10

DIE 10 BESTEN AUSFLÜGE IN ATHEN MIT KINDERN

READING TIME
Solange es dauert, um einen griechischen Kaffee zu trinken

Wenn deine Kinder neugierig und lebhaft sind, Mythen und Geschichten lieben, das Meer und die Berge mögen und immer wieder Fragen über die Welt (ihre Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft) stellen, ist Athen die perfekte Stadt für einen Familienurlaub. Die Geschichten der antiken Zivilisationen und der Mythologie werden sie mitreißen, egal ob du sie auf eigene Faust erkundest oder dich für eine kinderfreundliche Tour entschließt. In Athen wirst du dich niemals mit Kindern langweilen... Die Stadt ist ideal für einen Städtetrip oder einen längeren Familienurlaub, vor allem deshalb, weil sich ein Großteil der Aktivitäten im Freien abspielt.

Starte mit der Akropolis... mit Pfiff

Die Akropolis und ihr Museum

Es gibt nur einen Ort, an dem du deinen Urlaub in Athen mit Kindern starten solltest. Die Akropolis ist nicht nur eines der beeindruckendsten Bauwerke der Antike, sondern auch der Schauplatz einiger der epischsten Geschichten der griechischen Mythologie. Ein kindgerechter Tourguide lüftet das ganze Geheimnis des Parthenons und des angrenzenden Akropolis-Museums. (Es gibt sogar "Akropolis Museum mit Pfiff-Touren", bei denen die Kinder die Karyatiden treffen und ein Rollenspiel mit Athene und Poseidon spielen). Oder wie wäre es, wenn du deinen Akropolis-Besuch mit einer Mythologie- und Töpfer-Tour kombinierst, oder vielleicht den Pnyx-Hügel besteigst, wo die Kinder den Parthenon zeichnen können. Vergiss auf keinen Fall deinen Hut, Sonnencreme und eine Flasche Wasser! Dein Familienurlaub in Griechenland hat gerade erst begonnen.

Lerne die Geheimnisse der Akropolis kennen  

Schatzsuche auf der Akropolis

Plaka & Anafiotika

Wenn du durch die kopfsteingepflasterten Straßen von Plaka läufst, entdeckst du eines der ältesten und am längsten bewohnten Viertel der westlichen Welt. Und Anafiotika, das winzige Kykladenviertel direkt oberhalb der Akropolis, ist schon außergewöhnlich genug... aber es wird zu einem noch eindrucksvolleren Familienerlebnis, wenn du eine Schatzsuche mitmachst! 

Anafiotika in Plaka by the Acropolis hill_Athens_sh_123954367

Im Winter wirst du die gerösteten Kastanien riechen und im Frühling sowie im Sommer werden die Aromen des Jasmins aus den klitzekleinen Höfen deine Sinne betören. Versuche, die Überreste der Vergangenheit Athens aufzudecken: die Römische Agora, die Alte Universität, den Turm & das Badehaus der Winde, die Benizelos-Villa, das Lysikrates-Denkmal und all die schönen byzantinischen Kirchen. Auch die beiden Kindermuseen, das Museum of Greek Children's Art und das School life & Education Museum, solltest du nicht missen.

Werde in der antiken Agora zum Philosophieren angeregt

Die Antike Agora, Platons Akademie & Aristoteles' Lyzeum

Fühle den Herzschlag des antiken Athens im berühmtesten Handelszentrum der antiken Welt und erlebe, wo die Philosophie ihren Ursprung hat. Bei der Erkundung der antiken Agora trittst du (im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes) in die Fußstapfen von Sokrates. Und in Kerameikos entdeckst du, wo die berühmten attischen Vasen der Antike hergestellt wurden und wirst Zeuge der bedeutendsten Begräbnisstätte der Stadt. 

Column arcade of museum, Ancient Agora, Athens, Greece

Je nach Alter deiner Kinder und Vorliebe für griechische Philosophie kannst du auch etwas anderes ausprobieren, um dein Wissen über das klassische Athen zu erweitern. Nimm an einer griechischen Philosophie-Tour zur Platon-Akademie und dem Lyzeum des Aristoteles teil. Es ist eine Reise mit Kindern, allerdings nicht so, wie du sie bisher kennengelernt hast. 

Für einen Tag ein olympischer Athlet sein

Das Panathenäische Stadion

Dein Familienausflug nach Athen hat gerade erst begonnen! Es ist an der Zeit, die grüne Seite der Stadt zu entdecken und an den Ufern des antiken Flusses Ilissos entlang zu spazieren, der nach wie vor unterirdisch fließt. Beginne bei der Zappeion-Halle und dem Panathenaischen Stadion, wo 1896 die Olympischen Spiele der Neuzeit wiederbelebt wurden. Das hufeisenförmige Stadion wurde an der Stelle einer antiken Rennbahn gebaut und ist das einzige Stadion der Welt, das ausschließlich aus Marmor errichtet wurde (es ist auch als Kallimarmarο - oder schöner Marmor - bekannt). 

First Greek stadium in Athens

Es werden familienfreundliche Touren angeboten, die es dir möglich machen, für einen Tag zum olympischen Athleten zu werden. Dabei erfährst du mehr über den Austragungsort und die olympische Flamme, die hier bei einer Übergabezeremonie an die Gastgebernation der Spiele weitergegeben wird, wenn diese den längsten Staffellauf der Welt einläuten.

Ab ins Grüne, die Athener Parks erkunden

Vom Nationalgarten zum Lycabettus-Hügel

Mit Kindern ist Athen nicht nur wegen der archäologischen Stätten und der Geschichte interessant. Einer der schönsten Familienausflüge ist ein Spaziergang im Nationalgarten, einer grünen Oase im Herzen Athens mit mehr als 500 Arten von ausgewachsenen Bäumen und Pflanzen. Das 160 Hektar große Gelände ist die Vision der naturverbundenen Königin Amalia, der ersten Königin Griechenlands, im 19. Jahrhundert. Der Gesang der Vögel - hauptsächlich Pfauen, wie du bald feststellen wirst - ist das ganze Jahr über angenehm erfrischend! Ein weiteres grünes Juwel ist der Diomides Botanical Garden im Stadtteil Haidari im Nordwesten Athens, wo du ein Picknick in der Natur genießen und auf einer geführten Mythologie- und Botaniktour griechische Götter, Musen und mythologische Helden kennenlernen kannst, die in den Namen von Kräutern und Blumen vorkommen. 

National Garden of Athens

Sobald die Sonne untergeht, kehrst du nach Athen zurück und fährst mit der Standseilbahn auf den höchsten Punkt des Lycabettus-Hügels.

Fülle deine Lunge in den Grünanlagen von Athen

Besuche die Museen, die Kinder lieben

Archäologische Schätze, Naturgeschichte & Spielzeug Museen

Das Herz von Athen birgt eine große Auswahl an faszinierenden und kinderfreundlichen Museen. In der Vassilissis Sophias Avenue, einer Gegend, die in den ersten Jahren des modernen griechischen Staates voller Bäche war, findest du eine Reihe von Museen in ehemaligen Häusern angesehener Bürger... darunter das Byzantinische Museum, das Museum für kykladische Kunst und das Benaki Museum für griechische Kultur. Und nur ein paar Schritte entfernt, in Kolonaki, befindet sich das Museum für antike griechische Technologie, ideal für Technik-Fans! Das Nationale Archäologische Museum ist ein absolutes Muss, wenn du dir ein vollständiges Bild über die griechische Geschichte machen möchtest. Außerhalb des Stadtkerns befindet sich das Benaki Spielzeugmuseum in Flisvos Marina und in den nördlichen Vororten von Kifissia werden Kinder jeden Alters das Naturkundemuseum begeistern. Dass du die Ausstellungsstücke nicht anfassen darfst, kann für kleine Kinder frustrierend sein. Wie wäre es also mit einem familienfreundlichen Guide, der die Wissenslücken mit Geschichten und lustigen Details ergänzt?

Das neueste Kulturgut der Stadt entdecken

Das Kulturzentrum der Stavros Niarchos Stiftung

Das Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Centre (SNFCC) in Paleo Faliro ist ein neuartiges Athener Kulturgut, das die ganze Familie gerne erkunden wird. Das Gelände eignet sich perfekt für einen Familienspaziergang (inklusive eines interaktiven Musikgartens), wobei du die Nationalbibliothek und das Opernhaus, die Teil dieser Anlage sind, sowie moderne archäologische Meisterwerke bewundern kannst. Du kannst dich auf einer organisierten Tour mit einem SNFCC-Kurator weiterbilden, indem sie dir Details von Gebäuden erklären, die sonst unzugänglich wären. Du wirst etwas über das auf Nachhaltigkeit ausgerichtete Konzept und die Inspiration des weltberühmten Architekten Renzo Piano erfahren.

Sterne gucken im Digital Planetarium von Athen

Das Planetarium der Eugenides-Stiftung

Die Kinder werden auch das Digital Planetarium von Athen lieben, das mit seiner Kuppel mit einem 25m-Durchmesser eine Fläche von der Größe zweier Basketballfelder und einen geneigten Boden bietet, der sich perfekt zum Beobachten der Sterne eignet. Mit hochmodernen 3D-Animationsgrafiken, die alle Sinne anregen (von Kleinkindern bis zu Erwachsenen), ist es eine wunderbare Möglichkeit, etwas über den Nachthimmel und all die Konstellationen und Planeten zu lernen. Du wirst die Wissenschaft und Technologie lieben, die aus einem kreativen Aspekt heraus betrachtet wird.

Wandere durch die Berge von Athen

Kessariani-Kloster & Wald auf dem Berg Ymittos

Hast du Athen als Ziel für Öko-Tourismus im Kopf? Nun, die Wahrheit ist, dass Athen von drei beeindruckenden Bergen und dem Meer umgeben ist, wofür wir das hervorragende Klima und den blauen Himmel der Stadt zu verdanken haben. Du kannst einen Tag der Erkundung eines der drei Berge (Ymittos, Parnitha und Pendeli) widmen. Auf dem Berg Ymittos kannst du das Kessariani-Kloster besichtigen und in den umliegenden Wäldern wandern, um den Panoramablick über die Stadt zu genießen. Ein erfahrener Guide wird dich mit den hier wachsenden Pflanzen (mehr als 600 Arten) bekannt machen und du lernst die Geschichten dahinter kennen. Dazu gehören auch die Mythen, die über bestimmte Pflanzen erzählt wurden, um ihre Namen, Merkmale oder Eigenschaften zu erklären. 

Die urbanen Farmen und Weingüter rund um Athen

Die urbanen Farmen und Weingüter rund um Athen

Eine beliebte Wochenendaktivität der Athener ist der Besuch einer der urbanen Bauernhöfe rund um die Stadt. In Marathon ist das Kokotos Estate ein einzigartiges Weingut, das eine Weinprobe für die ganze Familie anbietet (keine Sorge, es ist eine Traubenverkostung für die Kinder!). In Rafina kannst du mit deinen Kindern den Magic Garden besuchen und mehr über die Gentle Carousel Miniature Therapy Horses erfahren. In Koropi kannst du in Gaidourohora einen Spaziergang mit (nicht auf) einem griechischen Esel machen. Im Center of the Earth kannst du an der Landwirtschaft und am Kochen teilnehmen. In Avlona kannst du in "Es war einmal" traditionelle Berufe kennenlernen. Und im Aristi Estate, Perivoli und Farma Moo kannst du Gemüse ernten (und pflanzen) und ein Farm-to-Table Mittagessen genießen, während die Kinder auf dem Spielplatz spielen und Tiere füttern.  

10 tolle Ausflüge mit Kindern in Athen

Mit so vielen kulturellen und naturverbundenen Highlights, die es zu genießen gilt, könnte ein Familienurlaub oder ein Städtetrip mit Kindern in Athen nicht unkomplizierter sein und mehr Spaß machen. Familienfreundliche Spaziergänge, faszinierende Museen, Abenteuer in olympischer Größe und eine nicht enden wollende Geschichte von Göttern, Mythen und lebendiger Geschichte erwarten dich und die Kinder, um Erinnerungen zu hinterlassen, die ein Leben lang andauern. Du wirst nie geglaubt haben, dass es so einfach ist, mit Kindern zu reisen. 

Entdecke die Magie von Athen  

MAMAKITA
MAMAKITA
Travel agency specialized in family travel

This article was contributed by family travel specialists Mamakita, who offer family-friendly tours and custom-made itineraries in Athens and around Greece.

Outdoor-Aktivitäten

Athens morning bike tour

Attiκa Athen
Ride with us and discover all the must-see locations and hidden gems of Athens! Get an overview of the city center and enjoy the city...
Von: 35 €
Accommodation

Evita Asty

Athen
Evita Athens Asty is a brand new 3-star hotel which is going to operate from April 2021. It is set in the heart of Athens,...

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Sunset in Serifos

Die 12 romantischsten Urlaubsziele in Griechenland

Leonidas Giannakopoulos - Eternal traveler, Metaxourgeio

Wo du die beste Street Art in Athen zu sehen bekommst

Mount Olympus summit. The "Throne of Zeus" 2.919m

12 Reiseziele, die die griechische Mythologie zum Leben erwecken

Nothing keeps a true traveller-at-heart from the pleasure of exploring

Die 6 besten Covid-freundlichen Spaziergänge in Athen

Athens has a fresh new look it can't wait to share with the world

11 möglichkeiten Athen wie ein einheimischer zu erleben

Caldera view in Santorini

12 fantastische Reiseziele in Griechenland, die du unbedingt sehen solltest

From the beautiful chapel of Agios Konstantinos nearby, you can look out beyond Livadi onto Cycladic islands… Sifnos, Milos and (on clear days) Tinos and Mykonos

Entdecke die 10 besten Aktivitäten auf Serifos

Sunset in Serifos

Die 12 romantischsten Urlaubsziele in Griechenland

Leonidas Giannakopoulos - Eternal traveler, Metaxourgeio

Wo du die beste Street Art in Athen zu sehen bekommst

Who hasn’t dreamed of visiting Santorini The iconic caldera and chic Cycladic aura are part of you even before you’ve arrived.

12 unvergessliche Erlebnisse auf Santorin

Mount Olympus summit. The "Throne of Zeus" 2.919m

12 Reiseziele, die die griechische Mythologie zum Leben erwecken

Nothing keeps a true traveller-at-heart from the pleasure of exploring

Die 6 besten Covid-freundlichen Spaziergänge in Athen

10

10 BEST THINGS TO DO IN ATHENS WITH KIDS

READING TIME
As long as it takes to drink a Greek coffee

If your kids are curious and active, love myths and stories, like the sea and mountains and are always asking questions about the world (its past, present and future), then Athens is the perfect choice for a family trip. They’ll be inspired as tales of ancient civilisations and mythology are brought to life, whether you explore on your own or choose a family-friendly tour. You’ll never tire of things to do in Athens with kids… ideal for a city break or longer family vacations, especially as so much of the fun happens outdoors.

Start with the Acropolis… with a twist

The Acropolis & Acropolis Museum

There can only be one place to begin your holiday in Athens with kids. The Acropolis isn’t just one of the greatest structures of antiquity, it’s also the scene of some of the most epic tales of Greek mythology. A kid-oriented tour guide will reveal the full mystery of the Parthenon and the Acropolis Museum right next door. (There are even ‘Acropolis Museum with a twist’ tours that allow the kids to meet the Karyatides and enjoy a role-playing game with Athena and Poseidon!) Or how about combining your Acropolis visit with a mythology & pottery tour, or maybe climbing Pnyx Hill where the kids can paint the Parthenon. In any case, don’t forget your hat, sunscreen and bottle of water! Your family vacations in Greece have just begun. 

Learn the secrets of the Acropolis 

Go on a treasure hunt around the Acropolis

Plaka & Anafiotika

Walking along the cobbled streets of Plaka, you explore one of the most ancient and continuously inhabited neighbourhoods of the western world. And Anafiotika, the tiny Cycladic district just above the Acropolis, is special enough… but it becomes an even more memorable family experience on a tour with a treasure hunt!

Anafiotika in Plaka by the Acropolis hill_Athens_sh_123954367

In winter, you’ll smell the roasted chestnuts and in spring and summer, the aromas of jasmine from the tiny yards will overwhelm your senses. See if you can trace the remnants of Athens’ past: the Roman Agora, the Old University, the Tower & the Bath House of the Winds, the Benizelos Mansion, the Monument of Lysicrates and all the lovely Byzantine churches. Don’t miss the two children’s museums, the Museum of Greek Children’s Art and the School life & Education Museum.

Get philosophical in the Ancient Agora

The Ancient Agora, Plato’s Academy & Aristotle’s Lyceum

Feel the heartbeat of Ancient Athens in the most renowned trade centre of the ancient world and discover where philosophy was born. Exploring the Ancient Agora, you walk (quite literally) in the footsteps of Socrates. And in Kerameikos, you will uncover where antiquity’s famous Attic Vases were produced and witness the most important burial ground of the city.

Column arcade of museum, Ancient Agora, Athens, Greece

Depending on your kids’ age and your fondness for Greek philosophy, try something a little different to enrich your knowledge of Classical Athens. Take a Greek philosophy tour to the Plato Academy and the Lyceum of Aristotle. It’s travel with kids, but not as you’ve experienced it before.

Be an Olympic athlete for the day

The Panathenaic Stadium

Your family trip to Athens has only just begun! It’s time to discover the green side of the city walking by the banks of the ancient Ilissos River, still flowing underground. Start from Zappeion Hall and the Panathenaic Stadium, where the Modern Olympics were revived in 1896. The horseshoe-shaped stadium was built on the site of an ancient racecourse and is the only stadium in the world made exclusively of marble (it is also known as Kallimarmarο – or beautiful marble). 

First Greek stadium in Athens

There are family-friendly tours that allow you to become an Olympic athlete for the day, where you will learn more about the venue and the Olympic flame that is passed to the Games’ host nation at a Handover Ceremony here as it begins the world’s longest relay-run. 

Go green in the parks of Athens

From the National Garden to Lycabettus Hill

Athens with kids isn’t just about archaeological sites and history. One of the most enjoyable family excursions will be taking a walk in the National Garden, an oasis of green in the heart of Athens with more than 500 species mature trees and plants. The 160-acre site is the vision of the nature-loving Queen Amalia, the first queen of Greece, in the 19th century. The sounds of birds – mainly peacocks, as you’ll soon realise – is refreshing all year round! Another green gem is the Diomides Botanical Garden, in the Haidari district in northwestern Athens, where you can enjoy a picnic in nature and meet Greek gods, Muses and mythological heroes as they appear in the names of herbs and flowers on a guided Mythology and Botany Tour.

National Garden of Athens

As the sun is about to set, head back into Athens and take the funicular up to the city’s heights point, Lycabettus Hill.

Fill your lungs with the green spaces of Athens

Seek out the museums kids love

Archaeological gems, natural history & toy museums

The centre of Athens hides a great collection of fascinating and child-friendly museums. On Vassilissis Sophias Avenue, an area full of creeks in the first years of the modern Greek state, you’ll find a collection of museums in the former houses of distinguished citizens… the Byzantine Museum, the Museum of Cycladic Art and the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture amongst them. And a few steps away, in Kolonaki, is the Museum of Ancient Greek Technology, ideal for technology buffs! The National Archaeological Museum is an absolute must if you want to get the full picture of Greek history. Away from the centre, you’ll find the Benaki Toy Museum at Flisvos Marina and, in the northern suburbs of Kifissia, kids of all ages will love the Natural History Museum. Not being allowed to touch the exhibits can be frustrating for younger kids. So how about a family-friendly tour guide to fill the gaps with storytelling and fun facts?

Discover the city’s newest cultural gem

The Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Centre

A new cultural gem of Athens that the whole family will love discovering is the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Centre (SNFCC), in Paleo Faliro. The grounds are perfect for a family walk (including an interactive Musical Garden) and you can admire the National Library and Opera House, that are part of the complex and modern archaeological masterpieces. You can enrich your experience on an organised tour with a SNFCC curator, who can show you parts of buildings that would otherwise be inaccessible. You’ll learn about the sustainability-focused concept and inspiration of world-famous architect Renzo Piano. 

Star-gaze in Athens’ digital Planetarium

The Eugenides Foundation Planetarium

The kids will also love Athens’ digital Planetarium, with its 25m-diameter dome screen that gives an area the size of two basketball courts and angled floor perfect for star-gazing. With state-of-the-art 3D animation graphics that stimulate everyone’s senses (from younger kids to grown-ups), it’s a perfect way to learn about the night sky and all those constellations and planets. You’ll love the science and technology perceived from an artistic point of view. 

Go on a hike on the mountains of Athens

Kessariani Monastery & forest on Mt Ymittos

Did you have Athens down as an ecotourism destination? Well, the truth is that Athens is surrounded by three impressive mountains and the sea, for which we have to thank the city’s great climate and blue skies. You can dedicate a day to exploring any of the three mountains (Ymittos, Parnitha and Pendeli). On Mt Ymittos, you can visit the Kessariani Monastery and hike in the surrounding forest, enjoying panoramic views of the city. An experienced guide will introduce you to the plants that grow here (more than 600 species) and you’ll get to know the stories behind them, including the myths that have been told about certain plants to explain their names, characteristics or properties. 

Enjoy ‘wine-tasting’ and a farm-to-table lunch

The urban farms and wineries around Athens

A favourite weekend activity of Athenians is to visit one of the urban farms around the city. In Marathon, the Kokotos Estate is a unique winery, offering wine tasting for all the family (don’t worry, it’s grape-tasting for the kids!). In Rafina, you and your kids can visit the Magic Garden and learn more about the Gentle Carousel Miniature Therapy Horses. In Koropi, you can go for a walk with (not on) a Greek donkey in Gaidourohora. In the Center of the Earth, you can participate in farming and cooking. In Avlona you can meet traditional professions in ‘Once upon a time’. And in the Aristi Estate, Perivoli and Farma Moo, you can dig (and plant) vegetables and enjoy a farm-to-table lunch while the kids play in the playground and feed the animals.  

10 Best things to do in Athens with kids

With so many cultural and natural highlights to enjoy, family vacations or a city break with kids in Athens couldn’t be easier or more fun. Family-friendly walks, fascinating museums, Olympian-sized adventures and a never-ending tale of gods, myths and living history await you and the kids as you create memories that last a lifetime. You’ll never have believed it’s so easy to travel with kids. 

Discover the magic of Athens 

MAMAKITA
MAMAKITA
Travel agency specialized in family travel

This article was contributed by family travel specialists Mamakita, who offer family-friendly tours and custom-made itineraries in Athens and around Greece.

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Hiking Balos trail

The 8 most popular outdoor adventures in Greece

Leonidas Giannakopoulos - Eternal traveler, Metaxourgeio

Where to find the best street art in Athens

Nothing keeps a true traveller-at-heart from the pleasure of exploring

6 Best Covid-friendly strolls in Athens

Mount Olympus summit. The "Throne of Zeus" 2.919m

12 destinations that gave life to Greek mythology

Athens has a fresh new look it can't wait to share with the world

11 ways Athens invites you to live it like a local

Oia in Santorini

Getting around Greece by ferry in the Covid-19 era

Hiking Balos trail

The 8 most popular outdoor adventures in Greece

Leonidas Giannakopoulos - Eternal traveler, Metaxourgeio

Where to find the best street art in Athens

From the beautiful chapel of Agios Konstantinos nearby, you can look out beyond Livadi onto Cycladic islands… Sifnos, Milos and (on clear days) Tinos and Mykonos

Discover the 10 best things to do in Serifos

Nothing keeps a true traveller-at-heart from the pleasure of exploring

6 Best Covid-friendly strolls in Athens