sur Argostoli et Sami à Céphalonie et sur les îles d'Ithaque et de Lefkada. Mais le vrai plaisir est pour ceux qui atteignent le sommet de 1 628 m de Megas Soros, d'où la vue est tout autre.

Lire la suite Read Less

Comment se rendre à l'île de Céphalonie ?

  • Kefalonia possède un aéroport avec des vols intérieurs réguliers depuis Athènes tout au long de l'année et des vols internationaux saisonniers.
  • Le moyen le plus rapide de rejoindre Céphalonie en ferry est de partir du port de Kyllini en Grèce occidentale (287 km d'Athènes en voiture ou en bus et 1h30 de traversée en ferry jusqu'au port de Poros à Céphalonie) toute l'année. Il existe des liaisons saisonnières en ferry depuis Patras (211 km d'Athènes en voiture ou en bus et 3h30 de traversée en ferry jusqu'au port de Sami à Céphalonie). Il y a également des ferries d'Astakos (à Aitoloakarnania sur le continent) à Sami.

Comment se rendre au centre environnemental de Mt Ainos à Céphalonie ?

  • Vous pouvez louer une voiture ou prendre un taxi à Sami (20.2 km, 30 minutes) et à Argostoli (25.1 km, 35 minutes) à Céphalonie.

Comment se rendre au village de Digaleto ?

  • Vous pouvez louer une voiture ou prendre un taxi à Sami (13.8 km, 20 minutes) et à Argostoli (27.3 km, 39 minutes).

Quelle est la meilleure période pour faire de la randonnée à Céphalonie ?

  • Les meilleures conditions pour la randonnée et toutes les activités de nature à Céphalonie sont au printemps, en été et au début de l'automne (idéalement de mai à octobre). Il est préférable d'éviter les mois d'hiver.
  • La plupart des sentiers de randonnée du parc national de Mt Ainos sont ombragés, et pourtant il est préférable de partir le matin pour éviter la chaleur en été ou le soir pour admirer le coucher du soleil (sur le sentier 1). 
  • L'île est très fréquentée pendant les mois d'été (juillet-août). Si vous pouvez visiter l'île au début ou à la fin de l'été, vous profiterez encore plus de vos vacances à Céphalonie, tout en ayant la possibilité de vous baigner.
     
  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver

Sentier 1:

  • Distance: 6,184m
  • Point de départ: Centre environnemental Mt Ainos
  • Dénivelé: 1,600m
  • Durée: 1.5-2.5 heures
  • Difficulté: Facile

Sentier 2:

  • Distance: 6,595m
  • Point de départ:: Digaleto (par la carrière)
  • Dénivelé: 1,628m (Megas Soros)
  • Durée: 4.5-5 heures
  • Difficulté: Moyenne

Plus d’information sur les sentiers de randonnée à Mont Ainos

 

 

VOYAGER AVEC RESPONSABILITE

Veillons tous à préserver la magie des merveilles naturelles de la Grèce pour les générations à venir.

Gardez vos déchets avec vous jusqu’à ce que vous trouviez une poubelle.
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable et essayez de minimiser l’usage du plastique.
Suivez les chemins indiqués, pour votre sécurité et pour éviter d’endommager la flore.
Respectez l’environnement et ne cueillez pas de plantes ou de fleurs.
Respectez les autres randonneurs.
Vérifiez toujours la météo et ne tentez rien qui dépasse vos capacités ou votre condition physique.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·
Through a 36m tall opening, the shafts of daylight that come streaming in from above bounce off the water and light up the chamber with ethereal blues

L’expérience de canotage dans la grotte de Melissani

Set sail for Meganisi island and yet more beaches

Explorez le monde magique au-delà de Nydri à Leucade

A naturally deep harbour, Vathi oozes quaintness and charm

Une excursion en bateau de Céphalonie à Ithaque

Amazing blue waters of Myrtos beach in Kefalonia

La beauté sauvage de la plage Myrtos en Céphalonie

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Un tour au stade Panathénaïque d’Athènes

View of Skiathos from Bourtzi

Une promenade dans la ville de Skiathos

Samos aerial view

Du kayak de mer pour découvrir la magie de Samos

Taking to the slopes and exploring the natural beauty of Greece’s most modern ski resort

Des sports d’hiver sur le mont Parnasse

Hiking in Kefalonia’s Mt Ainos National Park
EXPERIENCE

Hiking in Kefalonia’s Mt Ainos National Park

The highest peak of the Ionian Islands offers some of the best hiking in Kefalonia, with a unique fir tree forest, rich nature and views as far as the Peloponnese
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1.5 - 5 hours
Season
May - October

OVERVIEW

Hiking in Kefalonia’s Mt Ainos National Park 

If you can bear to drag yourself away from Kefalonia’s legendary beaches, there’s another side to the island that’s in its own way just as memorable but known by only the lucky few. Rising from the centre of the island, Mt Ainos (or Mt Aenos) is the tallest peak of the Ionian Islands and is blanketed by rich green forest. It’s also one of the few Greek island national parks, meaning that if you love exploring nature and being rewarded with epic views, you’ve come to the right place. 

There are dozens of hiking paths in Kefalonia (coastal and inland) but those on Mt Ainos are extra special because the Natura 2000-protected national park is dominated by Kefalonian fir trees. Much of the wildlife is specialised to this unique ecosystem. If you’re really lucky you might even spot some of Kefalonia’s semi-wild horses.

Whether or not you reach the 1,628m peak of Megas Soros, you’ll enjoy wonderful views of Kefalonia and other Ionian Islands, even as far as the Peloponnese coastline.

There are five marked hiking trails on Mt Ainos but we highlight two here (an easy route and a slightly more demanding hike to the summit). All you’ll need are a good pair of shoes and basic hiking essentials (and for the longer hikes, ideally a guide) and the Kefalonian landscape will supply the rest. 

  • Footpath 1: Mt Ainos Environmental Centre to Hionistra 

    This straightforward hike starts at the Environmental Centre of Mt Ainos and follows a circular route through the fir tree forest to the Hionistra viewpoint and back again. You’ll enjoy some of the best views on Mt Ainos, including Argostoli and Sami as well as the islands of Ithaca and Lefkada.
  • Footpath 2: Digaleto to Megas Soros

    A medium difficulty hiking path starting at Digaleto village in the foothills of Mt Ainos and taking you all the way to the summit. The views of the Ionian Sea (all the way to the Peloponnese) are out of this world. 
Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The fir tree forest 

Whichever of the two hikes you choose, you will walk through Kefalonia’s famous fir tree forest, covering two-thirds of the mountain. Abies cephalonica (also known as Greek fir) is native to Kefalonia and is one of the rarest fir trees in Europe, growing to 25-35m and with needle-like, flat leaves. It was once found in such abundance here that the Venetians called the mountain Monte Nero (Black Mountain) after the colour of its wood. It is the only fir tree forest on a Greek island and is the primary reason for the creation of the national park as long ago as the early 1960s.

The fauna and flora

Every season on Mt Ainos is different, offering the opportunity to enjoy different plants and animals whenever you visit. There are more than 400 species of plants, including the Viola cephalonica, a small mauve flower that grows in the cracks between rocks (especially around Hionistra viewpoint) and the small white Crocus hadriaticus. Keep an eye out for the Moria lizard (a shade-loving lizard endemic to the Ionian Islands and Peloponnese) and listen for chirping coal tits (one of 100 species of birds recorded on Mt Ainos, including snake eagles, golden eagles, partridges and black woodpeckers). Various types of mushroom flourish in autumn and there is a population of semi-wild horses (with a characteristic thick mane and tail), originally used for farming but now released to roam free.
 

The unique view

Even if you only visit the Mt Ainos Environmental Centre (where you can learn more about the wildlife and hiking paths of Kefalonia’s national park), you’ll be treated to a wonderful view of Argostoli and Sami on Kefalonia and the islands of Ithaca and Lefkada. But the real treat comes for those who reach the 1,628m peak of Megas Soros, from where the views are something else.
 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Accommodation

Monambeles Villas

Kefalonia

Monambeles Villas in Kefalonia is located in Svoronata village and consists of complex of 5 luxurious, fully equipped , comforta...

Official online rates

How do you get to Kefalonia island?

  • Kefalonia has an airport with regular domestic flights from Athens throughout the year and seasonal international flights. 
  • The quickest way to reach Kefalonia by ferry is from the port of Kyllini in western Greece (287km by car or bus from Athens and 1.5hrs ferry crossing to the port of Poros in Kefalonia) all year round. There are seasonal ferry connections from Patras (211km from Athens by car or bus and 3.5hrs ferry crossing to Sami port in Kefalonia). There are also ferries from Astakos (in Aitoloakarnania on the mainland) to Sami.  
     

How do you get to Mt Ainos Environmental Centre on Kefalonia?

  • You can hire a car or catch a taxi from Sami (20.2km, 30 mins) and Argostoli (25.1km, 35 mins) on Kefalonia.

How do you get to Digaleto village?

  • You can hire a car or catch a taxi from Sami (13.8km, 20 mins) and Argostoli (27.3km, 39 mins)
     

When is the best time to go hiking in Kefalonia?

  • The best conditions for hiking and all nature activities in Kefalonia are in spring, summer and early autumn (ideally May to October). It is best to avoid winter months. 
  • Most of the hiking paths in the Mt Ainos National Park are shaded, but it is worth setting out in the morning to avoid the heat in summer months or the evening to catch the sunset (on Hiking route 1). 
  • The island does get busy in the peak summer months (July-August) so if you are able to visit in early or late summer you will enjoy your holidays in Kefalonia even more, whilst still being able to swim.
     
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

Route 1: Mt Ainos Environmental Centre – Hionistra (circular path)

  • Distance: 6,184m
  • Starting Point: Mt Ainos Environmental Centre
  • Highest point: 1,600m
  • Walking time: 1.5-2.5 hours
  • Difficulty: Low

Path 2: Digaleto – Megas Soros 

  • Distance: 6,595m
  • Starting Point: Digaleto (by the quarry) 
  • Highest point: 1,628m (Megas Soros)
  • Walking time: 4.5-5 hours
  • Difficulty: Medium

More Info for Mt Ainos hiking paths  

 

 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try and keep the magic of Greece’s natural wonders alive for future generations.

Don’t forget to keep any rubbish with you until you reach a bin.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Please keep to designated paths for your own safety and to avoid disrupting the wildlife.
Respect the local environment by not picking any plants or flowers.
Respect your fellow hikers.
Always check the weather and don’t attempt anything that is beyond your abilities or physical condition.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Through a 36m tall opening, the shafts of daylight that come streaming in from above bounce off the water and light up the chamber with ethereal blues

Boating in Kefalonia’s Melissani Cave

Amazing blue waters of Myrtos beach in Kefalonia

The wild beauty of Kefalonia’s Myrtos beach

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens