Beautiful summers day on the Greek island of Symi
EXPERIENCE

Une excursion en bateau de Rhodes au charme du vieux monde de Symi

Laissez-vous transporter au temps des manoirs colorées et de la vie simple sur la petite Symi, une île avec un passé grandiose et à l'appétit de vie tout aussi grand.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
Toute la journée
Par saison
Mai - Octobre

OVERVIEW

En arrivant à Gialos, le port principal de Symi, il s'imprime dans votre mémoire comme une photographie. Mais vous ne saurez pas à quelle époque la photo a été prise. 

Il y a une grandeur du vieux monde dans les manoirs multicolores à l'intérieur et au-dessus du port. À tel point que vous êtes instantanément transporté au temps où cette petite île du Dodécanèse était remplie des fortunes gagnées par la navigation. Sauf qu'à cette époque, vers la fin du 19ème et le début du 20ème siècle, quelque 25 000 personnes vivaient ici et les célèbres chantiers navals de l'île produisaient environ 500 nouveaux navires par an. 

De nos jours, les bateaux de pêche et de voile sur le front de mer dansent sur un air différent et plus détendu. Mais cela n’a pas empêché Symi de conserver son authenticité et ses traditions. Donc, faire une excursion en bateau ici de Rhodes, cosmopolite et animée, juste à côté, c'est entrer instantanément dans un autre type de charme insulaire. 

Jetez un coup d'œil autour de vous… aux tavernes généreusement aménagées et aux maisons qui s'élèvent théâtralement sur la colline vers la ville haute. Vous serez saisi par l'envie d'explorer. 

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Une promenade autour de Gialos

Avant de vous diriger ailleurs, assurez-vous de donner au port le temps qu'il mérite. Le tour de l'horloge et le beffroi très photographié de l'église de Panagia Evangelistria se distinguent. Mais c'est surtout là que vous pouvez mieux apprécier les couleurs et la grandeur des manoirs qui s'élèvent sur la colline. 

Monter Kali Strata 

C’est tout à fait une montée, mais s’attaquer aux 500 marches de pierre de Kali Strata, reliant le port à Ano Symi, est le meilleur moyen d’explorer la ville. Essentiellement un long escalier en colimaçon, il vous emmène à travers les villes inférieures et supérieures, vous permettant de profiter de l'architecture néoclassique, des cours de galets et des toits de tuiles sous tous les angles. Vous vous arrêterez dans les magasins avec des produits artisanaux locaux, ou peut-être une boulangerie ou un café en cours de route. 

La vue depuis le château byzantin

Si vous le pouvez, continuez à monter jusqu'au château byzantin au-dessus de la ville. Il a été construit au 14ème siècle par les Chevaliers de Saint-Jean comme une extension d'une fortification existante et il y a même des vestiges d'une ancienne citadelle ici. Mais le point fort est la vue de toutes les maisons aux tuiles de la ville et du port de Gialos.

La cuisine locale

Que vous mangiez dans le port ou dans la ville haute, vous adorerez la nourriture. Il y a des cafétérias et des ouzeries traditionnelles pour un café et une collation, mais vous devriez certainement essayer une taverne de poisson au bord de la mer. Symi est légendaire pour ses fruits de mer, en particulier les crevettes. Gardez un œil sur l'atherinopita (une tarte aux fruits de mer), les pâtes faites à la main et les boules au miel locales appelées akoumia.

Le monastère de l'archange Michel Panormitis 

Certaines excursions en bateau comprennent un arrêt au monastère du 18ème siècle dans la baie de Panormo, qui était traditionnellement un lieu de pèlerinage pour les marins. Il possède deux musées (un folklore et un religieux) et est célèbre pour ses fresques et ses sculptures sur bois. 

Plage de Saint George

La plupart des excursions en bateau s'arrêtent ici pour nager et il n'est pas difficile de voir pourquoi. Accessible uniquement par bateau, c'est la plage la plus grande et la plus impressionnante de l'île, avec une paroi rocheuse verticale massive atteignant une hauteur de 300 mètres. 

Lire la suite Read Less

Du port principal de Rhodes:

  • Ferry : Départ à 8h00-9h00 et retour à 16h00-17h00. 
  • Excursions en bateau : Départ à 9h00-10h00 et retour à 16h00-17h00.

De Gialos Si vous arrivez en ferry :

  • À la plage de Saint George : En kaiki (bateau traditionnel) ou en taxi depuis le port. 
  • Le Monastère de Panormitis : En bus ou en taxi (20 km) 

Plus d'informations 

  • Les ferries au départ de Rhodes fonctionnent toute l'année, mais des excursions en bateau organisées sont disponibles de mai à Octobre.
  • Toutes les excursions en bateau dépendent des conditions météorologiques.

Mai-Juin et Septembre-Octobre sont les mois les meilleurs et les plus calmes pour visiter.

  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • Les billets pour les excursions en bateau organisées commencent à 25 € et pour les ferries à partir de 15 € (par trajet).
  • La traversée du port de Rhodes est de 1-1½ heure, selon le voyage en bateau que vous choisissez.  
  • Une excursion d'une journée durera de 8 à 10 heures.
  • Symi a tout ce dont vous avez besoin (magasins, tavernes, etc.) mais la plage de Saint George ne dispose pas d'installations.
  • Assurez-vous que vous avez tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour une journée au soleil: 

 

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Merci d’aider à préserver la magie des îles grecques, des sites culturels et de l’environnement pour les générations à venir.

Utilisez les poubelles mises à votre disposition et si besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Respectez les monuments culturels et les reliques. N’utilisez pas de flash si vous voyez une pancarte qui l’interdit
Soutenez les petites boutiques familiales et les producteurs locaux en choisissant un souvenir local fait main.
Respectez la vie marine, les plantes et animaux sur la côte.
N’y laissez que vos empreintes de pas et n’emportez rien (coquillages, cailloux, fossiles, sable, etc.)
Il est strictement interdit d’allumer du feu sur les plages.
Ayez l’esprit curieux et n’hésitez pas à demander des bons plans aux habitants.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Amazing view of a beach on Koufonisi island with turquoise waters

Une excursion en bateau vers l'île désert de Koufonisi en Crète

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Une excursion en bateau à Thirasia, la version de Santorin telle qu'elle était il y a 50 ans

Heading northeast, you reach Ermoupouli’s magnificent main church, known locally as Agios Nikolaos of the Rich

Découvrez à pieds la capitale colorée de Syros

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

Découvrez à pieds Kalamata, une ville en pleine émergence

There’s a 13km cycle lane stretching right along the waterfront

Découvrez la ville de Kos à vélo en suivant un parcours sur mesure

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

Découvrez à pieds la ville principale de Skyros

View of the medieval castle in Rhodes

Découvrez la vieille ville médiévale de Rhodes

The Acropolis and the beach of Lindos

Découvrez les merveilles de Lindos sur Rhodes

High on the hill above Hora, The Monastery of St John the Theologian

Découvrir l'aura mystique de Chóra de Patmos

A walk around Nimporio will leave your heart brimming with peaceful thoughts and ineffable joy

Une excursion en bateau vers Chalki intemporel

Beautiful summers day on the Greek island of Symi
EXPERIENCE

A boat trip from Rhodes to the old world charm of Symi

Be transported to the days of colourful mansion houses and simple living on little Symi, an island with a grand past and an equally big appetite for life
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Full day
Season
May - October

OVERVIEW

Arriving at Gialos, Symi’s main port imprints itself into your memory like a photograph. But you’ll have no idea which era the photo was taken in.

There’s an old world grandness to the multicoloured mansion houses within and above the port. So much so that you’re instantly transported to the days when this small Dodecanese island was awash with the fortunes earned from shipping. Except that back then, towards the end of the 19th and beginning of the 20th century, some 25,000 people lived here and the island’s famous boatyards produced around 500 new ships a year.

These days, the fishing and sailing boats in the waterfront bob to a different, more relaxed tune. That, though, hasn’t stopped Symi retaining its authenticity and traditions. So taking a boat trip here from bustling, cosmopolitan, Rhodes, right next door, is to instantly step into another kind of island charm.

Take a look around you … at the generously-laid out tavernas and those houses rising theatrically up the hillside towards the upper town. You’ll be gripped by the urge explore.

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

A stroll around Gialos

Before you head anywhere else, make sure to give the port the time it deserves. The clocktower and much-photographed belfry of the church of Panagia Evangelistria stand out. But mostly this is where you can best appreciate the colours and grandeur of the mansion houses rising up the hill.

Climbing Kali Strata

It’s quite a climb but tackling the 500 stone steps of Kali Strata, connecting the harbour to Ano Symi, is the best way to explore the town. Essentially one long winding staircase, takes you through the lower and upper town, allowing you to enjoy the neoclassical architecture, pebbled courtyards and tiled roofs from every angle. You’ll be stopping at the shops with local handmade products, or maybe a bakery or café along the way.

The view from the Byzantine Castle

If you can, keep climbing all the way to the Byzantine Castle above the town. It was built in the 14th century by the Knights of St John as an expansion to an existing fortification and there are even remains of an ancient citadel up here. But the highlight is the view of all the town’s roof-tiled houses and the port of Gialos.

The local cuisine

Whether you eat in the port or the upper town, you’ll love the food. There are traditional cafeterias and ouzeries for a coffee and a snack, but you should definitely try a fish taverna by the sea. Symi is legendary for its seafood, particularly the prawns. Keep an eye out for atherinopita (a seafood pie), the handmade pasta and local honey balls called akoumia.

The monastery of the Archangel Michael Panormitis

Some boat trips include a stop at the 18th century monastery in Panormo Bay, which was traditionally a pilgrimage site for seamen. It has two museums (one folklore and one religious) and is famous for its frescoes and wood carvings.

St George’s Beach

Most boat trips stop for a swim here and it’s not hard to see why. Accessible only by boat, it’s the largest and most impressive beach on the island, with a massive vertical rockface reaching a height of 300m. 

Read More Read Less

From the main port of Rhodes:

  • Ferry Boat: Leaving at 8:00-9:00 and returning at 16:00-17:00. 
  • Boat trips: Leaving at 9:00-10:00 and returning at 16:00-17:00.

    From Gialos (If you arrive by ferry):

    • To St George’s Beach: By kaiki (traditional boat) or taxi boat from the port. 
    • Monastery of Panormitis: By bus or taxi (20km)

    More info

    • Ferries from Rhodes operate all year round, but organised boat trips are available from May-October.
    • All boat trips are dependent on weather conditions.

    May-June and September-October are the best and quietest months to visit.

    • Autumn
    • Spring
    • Summer
    • Winter
    • Tickets for organised boat trips start from €25 and for ferries from €15 (each way).
    • The crossing from Rhodes port is 1-1½hrs, depending on which boat trip you choose.  
    • A full day excursion will last 8-10hrs.
    • Symi has everything you need (shops, tavernas etc) but the beach at St George’s Bay has no facilities.
    • Make sure you have everything you need for a day in the sun: 

    Plan your trip

    TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

    Please help preserve the magic of Greece’s islands, cultural sites and natural environment for future generations.

    Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you. Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
    Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
    Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
    Respect the marine life and the plants and animals on shore.
    Leave only your footprints on the beach and don’t remove any shells, rocks, fossils or sand.
    Making fires on beaches is strictly forbidden.
    Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
    YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

    See also

    You might be interested in
    High on the hill above Hora, The Monastery of St John the Theologian

    Discovering the mystical aura of Patmos’ Hora

    The Acropolis and the beach of Lindos

    Discovering the wonder of Lindos on Rhodes

    View of the medieval castle in Rhodes

    Exploring the medieval old town of Rhodes

    View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

    Fill your lungs with the unexpected green spaces of Athens

    Sunset in Poros island

    A day cruise to the islands close to Athens

    View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

    Village-hopping in Samos, from mountain to coast

    Heading northeast, you reach Ermoupouli’s magnificent main church, known locally as Agios Nikolaos of the Rich

    A walking tour of colourful Ermoupoli in Syros

    Amazing view of a beach on Koufonisi island with turquoise waters

    A boat trip to Crete’s desert island of Koufonisi