10

10 ACTIVITÉS À FAIRE À ATHÈNES AVEC VOS ENFANTS

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour boire un café grec

Si vos enfants sont curieux et actifs, adorent les mythes et les histoires, aiment la mer et la montagne et vous posent sans cesse des questions sur le monde (son passé, présent et futur), alors Athènes est la destination idéale pour un voyage en famille. Ils seront fascinés à mesure que les récits des civilisations et de la mythologie antiques reprendront vie, en explorant par vous-même ou en choisissant une visite en famille.  Il y aura toujours quelque chose à faire avec vos enfants à Athènes… lieu de séjour idéal en ville ou de vacances prolongées en famille, et surtout, parce qu’il y a tellement d’activités amusantes à faire dehors.

Commencez par l'Acropole… et par un petit détour

L'Acropole et le musée de l'Acropole

Un seul endroit possible pour commencer vos vacances à Athènes avec vos enfants. L'Acropole n'est pas seulement un édifice majeur de l'antiquité, c'est aussi la scène de légendes parmi les plus épiques de la mythologie grecque. Un guide touristique adapté aux enfants vous révèlera les mystères du Parthénon et du musée de l'Acropole situé juste en contre-bas. ("le musée de l'Acropole par un petit détour" promet des visites qui permettent aux enfants de rencontrer les Karyatides et de jouer à un jeu de rôle avec la déesse Athéna et Poséidon !) Vous pouvez aussi associer votre visite de l'Acropole à une rencontre avec la mythologie et la poterie, ou grimper sur la colline du Pnyx où les enfants s'amuseront à peindre le Parthénon. Dans tous les cas, n’oubliez pas chapeau, crème solaire et bouteille d’eau ! Vos vacances en famille en Grèce viennent juste de commencer.  

Découvrez les secrets de l'Acropole  

Partez à la chasse au trésor autour de l'Acropole

Plaka et Anafiotika

En marchant dans les rues pavées de Plaka, vous découvrirez l'un des quartiers les plus anciens du monde occidental, habité sans interruption depuis l'antiquité. Anafiotika, le minuscule quartier des Cyclades, à l'ombre de l'Acropole, est assez spécial… car alors, la chasse au trésor se transforme en une expérience familiale inoubliable ! Anafiotika in Plaka by the Acropolis hill_Athens_sh_123954367

En hiver, l'odeur des châtaignes grillées, au printemps et en été, le parfum des jasmins des minuscules cours raviront vos sens. Suivez les traces du riche passé d'Athènes : L'Agora romaine, L'ancienne Université, La Tour des Vents et les Bains des Vents, le manoir de Bénizelos, le monument de Lysicrate et toutes les adorables petites églises byzantines. Ne manquez pas les deux musées importants, le musée d’Art grec pour enfants et le musée de la Vie scolaire et de l’Éducation. 

Devenez philosophe sur l'ancienne Agora

L’ancienne Agora, l’Académie de Platon et le lycée d’Aristote

Sentez vibrer le cœur de l'Athènes antique dans le « centre commercial » le plus célèbre du monde antique et découvrez le lieu de naissance de la philosophie. En explorant l'ancienne Agora, vous marcherez (littéralement) sur les traces de Socrate. Et à Kérameikos, vous découvrirez où étaient produits les célèbres vases attiques de l'antiquité ainsi que le principal cimetière de la ville. 

Column arcade of museum, Ancient Agora, Athens, Greece

Selon l’âge des enfants et de votre amour pour la philosophie grecque, essayez d’enrichir vos connaissances sur l’Athènes classique un peu différemment. Retrouvez la philosophie grecque à l'Académie de Platon et au Lycée d'Aristote. Avec des enfants, cela devient une véritable aventure totalement inédite. 

Devenez l'athlète olympique de la journée

Le stade Panathénaïque

Votre voyage en famille à Athènes ne fait que commencer ! Le temps est venu de découvrir les espaces verts de la ville en marchant sur les rives de l'ancienne rivière Ilissos, désormais souterraine. Départ à partir du Zappeion Hall (lieu de cérémonies) et du stade Panathénaïque, où les Jeux Olympiques modernes ont été relancés en 1896. Le stade en forme de fer à cheval édifié sur le site d'un ancien hippodrome est le seul au monde entièrement construit en marbre (également connu sous le nom de Kallimarmarο – ou beau marbre). 

First Greek stadium in Athens

Au cours de cette visite en famille, vous pourrez peut-être devenir un athlète olympique pour la journée, vous apprendrez beaucoup sur ce lieu et le rôle de la flamme olympique transmise à la nation organisatrice des Jeux Olympiques lors d’une cérémonie de remise célébrée ici et départ de la plus longue course de relais au monde. 

Mettez-vous au vert dans les parcs d'Athènes

Du jardin national à la colline du Lycabette

Athènes avec des enfants, ce n’est pas uniquement des sites archéologiques et historiques. Une très agréable sortie en famille sera une promenade dans le Jardin National, véritable oasis de verdure au cœur de la ville, avec plus de 500 espèces d'arbres et de plantes. Ce site de 160 hectares est la concrétisation du rêve de la reine Amalia, la première reine de Grèce, au 19ème siècle. Les oiseaux – notamment des paons, comme vous le verrez– apporte à cette ville bouillonnante une note rafraîchissante toute l’année ! Un autre joyau de verdure s’offre à vous avec le Jardin botanique de Diomides, à Chaidari au nord-ouest d'Athènes. Vous pique-niquerez sur l’herbe, et rencontrerez les dieux grecs, des muses et des héros mythologiques à travers les noms des herbes et des fleurs grâce à une excursion guidée sur la mythologie et la botanique. 

National Garden of Athens

Au coucher du soleil, vous retournerez à Athènes pour prendre le funiculaire qui vous mènera jusqu'au point culminant de la ville, la colline du Lycabette.

Emplissez vos poumons d'air frais dans les espaces verts d'Athènes 

Découvrez des musées qui feront la joie des enfants

Trésors archéologiques, histoire naturelle et musées des jouets

Le centre d'Athènes abrite une multitude de musées fascinants pour les enfants. Sur l’avenue Vassilissis Sophias, région où coulaient de nombreux ruisseaux dans les premiers temps de l’État grec moderne, vous trouverez une foule de musées installés dans les anciennes demeures de citoyens illustres… Le musée byzantin, et le Musée d'Art cycladique le musée Bénaki ou musée de la Culture grecque, entre autres. Et tout près d'ici, à Kolonaki, vous avez le musée de la Technologie grecque antique, idéal pour les mordus de technologie ! Le Musée national archéologique est un must absolu si vous voulez avoir une image complète de l'histoire de la Grèce. En dehors du centre, vous trouverez le Musée Bénaki du jouet à Marina Flisvos (port de plaisance) et, dans la banlieue nord, à Kifissia, les enfants de tout âge aimeront découvrir le Musée d'Histoire naturelle. Ne pas être autorisé à toucher les objets exposés peut s’avérer frustrant pour les plus jeunes enfants. Alors, que diriez-vous d'un guide pour toute la famille qui comblera ces manques avec des histoires et des événements amusants ?

Découvrez des musées qui feront la joie des enfants

Le Centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos

Le tout dernier joyau de la culture à Athènes, que toute la famille adorera découvrir, est le Centre Culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos (CCFSN), à Paléo Faliro. Le parc se prête à une agréable promenade en famille (avec son jardin musical interactif) et vous pourrez visiter la Bibliothèque nationale et l'Opéra House, qui font partie des pièces maîtresses de l'archéologie moderne. Votre expérience se trouvera enrichie par une visite organisée avec un conservateur du CCFSN, qui vous montrera des parties des bâtiments autrement inaccessibles. Vous en apprendrez beaucoup sur la notion de développement durable et sur l'inspiration de l'architecte de renommée mondiale Renzo Piano. 

Contemplez les étoiles au Planétarium numérique d'Athènes

Le Planétarium de la Fondation Eugénides

Les enfants adoreront le planétarium numérique d'Athènes, avec son dôme-écran de 25 m de diamètre conférant à une zone la taille de deux terrains de basket et son sol incliné parfait pour l'observation des étoiles. Grâce à des animations 3D en images de synthèse ultramodernes stimulant les sens de chacun (des jeunes enfants aux adultes), voici le moyen idéal de s'instruire davantage sur la voûte céleste, ses constellations et ses planètes. Dès lors, cette approche artistique vous réconciliera définitivement avec la science et la technologie. 

Faites une randonnée dans les montagnes autour d'Athènes

Le monastère et la forêt de Kessariani sur le mont Ymittos

Savez-vous qu'Athènes peut être une destination d'écotourisme ? Eh bien, la vérité est qu'Athènes est entourée de trois massifs montagneux impressionnants et de la mer au sud, éléments auxquels nous devons le climat exceptionnel et l'azur du ciel de la ville. Vous pouvez consacrer une journée à explorer l'un de ces trois massifs (Ymittos, Parnès et Pendeli). Sur le mont Ymittos, vous pourrez visiter le monastère de Kessariani et faire de la randonnée dans la forêt environnante, en admirant la vue panoramique sur la ville. Un guide expérimenté vous expliquera tout sur les plantes de la région (plus de 600 espèces), et vous enseignera les histoires qu'elles cachent, les mythes racontés à propos de certaines d'entre elles qui offrent souvent des explications sur leurs noms, leurs caractéristiques ou propriétés. 

Participez à une dégustation de vin et déjeunez à la ferme

Les fermes urbaines et les domaines viticoles de la région d'Athènes

Le week-end, les Athéniens adorent visiter les exploitations agricoles implantées autour de la ville. À Marathon, le domaine viticole Kokotos Estate vous accueille pour des dégustations de vin avec votre famille (vos enfants dégusteront du raisin !). À Rafina, vous vous amuserez au Magic Garden et en apprendrez plus sur le petit manège d'équitation thérapeutique. À Koropi, vous pourrez faire une balade à dos d’âne à Gaidourochora (au Pays des ânes). À In the Center of the Earth, vous prendrez part à des activités agricoles et culinaires. À Avlona, vous irez à la rencontre de professions traditionnelles au parc "Once Upon aTime". Et dans les domaines Aristi, Périvoli et Farma Moo, vous récolterez des légumes, puis vous déjeunerez à la ferme pendant que les enfants joueront dans l'aire de jeux et s'amuseront à nourrir les animaux.  

Les fermes urbaines et les domaines viticoles de la région d'Athènes

Avec tant de lieux de culture et d'espaces près de la nature, les vacances en famille ou un séjour à Athènes avec vos enfants deviennent très faciles et très amusants. Des promenades, des musées fascinants, des aventures de taille olympique, des légendes sur les dieux, des mythes et une histoire vivante vous attendent, vos enfants et vous, pour créer des souvenirs de toute une vie. Jamais vous n’auriez cru que voyager avec des enfants était si facile.  

Découvrez la magie d'Athènes 

Done
Done
Done
Done




MAMAKITA
MAMAKITA
Travel agency specialized in family travel

This article was contributed by family travel specialists Mamakita, who offer family-friendly tours and custom-made itineraries in Athens and around Greece.

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Hiking Balos trail

Les 8 activités de plein air les plus appréciées en Grèce

Sunset in Serifos

Les 12 escapades les plus romantiques de Grèce

Leonidas Giannakopoulos - Eternal traveler, Metaxourgeio

Où trouver le meilleur du street art à Athènes

Mount Olympus summit. The "Throne of Zeus" 2.919m

12 destinations à l’origine des mythes grecs

Hiking Balos trail

Les 8 activités de plein air les plus appréciées en Grèce

10

10 BEST THINGS TO DO IN ATHENS WITH KIDS

READING TIME
As long as it takes to drink a Greek coffee

If your kids are curious and active, love myths and stories, like the sea and mountains and are always asking questions about the world (its past, present and future), then Athens is the perfect choice for a family trip. They’ll be inspired as tales of ancient civilisations and mythology are brought to life, whether you explore on your own or choose a family-friendly tour. You’ll never tire of things to do in Athens with kids… ideal for a city break or longer family vacations, especially as so much of the fun happens outdoors.

Start with the Acropolis… with a twist

The Acropolis & Acropolis Museum

There can only be one place to begin your holiday in Athens with kids. The Acropolis isn’t just one of the greatest structures of antiquity, it’s also the scene of some of the most epic tales of Greek mythology. A kid-oriented tour guide will reveal the full mystery of the Parthenon and the Acropolis Museum right next door. (There are even ‘Acropolis Museum with a twist’ tours that allow the kids to meet the Karyatides and enjoy a role-playing game with Athena and Poseidon!) Or how about combining your Acropolis visit with a mythology & pottery tour, or maybe climbing Pnyx Hill where the kids can paint the Parthenon. In any case, don’t forget your hat, sunscreen and bottle of water! Your family vacations in Greece have just begun. 

Learn the secrets of the Acropolis 

Go on a treasure hunt around the Acropolis

Plaka & Anafiotika

Walking along the cobbled streets of Plaka, you explore one of the most ancient and continuously inhabited neighbourhoods of the western world. And Anafiotika, the tiny Cycladic district just above the Acropolis, is special enough… but it becomes an even more memorable family experience on a tour with a treasure hunt!

Anafiotika in Plaka by the Acropolis hill_Athens_sh_123954367

In winter, you’ll smell the roasted chestnuts and in spring and summer, the aromas of jasmine from the tiny yards will overwhelm your senses. See if you can trace the remnants of Athens’ past: the Roman Agora, the Old University, the Tower & the Bath House of the Winds, the Benizelos Mansion, the Monument of Lysicrates and all the lovely Byzantine churches. Don’t miss the two children’s museums, the Museum of Greek Children’s Art and the School life & Education Museum.

Get philosophical in the Ancient Agora

The Ancient Agora, Plato’s Academy & Aristotle’s Lyceum

Feel the heartbeat of Ancient Athens in the most renowned trade centre of the ancient world and discover where philosophy was born. Exploring the Ancient Agora, you walk (quite literally) in the footsteps of Socrates. And in Kerameikos, you will uncover where antiquity’s famous Attic Vases were produced and witness the most important burial ground of the city.

Column arcade of museum, Ancient Agora, Athens, Greece

Depending on your kids’ age and your fondness for Greek philosophy, try something a little different to enrich your knowledge of Classical Athens. Take a Greek philosophy tour to the Plato Academy and the Lyceum of Aristotle. It’s travel with kids, but not as you’ve experienced it before.

Be an Olympic athlete for the day

The Panathenaic Stadium

Your family trip to Athens has only just begun! It’s time to discover the green side of the city walking by the banks of the ancient Ilissos River, still flowing underground. Start from Zappeion Hall and the Panathenaic Stadium, where the Modern Olympics were revived in 1896. The horseshoe-shaped stadium was built on the site of an ancient racecourse and is the only stadium in the world made exclusively of marble (it is also known as Kallimarmarο – or beautiful marble). 

First Greek stadium in Athens

There are family-friendly tours that allow you to become an Olympic athlete for the day, where you will learn more about the venue and the Olympic flame that is passed to the Games’ host nation at a Handover Ceremony here as it begins the world’s longest relay-run. 

Go green in the parks of Athens

From the National Garden to Lycabettus Hill

Athens with kids isn’t just about archaeological sites and history. One of the most enjoyable family excursions will be taking a walk in the National Garden, an oasis of green in the heart of Athens with more than 500 species mature trees and plants. The 160-acre site is the vision of the nature-loving Queen Amalia, the first queen of Greece, in the 19th century. The sounds of birds – mainly peacocks, as you’ll soon realise – is refreshing all year round! Another green gem is the Diomides Botanical Garden, in the Haidari district in northwestern Athens, where you can enjoy a picnic in nature and meet Greek gods, Muses and mythological heroes as they appear in the names of herbs and flowers on a guided Mythology and Botany Tour.

National Garden of Athens

As the sun is about to set, head back into Athens and take the funicular up to the city’s heights point, Lycabettus Hill.

Fill your lungs with the green spaces of Athens

Seek out the museums kids love

Archaeological gems, natural history & toy museums

The centre of Athens hides a great collection of fascinating and child-friendly museums. On Vassilissis Sophias Avenue, an area full of creeks in the first years of the modern Greek state, you’ll find a collection of museums in the former houses of distinguished citizens… the Byzantine Museum, the Museum of Cycladic Art and the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture amongst them. And a few steps away, in Kolonaki, is the Museum of Ancient Greek Technology, ideal for technology buffs! The National Archaeological Museum is an absolute must if you want to get the full picture of Greek history. Away from the centre, you’ll find the Benaki Toy Museum at Flisvos Marina and, in the northern suburbs of Kifissia, kids of all ages will love the Natural History Museum. Not being allowed to touch the exhibits can be frustrating for younger kids. So how about a family-friendly tour guide to fill the gaps with storytelling and fun facts?

Discover the city’s newest cultural gem

The Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Centre

A new cultural gem of Athens that the whole family will love discovering is the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Centre (SNFCC), in Paleo Faliro. The grounds are perfect for a family walk (including an interactive Musical Garden) and you can admire the National Library and Opera House, that are part of the complex and modern archaeological masterpieces. You can enrich your experience on an organised tour with a SNFCC curator, who can show you parts of buildings that would otherwise be inaccessible. You’ll learn about the sustainability-focused concept and inspiration of world-famous architect Renzo Piano. 

Star-gaze in Athens’ digital Planetarium

The Eugenides Foundation Planetarium

The kids will also love Athens’ digital Planetarium, with its 25m-diameter dome screen that gives an area the size of two basketball courts and angled floor perfect for star-gazing. With state-of-the-art 3D animation graphics that stimulate everyone’s senses (from younger kids to grown-ups), it’s a perfect way to learn about the night sky and all those constellations and planets. You’ll love the science and technology perceived from an artistic point of view. 

Go on a hike on the mountains of Athens

Kessariani Monastery & forest on Mt Ymittos

Did you have Athens down as an ecotourism destination? Well, the truth is that Athens is surrounded by three impressive mountains and the sea, for which we have to thank the city’s great climate and blue skies. You can dedicate a day to exploring any of the three mountains (Ymittos, Parnitha and Pendeli). On Mt Ymittos, you can visit the Kessariani Monastery and hike in the surrounding forest, enjoying panoramic views of the city. An experienced guide will introduce you to the plants that grow here (more than 600 species) and you’ll get to know the stories behind them, including the myths that have been told about certain plants to explain their names, characteristics or properties. 

Enjoy ‘wine-tasting’ and a farm-to-table lunch

The urban farms and wineries around Athens

A favourite weekend activity of Athenians is to visit one of the urban farms around the city. In Marathon, the Kokotos Estate is a unique winery, offering wine tasting for all the family (don’t worry, it’s grape-tasting for the kids!). In Rafina, you and your kids can visit the Magic Garden and learn more about the Gentle Carousel Miniature Therapy Horses. In Koropi, you can go for a walk with (not on) a Greek donkey in Gaidourohora. In the Center of the Earth, you can participate in farming and cooking. In Avlona you can meet traditional professions in ‘Once upon a time’. And in the Aristi Estate, Perivoli and Farma Moo, you can dig (and plant) vegetables and enjoy a farm-to-table lunch while the kids play in the playground and feed the animals.  

10 Best things to do in Athens with kids

With so many cultural and natural highlights to enjoy, family vacations or a city break with kids in Athens couldn’t be easier or more fun. Family-friendly walks, fascinating museums, Olympian-sized adventures and a never-ending tale of gods, myths and living history await you and the kids as you create memories that last a lifetime. You’ll never have believed it’s so easy to travel with kids. 

Discover the magic of Athens 

MAMAKITA
MAMAKITA
Travel agency specialized in family travel

This article was contributed by family travel specialists Mamakita, who offer family-friendly tours and custom-made itineraries in Athens and around Greece.

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Hiking Balos trail

The 8 most popular outdoor adventures in Greece

Leonidas Giannakopoulos - Eternal traveler, Metaxourgeio

Where to find the best street art in Athens

Nothing keeps a true traveller-at-heart from the pleasure of exploring

6 Best Covid-friendly strolls in Athens

Mount Olympus summit. The "Throne of Zeus" 2.919m

12 destinations that gave life to Greek mythology

Athens has a fresh new look it can't wait to share with the world

11 ways Athens invites you to live it like a local

Oia in Santorini

Getting around Greece by ferry in the Covid-19 era

Hiking Balos trail

The 8 most popular outdoor adventures in Greece

Leonidas Giannakopoulos - Eternal traveler, Metaxourgeio

Where to find the best street art in Athens

From the beautiful chapel of Agios Konstantinos nearby, you can look out beyond Livadi onto Cycladic islands… Sifnos, Milos and (on clear days) Tinos and Mykonos

Discover the 10 best things to do in Serifos

Nothing keeps a true traveller-at-heart from the pleasure of exploring

6 Best Covid-friendly strolls in Athens