Astypalea

Dort wo die Kykladen auf den Dodekanes treffen
At the top of the hill, the famous stone castle of Astypalaia which towers over Hora is a special attraction
Scroll
Heute
13°
THU
11°
FRI
13°
SAT
14°
SUN
14°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Natürlichkeit, Ruhe, traumhafte Strände und Gastfreundschaft: der perfekte Ort für einen Strandurlaub ab vom Schuss

Astypalea: Sie wird “Schmetterling der Ägäis” genannt, wegen ihrer besonderen Form und der Schönheit der Landschaft. Für Urlauber, die lieber fern vom Massentourismus reisen, ist Astypalea Liebe auf den ersten Blick. Viele bleiben für immer auf der Insel am Rande der Ägäis, mit dem weißen Licht, dem kristallklaren Wasser, sonnenverwöhnten Stränden, dem historischen Erbe und den gastfreundschaftlichen Bewohnern.

Besuchen Sie Astypalea

Astropalia 

Eigentlich sieht die Stadt wie eine traditionelle, kykladische hora aus, obwohl sie zu den Dodekanes gehört. Die berühmte Burg, die Windmühlen und geweißten Häuser markieren eine traditionelle Siedlung. Hora, im Dialekt der Einheimischen Astropalia genannt, ist die größte Stadt der Insel und bietet ein großartiges Angebot für Leib und Seele mit einem wunderschänen Blick auf die Ägäis.

Die Burg auf dem Berg

Auf dem Gipfel des Bergs steht die berühmte Steinburg eine unvergleichliche Sehenswürdigkeit  von Astypalea über der Hora. Sie wurde im 13. Jahrhundert von der Familie Quirini errichtet und war eine typische Festung, die dem Schutz vor den Piraten, die über Jahrhunderte die Ägäis unsicher machten,  diente. Aber als die Inselbevölkerung anstieg, siedelten sich auch Häuser außerhalb der Burg bis hin zum Hang an. Heute reicht die Siedlung bis zum Fuße des Hügels und zum Hafen von Pera Gialos. 

Strände, erführerisch und natürlich

Die Strände auf Astypalea haben zwar keinen kosmopolitischen Vibe, aber bieten etwas ganz anderes: lichtdurchflutetes Wasser, Entspannung und Ruhe. Der schönste Strand der Insel ist Kaminakia, aber Vatses, Livadi, Steno und Psili Ammos sind auch nicht zu verachten.

Die Jungfrau Maria im Schatten der Burg

Die im Jahr 1762 von St. Anthimos gegründete Kirche ist eine der schönsten der ganzen Ägäis. Die geweißte Kirche mit imposantem Glockenturm und Silberkuppel liegt direkt unter der Burg in Rodia. Ein lyrischer Ort, dessen Name sich vom Granatapfelbaum (rodia) ableitet, der hier einst wuchs.

Der Inselgarten

Livadi ist ein fruchtbares Tal voller Zitrushaine und Weinberge. Die mit Blumen geschmückten Häuser verteilen sich entlang eines Bachs, der an einem der beliebtesten, mit Cafés und Restaurants gesäumten Strände der Insel, ins Meer mündet.

 

Die verborgenen Schätze von Astypalaia

Hellenische Badehäuser

In Maltezana (Aufstieg) ist das berühmte Badehaus von Talara, das für seine blauen Fliesen und Mosaike aus der hellenischen Epoche bekannt ist. Experten halten die Keramiken für einzigartige Kompositionen, die die Jahreszeiten und Sternzeichen abbilden.

Die Stalaktiten von Negrou

In der Tropfsteinhöhle von Negrou bei Vatses ist eine Sehenswürdigkeit die nicht verpassen sollten, wenn Sie auf der Insel sind. Es handelt sich um eindrucksvolle Stalaktiten und Stalagmiten, die mit den Mythen über Piraten und ihre hier vergrabenen Schätze untrennbar verbunden sind. Vom Strand ist es eine 45 Minuten-Wanderung, aber die Höhle ist auch per Boot erreichbar.

Klettern in Astypalea

Wer auf der Suche nach einem Adrenalinrausch ist, sollte zur Kletterwand bei Ftera, nur 20 Minuten außerhalb der Hora gelegen. Das Sandsteinrelief bietet zwei wunderbare Klettergebiete und 20 Routen mit unterschiedlichen Schwierigkeitsgraden.

Reaching the central square of Hora, you are going to admire the town's eight windmills

Erleben Sie das Beste von Astypalea

At the top of the hill, the famous stone castle of Astypalaia which towers over Hora is a special attraction

Ein Rundgang durch Astypaleas strahlendes Hora

Die Herz von Astypalea versprüht überall klassischen kykladischen Charme - nur, dass es nicht auf den Kykladen liegt. Wenn Sie es erst einmal erkundet haben,...
  • Astropalia
  • Strände, erführerisch und natürlich
  • Die Jungfrau Maria im Schatten der Burg
  • Hellenische Badehäuser
  • Die Stalaktiten von Negrou
  • Klettern in Astypalea
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
The windmills of Hora

Der Dodekanes: Eine Inselkette gemacht fürs Inselhüpfen

Man braucht im Urlaub gerade einen Schritt, um den Entdeckungsprozeß zu beginnen. Also, was wenn dieser Schritt ein Sprung wird? Und dann noch einer? Willkommen in den Dodekanes, eine Gruppe magischer Inseln in der Südägäis, die einfach zum Inselhüpfen ge

Astypalaia

Floats like a butterfly, blends with the sea
At the top of the hill, the famous stone castle of Astypalaia which towers over Hora is a special attraction
Scroll
Today
15°
MON
14°
TUE
13°
WED
11°
THU
11°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Purity, tranquility, hospitality, beautiful beaches and hidden treasures: The ideal place for an offbeat holiday

Astypalaia: It’s been dubbed “The Butterfly of the Aegean,” partly because of its peculiar shape and partly because of the beauty of the landscape. For those willing to travel off the beaten track, it’s love at first sight. At the southeastern edge of the Aegean, in the Dodecanese (not the Cyclades as some may think), there is an island rich in imagery and emotions. Many stay forever devoted to this island of white light, with its crystal-clear water, sun-drenched beaches, historical heritage and hospitable residents.

What to do in Astypalaia

‘Astropalia’

It looks like a traditional Cycladic hora, even though it’s part of the Dodecanese. Its famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement. Hora, or Astropalia as the locals call it in their dialect, is the island’s largest town, offering a variety of choices for food and fun.

Castle on a hill

At the top of the hill, the famous stone castle of Astypalaia which towers over Hora is a special attraction. Erected by the Quirini family in the 13th century, it was a typical fortified settlement, built for protection from pirates. But as the island’s population grew, their homes overflowed beyond the castle and onto the slope and today reach as far as the foot  of the hill and the port of Pera Gialos.

Beaches, pure and seductive

Astypalaia’s beaches may not have a cosmopolitan vibe, but they offer something else: translucent water, relaxation and tranquility. The most beautiful beach on the island is Kaminakia, but Vatses, Livadi, Steno and Psili Ammos are also lovely.

The Virgin Mary in the shade of the castle

Founded in 1762 by Saint Anthimos, Panagia Portaitissa is one of the most beautiful churches in the Aegean. Whitewashed, with an impressive bell tower and silver dome, it is located right below the castle, in Rodia, a poetic place whose name is derived from the pomegranate tree (rodia) that once grew nearby.

In the island’s garden

Livadi is a fertile valley with citrus groves and vineyards. The homes are awash with flowers and are spread along the length of a stream that ends in one of the most beautiful and populated beaches on the island, filled with coffee shops and restaurants.

 

Hidden gems of Astypalaia

Hellenistic bath houses

In Maltezana (Ascension) you’ll find the famous Baths of Talara, with their trademark blue tiles and mosaics from the Hellenistic period. Experts have singled them out for their unique composition, which depicts the seasons and the symbols of the zodiac.

The stalactites and stalagmites at Negrou

The Cave of Negrou at Vatses has impressive stalactite and stalagmite formations that are interwoven with myths about pirates and the treasures they buried there. From the beach you can hike (45 mins) to the cave, or you can also reach it by boat.

Rock climbing in Astypalaia

Give yourself an adrenaline rush. There’s a climbing site at Ftera, just 20 minutes outside the island’s hora. The relief of the limestone rocks has created two climbing sites, offering some 20 routes of varying difficulty. Are you up for it?

 

Reaching the central square of Hora, you are going to admire the town's eight windmills

Experience the best of Astypalaia

At the top of the hill, the famous stone castle of Astypalaia which towers over Hora is a special attraction

A walking tour of Astypalea’s radiant Hora

The main town of Astypalea emits classic Cycladic charm everywhere you look – except that it’s not in the Cyclades at all and, once you’ve...
  • ‘Astropalia’
  • Beaches, pure and seductive
  • The Virgin Mary in the shade of the castle
  • Hellenistic bath houses
  • The stalactites and stalagmites at Negrou
  • Rock climbing in Astypalaia
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
The windmills of Hora

The Dodecanese: An island chain made for hopping

It takes just one step on holiday to start the process of discovery. So, what if that step becomes a hop? And then another? Welcome to the Dodecanese, a cluster of magical islands in the South Aegean simply made for hopping. Some you will have heard of (R