You pass a couple of waterfalls and some plunge pools big enough to take a dip, especially refreshing in summer
EXPERIENCE

Une randonnée aux gorges de la grotte noire en Eurytanie

Faites le plein de nature du village pittoresque de Proussos vers la grotte noire, cachée dans l'une des plus belles gorges de Grèce centrale.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
Toute la journée
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

Il est impossible de ne pas vouloir faire de la randonnée quand on est à Eurytanie. L'appel de la nature dans cette région montagneuse de Grèce centrale est aussi irrésistible que l’écoulement de ses ruisseaux et rivières. Et la randonnée jusqu'à la Grotte noire vous fait traverser l'une des plus belles gorges de la région qui en dit long sur la beauté naturelle d’Eurytanie!

En sortant du village de Proussos (ou du monastère voisin), vous suivrez un sentier bien balisé qui mène vers la gorge, en traversant de petits ponts en bois et des ruisseaux gargouillant. La faune et la flore y sont très présentes parmi les sapins, les saules et les platanes. Vous passez devant quelques cascades et quelques bassins de plongée assez grands pour se baigner, qui sont particulièrement très rafraîchissants en été.

C'est une randonnée en montée mais sans difficulté jusqu'à la grotte noire (MavriSpilia), qui constitue un lieu de pique-nique parfait que cela soit en famille ou entre amis. Et pour ceux qui ont les capacités nécessaires (et idéalement un guide), il y a la possibilité de continuer jusqu’à la Via Ferrata - la section de la gorge accessible uniquement avec des cordes et des harnais (et surtoutdes nerfs d'acier). 

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Le monastère de Proussos

C'est une marche un peu plus longue mais cela vaut la peine de commencer votre randonnée depuis le monastère de Panagia Prousiotissa (monastère de Proussos). Les données historiques affirment qu'il a été construit au 12ème siècle, mais on dit que le monastère original a été construit pour abriter une icône de la Vierge Marie cachée ici en 829. Des siècles plus tard, il s’est trouvé un autre objectif lorsqu'il a abrité des rebelles luttant contre les Ottomans et les Nazis pendant leurs occupations respectives. Le monastère a été reconstruit plusieurs fois (il a été brûlé par les nazis) mais sa position, entre deux montagnes, aura toujours été magique, avec une vue imprenable sur la gorge pleine d'arbres. À l'intérieur, vous pouvez voir les armures et les armes du héros révolutionnaire Georgios Karaiskakis.

Le village de Proussos

Le point de départ alternatif est le village de Proussos, dont la place principale abritée par des platanes représente un endroit parfait pour se reposer avant ou après votre promenade. L'eau coule librement des sources de la place (il y a une autre source où vous pouvez remplir votre bouteille d'eau à l'entrée de la gorge) et vous trouverez des tavernes servant des plats copieux de montagne. Vous pouvez même y passer la nuit si vous voulez profiter au maximum de l'authenticité Eurytanienne.

La grotte noire

Après avoir traversé des ponts et des ruisseaux, vous atteigniez la Grotte noire. Que vous ne pourrez voir de loin. Cachée de la vue jusqu'à ce que vous la trouviez, ce qui explique parfaitement pourquoi elle a pu servir de refuge pendant les occupations de la Grèce. Une grande partie du mur de pierre qui scellait autrefois l'entrée de la grotte est restée intacte. Mais son histoire remonte à loin, les anciens habitants d’Eurytanie y auraient créé un oracle en l'honneur d'Ulysse (vénérant sa capacité à combattre les obstacles de la vie) et une autre légende dit qu'elle a servi de refuge à Œdipe.

Via Ferrata

A partir de là, les choses deviennent plus difficiles. Une Via Ferrata (ou Route de Fer) est une voie d'escalade qui implique l’utilisation des câbles d'acier, des barreaux et des échelles fixés au rocher pour que les escaladeurs puissent harnacher des cordes et se repousser sur un terrain autrement impraticable. Si cela vous semble amusant, alors c'est fait pour vous. Vous serez récompensé par des chutes d'eau encore plus mémorables et vous serez complètement seul dans la nature.

Lire la suite Read Less
Done
Done
Accommodation

Levanta Hotel Megalo Chorio

Karpenissi

Surrounded by the lush forests of Evritania, Levanta is a traditionally built, with stone and wood, guesthouse, housing 10 elegant rooms with modern faciliti...

Official online rates

A Proussos

Depuis Athènes 

  • Par voiture: 310 km (4h)

Depuis Thessalonique 

  • Par voiture: 349 km (4h40min)

A Karpenisi

Depuis Athènes 

Depuis Thessalonique 

  • Par voiture : 321 km (4h) 
  • Point de départ: le monastère de Proussos ou le pont de Proussos-Tornos (au village). 
  • Distance: 2.5 km depuis le monastère et 1km depuis le village jusqu’au black cave et une autre distance de 4km pour parcourir via Ferrata. 
  • Difficulté: 12+ (jusqu’au black cave)
  • Elévation maximum: 1.100 m 
  • Elévation minimum: 700 m 
  • Durée: 1h15min depuis le monastère de Proussos et 1h depuis Proussos au Black cave et 4-5 heures pour parcourir tout le chemin, y compris Via Ferrata. 
  • Equipements nécessaires: vous aurez besoin des équipements de randonnée de base pour y arriver au black cave, toutefois un bâton de randonnée serait d’une aide. Des équipements d’escalade sont nécessaire pour Via Ferrata.
  • Il se peut que vous ayez des chaussures mouillées en hiver et au printemps en passant au-dessus de certains des cours d'eau.
  • Vous pouvez parcourir la Via Ferrata par vous-même, mais il est fortement recommandé de faire appel à un guide, qui peut vous fournir tout le matériel et le savoir-faire technique.
  • Un producteur de prosciutto se trouve près du début de l'itinéraire. Il a remporté de nombreux prix pour ses charcuteries (notamment le salami et les saucisses séchées à l'air), qui utilisent des ingrédients bio d'origine locale.

Que prendre:

  • Karpenisi est la grande ville la plus proche, avec de nombreuses possibilités d'hébergement et de divertissement.
  • Il existe également des hôtels, des chambres d'hôtes et une sélection de tavernes à Megalo ou à Mikro Horio.
  • Si vous souhaitez encore plus de calme et de tranquillité, vous pouvez vous loger à Proussos et dans d'autres villages de la région, comme Koryschades.
  • Vous pouvez faire des randonnées à la Grotte noire toute l'année, mais la plupart des excursions sont organisées de mai à octobre, lorsque les conditions météorologiques sont plus favorables.
  • Si vous venez au printemps, vous trouverez de nombreux ruisseaux avec de l'eau courante et des fleurs sauvages. L'automne est particulièrement agréable en raison des couleurs changeantes et des feuilles qui tombent.
  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Les randonnées dans à la forge de la grotte noire tirent leur charme de la nature et de l’environnement vierges. Veillez à les préserver.

Utilisez les poubelles mises à votre disposition et si besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Suivez les chemins indiqués, pour votre sécurité et pour éviter d’endommager la flore.
Ne nourrissez pas les animaux.
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable et essayez de minimiser l’usage du plastique.
Respectez l’environnement et ne cueillez pas de plantes ou de fleurs.
Vérifiez toujours la météo et ne tentez rien qui dépasse vos capacités ou votre condition physique.
Il est strictement interdit d’allumer le feu dans la nature.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Exploring the beauty of Lake Kremaston by kayak

Découvrez la beauté du lac Kremasta en kayak

The villages of Evritania overflow with everything magical about Central Greece

Le tour des villages dans les montagnes d’Eurytanie

Samos aerial view

Du kayak de mer pour découvrir la magie de Samos

Taking to the slopes and exploring the natural beauty of Greece’s most modern ski resort

Des sports d’hiver sur le mont Parnasse

Exploring the beauty of Lake Kremaston by kayak

Découvrez la beauté du lac Kremasta en kayak

You pass a couple of waterfalls and some plunge pools big enough to take a dip, especially refreshing in summer
EXPERIENCE

Hiking the Black Cave gorge in Evritania

Fill up on nature at its best by hiking from the picturesque village of Proussos to the historic Black Cave, hidden within one of the most beautiful gorges of Central Greece.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Full day
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

It’s impossible not to want to hike when you’re in Evritania. The call of nature in this mountainous region of Central Greece is as irresistible as the flow of its streams and rivers. And hiking to the Black Cave takes you through one of the region’s most beautiful gorges which, given Evritania’s lofty status in the natural beauty stakes, is saying something!

Heading out from of the village of Proussos (or the neighbouring monastery) you follow a well-marked trail up the gorge, crossing little wooden bridges and gurgling brooks. Animal and plant life thrive here amongst firs, willows and plane trees. You pass a couple of waterfalls and some plunge pools big enough to take a dip, especially refreshing in summer.

It’s an uphill but straightforward hike to the Black Cave (Mavri Spilia), which makes a perfect picnic spot with family or friends. And for those with the technical skill (and ideally a guide), there’s the option of continuing up the Via Ferrata – the section of the gorge accessible only with ropes and harnesses (and nerves of steel).  

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Proussos Monastery 

It’s a slightly longer walk but it’s worth starting your hike from the Monastery of Panagia Prousiotissa (Proussos Monastery). Records show it was built in the 12th century, but it is said that the original monastery was built to house an icon of the Virgin Mary hidden here in 829. Centuries later, it found a different purpose when it sheltered rebels fighting against the Ottomans and Nazis during their respective occupations. The monastery has been rebuilt several times (it was burnt down by the Nazis) but its position, between two mountains, will always have been magical, with sweeping views of the tree-filled gorge. Inside, you can see the armour and weapons of revolutionary hero Georgios Karaiskakis.

Proussos village

The alternative starting point is the village of Proussos, whose plane tree-sheltered main square is a perfect place to rest before or after your walk. Water flows freely from the sources in the square (there’s another where you can fill your water bottle by the entrance to the gorge) and you will find tavernas serving hearty mountain food. You can even stay the night here if you want to max out on Evritanian authenticity. 

The Black Cave

After making your way over bridges and brooks, you reach the Black Cave. Not that you can see it coming. Hidden from view until you are upon it, you immediately understand why it served as a refuge during Greece’s occupations. Much of the stone wall that once sealed the cave entrance remains intact. But its full history goes way back, with the ancient Evritanians said to have created an oracle here in honour of Odysseus (worshipping his capacity for combatting life’s obstacles) and another legend saying that it was used as a refuge by the tragic Oedipus.

Via Ferrata

From here, things get technical. A Via Ferrata (or Iron Road) is a climbing route that uses steel cables, rungs and ladders fixed to the rock for climbers to harness ropes onto and repel over otherwise impassable terrain. If that sounds like fun, then it’s for you. You’ll be rewarded with even more memorable waterfalls and be completely alone in nature. 

Read More Read Less

Το Proussos

From Athens

  • By car: 310km (4hr)

From Thessaloniki

  • By car: 349km (4hr40min)

To Karpenisi

From Athens

From Thessaloniki

  • By car: 321km (4hr)
  • Starting Point: Proussos Monastery or the Proussos-Tornos bridge (by the village)
  • Distance: 2.5km from the monastery and 1km from the village to the Black Cave and another 4km to complete the Via Ferrata.
  • Difficulty: 12+ (to the Black Cave)
  • Max elevation: 1,100m
  • Min elevation: 700m
  • Duration: 1hr15min from Proussos Monastery and 1hr from Proussos to the Black Cave and 4-5hrs to complete the entire route, including the Via Ferrata.
  • Equipment: You need only basic hiking equipment to reach the Black Cave, although a hiking stick would be helpful. Climbing equipment is essential for the Via Ferrata.
  • You may get wet shoes in winter and spring passing over some of the streams.
  • You can complete the Via Ferrata on your own, but it’s strongly recommended to use a guide, who can supply all the gear and technical knowhow.
  • There’s the bonus of a prosciutto producer near the start of the route. It has won multiple awards for its cold cuts (including air-dried salami and sausages), using organic, locally-sourced-ingredients. 

What to pack:

  • Karpenisi is the nearest large settlement with plenty of accommodation and entertainment options.
  • Alternatively, there are hotels, guestrooms and a selection of tavernas in Megalo or Mikro Horio.
  • If you want even greater peace and quiet, there are accommodation options in Proussos and other villages in the area, such as Koryschades.
  • You can hike to the Black Cave all year round, but most organised excursions operate from May-October, when the weather conditions are more favourable.
  • If you come in spring, you’ll find plenty of streams with running water and wildflowers. Autumn is particularly atmospheric because of the changing colours and falling leaves.
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

Plan your trip

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

The charm of hiking to the Black Cave gorge is that it is a wild and unspoilt environment, so please help keep it that way.

Don’t forget to keep any rubbish with you until you reach a bin.
Please keep to designated paths for your safety and to avoid disrupting the wildlife.
Tempted as you might be, please don’t feed any animals.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the local environment by not picking any plants or flowers.
Always check the weather and don’t attempt anything that is beyond your abilities or physical condition.
Lighting fires in the wild is prohibited.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Exploring the beauty of Lake Kremaston by kayak

Exploring the beauty of Lake Kremaston by kayak

The villages of Evritania overflow with everything magical about Central Greece

Village-hopping in the mountains of Evritania

Exploring the beauty of Lake Kremaston by kayak

Exploring the beauty of Lake Kremaston by kayak

Just the setting catapults this experience into once-in-a-lifetime territory, surrounded by the thick forest and gushing waters

Canyoning the Orlias Gorge on Mt Olympus

You pass along a deep gorge full of nature, admiring extraordinary-coloured water and plane trees

Rafting in the shadow of the extraordinary Meteora