8

KALYMNOS EN 8 SOMMETS INOUBLIABLES ET PROFONDEURS CACHÉES

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour boire un café grec

Célèbre pour ses pêcheurs d'éponges et son paysage accidenté, Kalymnos est devenue une destination incontournable pour les grimpeurs. Mais ce n’est là qu’un début : cette île du Dodécanèse a bien plus à offrir. Des sites de plongée et des excursions en bateau jusqu’aux plages, dont la diversité n’a d’égale que celle des fruits de mer dans les tavernes, bienvenue sur une île à la beauté sauvage et inattendue.

De l’escalade avec une vue sur la mer Égée

En un rien de temps, Kalymnos est devenue l’une des destinations d’escalade les plus emblématiques au monde. Des centaines de voies avec des rochers, des grottes et des surplombs, s’associent à des vues imprenables sur l’Égée pour inciter les passionnés à revenir d’année en année. L’île peut d’ailleurs se vanter d’un atout particulier en Grèce : celui de voir sa saison touristique culminer en automne, au cours du festival d’escalade de Kalymnos. Grimper ne doit certainement pas être votre seule raison de vous rendre sur l’île mais, que ce soit votre première fois ou que vous soyez un champion du monde dans ce domaine, vous y adonner sur Kalymnos constituera assurément une expérience unique. 

 

Rock climbing in Kalymnos

Des plages pour tous les goûts

Après les falaises, un bain de soleil sur la plage… C’est assurément la façon dont devrait se terminer chaque escalade ! Mais vous pouvez aussi aller directement vous baigner. La plupart des plages organisées de Kalymnos sont concentrées sur la côte ouest. Vous y trouverez tout ce dont vous aurez besoin pour passer une journée complète au bord de la mer. Parmi les plus populaires, citons Massouri, Myrties et Panormos (où se trouve un bar-restaurant fantastique), mais aussi Kantouni et Linaria. Pour une ambiance plus exotique, il y a Platys Yialos, avec son sable noir volcanique. Enfin, si vous cherchez l’éloignement, rendez-vous à Palionisos, à l’est, ou à Ton Toicho, au nord.

Pothia, traditions médiévales et pêche à l’éponge

Dans les ruelles de la ville portuaire de Kalymnos, vous verrez des églises et des bâtiments néoclassiques (construits grâce aux richesses de la navigation), les armoiries des Templiers, un musée archéologique (avec des outils, des statues et des céramiques préhistoriques), ainsi que la Maison de Kalymnos (un excellent musée du folklore).

The town of Pothia is the capital and harbour of the island

Il y a de beaux endroits où prendre un café ou un mezzé. Dans le quartier de Vouvalio, vous pourrez tout apprendre sur les célèbres pêcheurs d’éponges, au Musée maritime. Près du chantier naval, se trouvent les ateliers dans lesquels sont traitées les précieuses éponges. Au-dessus de Pothia, se trouve le château de Chryssocheria (autre héritage médiéval), d’où la vue est fantastique.

Des saveurs en harmonie avec la nature

Sur Kalymnos, les fruits de mer sont les rois : poulpe, thon et espadon (grillé ou fumé et finement tranché), homard et bien d’autres encore. Essayez le spinialo, spécialité locale de fouskes (figues de mer) traditionnellement conservées dans une bouteille d’eau de mer par les pêcheurs d’éponges. De nos jours, les tavernes ajoutent en amuse-bouches des pétoncles, des moules, de la raie et des oursins. Dans les vallées fertiles, se trouvent des plantations d’agrumes ; des chèvres s’épanouissent dans les collines. Le miel parfumé est célèbre depuis l’Antiquité. Une autre tradition réside dans les krithira kouloura, biscottes d’orge qui se dégustent avec des fromages locaux – kopanisti épicé, myzithra crémeux ou kalathaki à la pâte semi-dure, qui évoque la feta. 

Vathy, un fjord grec

En vous dirigeant vers l’est, vous traverserez la vallée de Vathy, remplie d’orangers et de mandariniers, avant d’atteindre le petit port paisible de Rina. La baie y est si longue et étroite qu’elle ressemble à un fjord, avec des bateaux de pêche et d’excursion. La clarté de l’eau vous donnera envie d’y plonger directement depuis l’une des jetées. Il existe par ailleurs à Vathy de nombreuses activités que vous pourrez réserver (kayak de mer, excursion en bateau vers les plages voisines, pêche, escalade) – mais n’hésitez pas à vous rendre directement dans l’une des tavernes de poissons.

Vathy, a seaside village has a coastal view with two beaches

Exploration d’un monde sous-marin

Le paysage rocheux de Kalymnos se poursuit sous l’eau, ce qui en fait une destination de plongée idéale, étant donné la clarté de la mer. Le premier parc de plongée du pays a d’ailleurs été ouvert sur cette île. Vous y trouverez de nombreux sites où plonger, en particulier sur la côte sud. Éponges, anémones de mer, poulpes, étoiles de mer, daurades, rascasses… Gardez l’œil ouvert : vous verrez une abondante vie marine. En plus, vous pourrez entendre de nombreux récits de pêche à l’éponge, par des instructeurs certifiés. 

Une excursion en bateau jusqu’à Telendos, joliment préservée

Au large de la côte ouest, se trouve une petite île de forme conique : Telendos. À un peu plus de dix minutes en bateau depuis le port de Myrties, vous y serez instantanément transporté dans un monde sans routes, constitué de plages aussi tranquilles que le jour où elles ont été créées (Paradise et Choklakas sont les plus célèbres) et d’une taverne familiale approvisionnée chaque matin par une prise de fruits de mer frais… parfaite pour un ouzo glacé et un mezzé de fruits de mer. Si l’action vous tente, vous pourrez marcher jusqu’à une nécropole paléochrétienne. 

Une excursion en bateau jusqu’à Pserimos

De l’autre côté de Kalymnos, des bateaux partent pour une île minuscule, Pserimos, qui se trouve à mi-distance de Kos. Elle possède une petite ville du nom d’Avlakia, avec une poignée de tavernes et de magasins qui proposent des souvenirs et des produits locaux (tels que le miel et les câpres). Mais la plupart des gens s’y rendent pour se baigner et profiter des tavernes en bord de mer, qui servent des fruits de mer inoubliables. Les plongeurs expérimentés seront intéressés de savoir qu’il y a une épave à 25 m. de profondeur, au large de la côte est. 

The nearby island of Pserimos – will stay carved in your memory as you dive into its depths

 

Vivez l’expérience de Kalymnos

Grimper, plonger, déguster, explorer et passer du temps sur la plage: c’est ce qui vous attend sur Kalymnos, une île aux belles aventures et aux traditions riches.

Explorez les îles de l’Égée

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 raisons d’explorer Karpathos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 atouts d’Astypalée, votre meilleure découverte de l’été

Stroll along the maze of alleyways, through vaulted archways and past dazzlingly white and mostly immaculately maintained houses

9 façons de ressentir la spiritualité de Patmos

The harbour of Kastelorizo, a technicolour amphitheatre

8 trésors cachés du Dodécanèse

Vue du château de Lindos depuis la baie de Saint-Paul

Cochez toutes les 8 cases de la liste ultime des objectifs à realiser à Rhodes

plongée souterraine

Plongée: les destinations les plus populaires en Grèce

Nature… the true guardian of Mt Olympus

7 escapades magiques à seulement 60 min de Thessalonique

The peak of Mt Olympus

Les 8 expériences les plus mythiques à Mt Olympe

Myrtos beach, Kefalonia

Les 10 souvenirs inoubliables de Céphalonie que vous emporterez avec vous

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Découvrez des lieux d’escapade voisins de Santorin

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 raisons d’explorer Karpathos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 atouts d’Astypalée, votre meilleure découverte de l’été

8

8 UNFORGETTABLE HIGHS AND HIDDEN DEPTHS IN KALYMNOS

READING TIME
As long as it takes to drink a Greek coffee

Famous for its sponge divers and rugged landscape, Kalymnos has now become a landmark destination for rock climbers. But that’s just the start of what this Dodecanese island has to offer. From scuba diving sites and boat trips to beaches as varied as the selection of seafood in the tavernas, welcome to an island with a wild and unexpected beauty.

Rock climbing with an Aegean view

In next to no time, Kalymnos has become one of the most iconic rock climbing destinations in the world. Hundreds of climbing routes with crags, caves and overhangs combine with epic views of the Aegean to bring back enthusiasts year after year. In fact, Kalymnos can claim something special in Greece, as its tourism season peaks in autumn during the Kalymnos Climbing Festival. Climbing certainly doesn’t need to be your only reason to visit but, whether it’s your first time or you’re a world champion, in Kalymnos it’s an experience of a lifetime. 

 

Rock climbing in Kalymnos

Beaches for every mood

From the cliffs to sunbathing on the beach… surely how every climb should end! Or you could just head straight for a swim. Most of Kalymnos’ organised beaches are concentrated on the western coast, with everything you need to spend a whole day by the sea. Amongst the most popular are Massouri, Myrties and Panormos (where there’s an awesome sea bar/restaurant), as well as Kantouni and Linaria. For something more exotic, there’s the black volcanic sand of Platys Yialos. And if remote is what you’re looking for, there’s Palionisos to the east and Ton Toicho to the north. 

From medieval to sponge-diving traditions in Pothia

Within the alleyways of Kalymnos’ port-town, you’ll find churches and neoclassical buildings (built with the riches of shipping), the coats of arms of the Knights Templar, an Archaeological Museum (with prehistoric ceramics, tools and statues) and the House of Kalymnos (an excellent folk museum).

A local sponge diver in the making, at Pothia port

There are beautiful spots for coffee or a meze and, in the Vouvalio district, you can learn all about the famed sponge divers in the Maritime Museum. By the shipyard are workshops that processed the highly-prized sponges. And overlooking Pothia is the Castle of Chryssocheria (another medieval legacy), with an epic view.

Tastes that are at one with nature

Seafood is king on Kalymnos: octopus, tuna and swordfish (grilled or smoked and thinly sliced), lobster and so much more. Look out for spinialo, a local delicacy of fouskes (sea squirts) traditionally preserved in a bottle of seawater by sponge divers. Nowadays, scallops, mussels, devil fish and sea urchins are added as taverna appetizers. There are citrus groves in the fertile valleys and goats thrive in the hills. Aromatic honey has been famous here since antiquity and another tradition is Krithira Kouloura, a barley rusk enjoyed with local cheeses – spicy kopanisti, creamy myzithra or semi-hard kalathaki (a kind of feta).

Traditional food on Telendos

Vathy, a Greek island fjord!

Heading east, you pass through the Valley of Vathy, filled with orange and tangerine trees, until you reach the peaceful little port of Rina. The bay here is so long and narrow that it resembles a fjord, complete with fishing and excursion boats. The water is so clear, you’ll want to dive right in from one of the piers. There are also plenty of activities you can book in Vathy (sea kayaking, boat trips to nearby beaches, fishing and climbing). But don’t think twice about heading straight to one of the fish tavernas.

Vathy, a Greek island fjord

Exploring an underwater world

The rocky landscape continues underwater in Kalymnos which, given the clarity of the sea, also makes it a perfect diving destination. In fact, Greece’s first diving park was created here and you’ll find plenty of diving sites around the island, particularly on the south coast. Sponges, sea anemones, octopus, starfish, seabream, scorpionfish… keep your eyes open because you’ll be seeing plenty of sea life. And you’ll have the bonus of hearing lots of sponge diving tales from certified instructors. 

A boat trip to unspoiled Telendos

Just off the western coast is a little conical-shaped island, Telendos, little more than a 10-minute boat trip from the port of Myrties. You’ll instantly be transported to a world of no roads and beaches as peaceful as the day they were created (Paradise and Hoklakas are the most popular) and a family-owned taverna where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning… perfect for an ice-cold ouzo and seafood meze. There’s an early Christian necropolis you can hike to, if you’re feeling active.  

A boat trip to Telendos

 

A boat Trip to Pserimos

From the opposite side of Kalymnos, boats leave to another tiny island, Pserimos, which is halfway to Kos. It has a little town, called Avlakia, with a smattering of tavernas and shops selling souvenirs and local products (such as honey and capers). But most people come for the great swimming and beachfront tavernas, with plenty more unforgettable seafood. Experienced scuba divers will be interested in the 25m-deep wreck off the eastern shore.

The nearby island of Pserimos – will stay carved in your memory as you dive into its depths

 

Experience Kalymnos island

Climbing, diving, eating, exploring and plenty of beach-time await you in Kalymnos, on an island of big adventures and deep traditions.

Explore the Aegean islands

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done




Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
When in Telendos, you must visit the family-owned tavernas where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning

Greek Spirits Guide: Everything you need to know about ouzo

Oia in Santorini

Getting around Greece by ferry in the Covid-19 era

Hiking Balos trail

The 8 most popular outdoor adventures in Greece

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 reasons to make you want to explore Karpathos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 reasons why Astypalea will be your favourite summer hangout

Profitis Ilias

9 ways to feel the spirituality of Patmos

Plaka district in Athens

Top activities in Athens right now

Acrocorinth (Upper Corinth)

Discover the top 10 cultural sites in the Peloponnese

Take a tour of the Acropolis Museum

20 of the best museums in Athens

Museum of Greek Culture Shop

17 Greek designers for the most chic shopping in Athens

The Changing of the Presidential Guard by the Evzones (special guards) protecting the Tomb on the Unknown Solider

12 historical buildings in Athens for architecture lovers

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

11 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens