Astipalea

Lorsque le Dodécanèse rencontre les Cyclades
At the top of the hill, the famous stone castle of Astypalaia which towers over Hora is a special attraction
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
22°
SUN
23°
MON
22°
TUE
22°
WED
22°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Pureté, tranquillité, hospitalité, plages de rêve et trésors cachés: l’île d’Astipalea est l’endroit idéal pour des vacances hors du temps au bord de la mer

Astipalea: Elle a été surnommée «Le papillon de la mer Égée», d’une part, en raison de sa forme particulière et, de l’autre, en raison de la beauté de ses paysages. Pour ceux qui veulent voyager en dehors des sentiers battus, c’est le coup de cœur assuré. À l’extrémité de la mer Égée, dans le Dodécanèse, et pas aux Cyclades, comme plusieurs personnes pourraient en penser, il existe une île riche en images et sensations. Beaucoup restent dévoués à jamais à cette île imbibée de lumière blanche, avec ses eaux cristallines, ses plages baignées de soleil, son patrimoine historique et ses habitants d’une grande hospitalité.

Attractions à Astipalea

«Astropalia»: une  fière «mariée» sur le rocher

Elle ressemble à une «hora» (village) des Cyclades, même si elle est située dans le Dodécanèse. Son célèbre château, sa vue magnifique sur la mer Égée, ses moulins et ses maisons blanchies à la chaux en font un lieu traditionnel remarquable. La Hora, ou «Astropalia» comme la population locale l’appelle, est la plus grande ville de l’île et offre un choix varié de restaurants et de divertissements..

La château en pierre sur la colline

En haut de la colline une attraction singulière domine la Hora, le fameux château en pierre d’Astipalea. Erigé par la famille Quirini au XIIIe siècle, c’était une construction fortifiée typique de la région, construite pour protéger la ville des pirates qui s’aventuraient pendant des siècles dans la mer Égée. Mais au fur et à mesure que la population de l’île s’est développée, les maisons se sont étendues au-delà du château et sur les versants, atteignant aujourd’hui les flancs de la colline et le port de Pera Yialos. 

Des plages pures, sublimes et séduisantes

Les plages d’Astipalea n’ont pas une ambiance cosmopolite mais offrent une atmosphère différente: eaux translucides, relaxation et tranquillité. La plus belle plage de l’île est Kaminakia mais les plages de Vatsès, Livadi, Steno et Psili Ammos sont également magnifiques.

La Vierge à l’ombre du château

Fondée en 1762 par Aghios Anthimos, Panaghia Portaïtissa est une des plus belles églises de la mer Egée. Blanchie à la chaux, avec son impressionnant clocher et son dôme argenté, elle est située juste en dessous du château, à Rodia, un lieu poétique au nom signifiant grenadier, arbre qui poussait autrefois à proximité.

Dans le jardin de l’île

Livadi est une vallée fertile avec des bosquets d’agrumes et des vignes. Les maisons sont couvertes de fleurs et se trouvent le long d’un ruisseau qui termine sa course sur l’une des plus belles et célèbres plages de l’île, avec de nombreux cafés et restaurants.

 

Les trésors cachés d’Astipal

Les bains hellénistiques

À Maltezana (Ascension), vous trouverez les célèbres Bains de Talara, avec leurs fameuses tuiles et mosaïques bleues, caractéristiques de la période hellénistique. Ils sont reconnus par les experts comme étant uniques en Grèce, représentant les saisons et les symboles du zodiaque.c.

Les stalactites de Negrou

La grotte de Negrou à Vatsès constitue une attraction intéressante que vous découvrirez dans l’île: elle présente d’impressionnantes formations de stalactites et de stalagmites qui sont intimement liées à différents mythes sur les pirates et les trésors qu’elle renfermerait. Depuis la plage, vous pouvez atteindre la grotte à pied (45 min) ou par bateau.

Escalade à Astipalea

C’est l’heure de vivre une vraie montée d’adrénaline! L’île dispose d’un site d’escalade à Ftera, situé à seulement 20 minutes de la Hora. La topographie particulière de la roche calcaire crée deux espaces séparés et 20 différents trajets exceptionnels de difficulté variable. Vous êtes prêt?

Reaching the central square of Hora, you are going to admire the town's eight windmills

Vivez le meilleur d’Astipal

At the top of the hill, the famous stone castle of Astypalaia which towers over Hora is a special attraction

Une promenade pédestre d’Hora rayonnant d'Astypalée

La ville principale d'Astypalée émet un charme cycladique classique partout où vous regardez - sauf qu'elle n'est pas du tout dans les Cyclades et, une...
  • «Astropalia»: une fière «mariée» sur le rocher
  • Des plages pures, sublimes et séduisantes
  • La Vierge à l’ombre du château
  • Les bains hellénistiques
  • Les stalactites de Negrou
  • Escalade à Astipalea
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
The windmills of Hora

Le Dodecanese: Une chaîne d’îles pour sauter d’une île à l’autre

Pendant les vacances, il suffit juste une étape pour commencer le processus de la découverte. Alors, qu’arriverait-il si cette étape devient un saut ? Et puis un autre ? Bienvenue au Dodécanèse, un groupe d’îles féeriques au sud de la mer Égée, simplement

Astypalaia

Floats like a butterfly, blends with the sea
At the top of the hill, the famous stone castle of Astypalaia which towers over Hora is a special attraction
Scroll
Today
15°
MON
14°
TUE
13°
WED
11°
THU
11°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Purity, tranquility, hospitality, beautiful beaches and hidden treasures: The ideal place for an offbeat holiday

Astypalaia: It’s been dubbed “The Butterfly of the Aegean,” partly because of its peculiar shape and partly because of the beauty of the landscape. For those willing to travel off the beaten track, it’s love at first sight. At the southeastern edge of the Aegean, in the Dodecanese (not the Cyclades as some may think), there is an island rich in imagery and emotions. Many stay forever devoted to this island of white light, with its crystal-clear water, sun-drenched beaches, historical heritage and hospitable residents.

What to do in Astypalaia

‘Astropalia’

It looks like a traditional Cycladic hora, even though it’s part of the Dodecanese. Its famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement. Hora, or Astropalia as the locals call it in their dialect, is the island’s largest town, offering a variety of choices for food and fun.

Castle on a hill

At the top of the hill, the famous stone castle of Astypalaia which towers over Hora is a special attraction. Erected by the Quirini family in the 13th century, it was a typical fortified settlement, built for protection from pirates. But as the island’s population grew, their homes overflowed beyond the castle and onto the slope and today reach as far as the foot  of the hill and the port of Pera Gialos.

Beaches, pure and seductive

Astypalaia’s beaches may not have a cosmopolitan vibe, but they offer something else: translucent water, relaxation and tranquility. The most beautiful beach on the island is Kaminakia, but Vatses, Livadi, Steno and Psili Ammos are also lovely.

The Virgin Mary in the shade of the castle

Founded in 1762 by Saint Anthimos, Panagia Portaitissa is one of the most beautiful churches in the Aegean. Whitewashed, with an impressive bell tower and silver dome, it is located right below the castle, in Rodia, a poetic place whose name is derived from the pomegranate tree (rodia) that once grew nearby.

In the island’s garden

Livadi is a fertile valley with citrus groves and vineyards. The homes are awash with flowers and are spread along the length of a stream that ends in one of the most beautiful and populated beaches on the island, filled with coffee shops and restaurants.

 

Hidden gems of Astypalaia

Hellenistic bath houses

In Maltezana (Ascension) you’ll find the famous Baths of Talara, with their trademark blue tiles and mosaics from the Hellenistic period. Experts have singled them out for their unique composition, which depicts the seasons and the symbols of the zodiac.

The stalactites and stalagmites at Negrou

The Cave of Negrou at Vatses has impressive stalactite and stalagmite formations that are interwoven with myths about pirates and the treasures they buried there. From the beach you can hike (45 mins) to the cave, or you can also reach it by boat.

Rock climbing in Astypalaia

Give yourself an adrenaline rush. There’s a climbing site at Ftera, just 20 minutes outside the island’s hora. The relief of the limestone rocks has created two climbing sites, offering some 20 routes of varying difficulty. Are you up for it?

 

Reaching the central square of Hora, you are going to admire the town's eight windmills

Experience the best of Astypalaia

At the top of the hill, the famous stone castle of Astypalaia which towers over Hora is a special attraction

A walking tour of Astypalea’s radiant Hora

The main town of Astypalea emits classic Cycladic charm everywhere you look – except that it’s not in the Cyclades at all and, once you’ve...
  • ‘Astropalia’
  • Beaches, pure and seductive
  • The Virgin Mary in the shade of the castle
  • Hellenistic bath houses
  • The stalactites and stalagmites at Negrou
  • Rock climbing in Astypalaia
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
The windmills of Hora

The Dodecanese: An island chain made for hopping

It takes just one step on holiday to start the process of discovery. So, what if that step becomes a hop? And then another? Welcome to the Dodecanese, a cluster of magical islands in the South Aegean simply made for hopping. Some you will have heard of (R