Through a 36m tall opening, the shafts of daylight that come streaming in from above bounce off the water and light up the chamber with ethereal blues
EXPERIENCE

Mit dem Boot in der Melissani Höhle

Nichts könnte Sie auf die ätherischen Blautöne und die mystische Aura der Melissani Höhle auf Kefalonia vorbereiten
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Dauer
1 stunde
Nach Jahreszeit
Mai - Oktober

OVERVIEW

Schon vom tunnelartigen Eingang in die Melissani Höhle und von den absteigenden Treppen bekommen Sie einen ersten Eindruck von dem, was gleich folgt. Und trotzdem ist diese Impression von einer der berühmtesten geologischen Formationen Griechenlands immer noch in der Lage, Sie ins Staunen zu versetzen. Durch eine 36 Meter hohe Öffnung strömen die Sonnenstrahlen von oben hinein, spiegeln sich auf dem Wasser und erhellen den Raum mit eindrucksvollen, ätherischen Blautönen. Falls ein Ruderboot mit Besuchern bereits durch die Höhle  treibt, sieht es so aus, als ob es  gleich von einer übernatürlichen Kraft hinaufgebeamt werden würde. 

Ein Besuch in der Melissani Höhle ist mit Recht zu einem Muss für die Besucher von Kefalonia geworden. Seine zwei Kammern, mit einer Länge von 160m, bieten ganz unterschiedliche Erlebnisse an. In der ersten geht es ganz um die mystischen Blautönen, die durch die Höhlenöffnung erzeugt werden, die aufgrund des vor Jahrhunderten zusammengesunkenen Dachs entstand.

Die zweite, geschlossene Kammer ist durch einen so engen Durchgang erreichbar, dass Ihr Bootsführer vielleicht sogar aufhört zu rudern. Hier gibt es 20.000 Jahre alte Stalagmiten und eine in der Mitte liegende Insel, wo mehrere Artefakte bei Ausgrabungen ans Licht gebracht wurden (Öllampen, Geschirr und Pan- sowie Nymphenfiguren), die zur Legende der Höhle ebenfalls beigetragen haben. Hier soll Melissani (oder Melissanthi), eine dieser Nymphen, ertrunken sein, nachdem sie von Pan abgelehnt wurde. Daher auch der andere Name der Höhle: die Höhle der Nymphen

In der Höhle gibt es Brackwasser, da das Wasser sich auch mit anderen Quellen vermischt, unter anderem mit den Katavothres in der Nähe von Argostoli, quer auf der anderen Seite der Insel – so weit weg, dass es gefiltert wird und ganz frisch wieder auftaucht. Die Melissani Höhle hat ihre Geheimnisse noch nicht vollständig preisgegeben. 

Weiterlesen Read Less

Von Sami

  • Mit dem Auto oder dem Taxi: 2km
  • Mit dem Bus

Mehr Informationen

Von Argostoli

  • Mit dem Auto oder dem Taxi: 30km (40Min.). Gleich hinter der kleinen Siedlung von Karavomilos 
  • Die Höhle ist von Mai bis Oktober besuchbar.
  • Verschiedene Monate und Tageszeiten ergeben sehr verschiedene Erfahrungen, aber die Farben sind um die Mittagszeit am magischsten, wenn die Sonne am höchsten steht. 
  • Öffnungszeiten 9:00-17:00 Uhr (Weiteres unter 26740 22997)  

Sie ist populär, besuchen Sie sie also am besten im Mai-Juni & September-Oktober.

  • Herbst
  • Frühling
  • Sοmmer
  • Winter
  • Es dauert ungefähr 10 Min. bis zum Höhleneingang, der etwa 20m unter der Erde liegt.
  • Bootsfahrten dauern ungefähr 15 Min. 
  • Eintrittsgebühr: €7 Euro (ermäßigt für Kinder). 
  • Es gibt eine Kantine mit Getränken & Snacks.
  • Tavernen und andere Einrichtungen gibt es in der naheliegenden Sami oder in Karavomilos.  

 

VERANTWORTUNGSVOLL REISEN

Versuchen wir, den Zauber der griechischen Naturwunder für die künftigen Generationen zu bewahren.

Verwenden Sie die dafür vorgesehenen Abfalleimer, oder nehmen Sie gegebenefalls Ihren Müll mit, bis Sie einen Abfalleimer finden.
Benutzen Sie eine wiederauffüllbare Wasserflasche, um Ihren Kunststoffverbrauch zu minimieren.
Respektieren Sie die anderen Besucher und die Einheimischen.
Entfernen Sie nichts, weder von der Höhle noch von der umliegenden Landschaft.
Respektieren Sie das Meeresleben und die Flora und Fauna.
Beachten Sie alle Sicherheitshinweise.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·
Amazing view of a beach on Koufonisi island with turquoise waters

Eine Bootsfahrt zur einsamen Insel Koufonisi auf Kreta

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Eine Bootsfahrt nach Thirasia, ein Santorini, wie vor 50 Jahren

The beach to the north of Marathonisi island has a luxuriously generous covering of sand

Eine Bootsfahrt zu den Meeresschildkröten am Marathonisi Strand

The most popular uphill trail of Pelion mountain is the trail of Centaurs

Entdecken Sie die Wanderwege von Pilion

There are numerous hiking trails (with names such as The Three Capitals, From the Sea to the Sky and Hidden Valley

Entdecken Sie die Wanderwege von Tinos

Containing 450 species of plant and animal life, the Samaria Gorge is a UNESCO-protected Biosphere Reserve

Wandern in der spektakulären Samaria-Schlucht in Chania

Amazing blue waters of Myrtos beach in Kefalonia

Die wilde Schönheit des Myrtos Strands auf Kefalonia

A naturally deep harbour, Vathi oozes quaintness and charm

Eine Bootsfahrt von Kefalonia nach Ithaka

Meganisi-An island of just three villages and a population of around 1000

Erkundung der magischen Welt jenseits von Nydri auf Lefkada

Through a 36m tall opening, the shafts of daylight that come streaming in from above bounce off the water and light up the chamber with ethereal blues
EXPERIENCE

Boating in the Melissani Cave

Nothing prepares you for the ethereal blues and mystical aura of the Melissani Cave in Kefalonia
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1 hr
Season
May - October

OVERVIEW

You know what’s coming, even as you walk through the tunnelled entrance to the Melissani Cave and down a flight of steps. And yet the first impression of one of Greece’s most famous geological formations still has the power to make you gasp. Through a 36m tall opening, the shafts of daylight that come streaming in from above bounce off the water and light up the chamber with haunting, ethereal blues. If there’s a rowing boat with visitors already drifting through the chamber, it looks for all the world as if they’re about to be beamed up by a supernatural force. 

Visiting the Melissani Cave has rightly become a must-see for visitors to Kefalonia. Its two chambers, covering a distance of 160m, offer very different experiences. The first is all about the mystical blues created by the opening in the cave, formed when the roof collapsed centuries ago. 

And the second, closed, chamber is reached by passing through a passageway so narrow that your boatman may need to stop rowing. There are 20,000-year-old stalagmites here and an island in the middle where excavations revealed a number of artefacts (oil lamps, plates and figures depicting the god Pan and several nymphs) that have added to the legend of the cave. This is apparently where one of those nymphs, Melissani (or Melissanthi), drowned after being rejected by Pan. Hence the cave’s other name, the Cave of the Nymphs

Τhe water in the cave is brackish as it mixes with other sources, one of which is Katavothres, near Argostoli, all the way on the other side of the island – so far away that it is filtered and emerges fresh. The Melissani Cave hasn’t yet revealed all its secrets.

Read More Read Less

From Sami

  • By car or taxi: 2km
  • By bus

More information

From Argostoli 

  • By car or taxi: 30km (40mins). Just beyond the little settlement of Karavomilos.
  • The cave is open from May to October.
  • Different months and times of day give very different experiences, but the colours are at their most magical around midday when the sun is at its highest. 
  • Opening hours 9:00-17:00 (for more +30 26740 22997) 

It is popular so the best times to visit is May-June & September-October. 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • It takes about 10mins to reach the cave entrance, which is about 20m below ground.
  • Boat trips last around 15mins 
  • Entry fee: €7 euros (reduced for children).
  • There is a canteen with drinks & snack.
  • There are tavernas and other facilities in nearby Sami or Karavomilos.

Plan your trip

 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try and keep the magic of Greece’s natural wonders alive for future generations.

Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect your fellow visitors and locals.
Don’t remove anything from the cave or the surrounding countryside.
Respect the marine life and the plants and animals on shore.
Make sure you follow any safety instructions.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Amazing view of a beach on Koufonisi island with turquoise waters

A boat trip to Crete’s desert island of Koufonisi

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

A boat trip to Thirasia, the Santorini of 50 years ago

Visit beautiful secluded bays and beaches along the way, Marine Park of Alonissos

Exploring nature’s gifts in the Marine Park of Alonissos

You pass along a deep gorge full of nature, admiring extraordinary-coloured water and plane trees

Rafting in the shadow of the extraordinary Meteora

With clifftop views to the sea, the hiking paths of Folegandros are the ideal way to discover a deeply authentic island in the Cyclades-Folegandros

Discover the hiking paths of Folegandros

Amazing blue waters of Myrtos beach in Kefalonia

The wild beauty of Kefalonia’s Myrtos beach