8

8 НЕЗАБЫВАЕМЫХ МОМЕНТОВ С ОСТРОВА КАЛИМНОС

READING TIME
За чашечкой греческого кофе

Калимнос, получивший изначально широкую известность, благодаря добыче морских губок, сегодня является любимым местом не только для дайверов, но и для скалолазов. Но это далеко не всё, чем примечателен этот остров Додеканесса. Подводное плавание с аквалангом, морские поездки, великолепные пляжи,  отменные морские блюда в тавернах и необычайная красота природы делают Калимнос сверхпритягательным местом.

Скалолазание на фоне Эгейского моря

Калимнос стал одним из самых культовых мест для скалолазания во всём мире. Сотни альпинистких троп проходят по всему острову – через расщелины, пещеры и отвесные скалы на фоне Эгейского моря. Остров ежегодно привлекает огромное количество любителей альпинизма. В этом плане Калимнос не похож на другие греческие острова, так как пик туристического сезона приходится здесь на осень, когда на острове проходит Фестиваль скалолазания. Разумеется, альпинизм – не единственная причина, по которой стоит приехать на Калимнос. Однако горные приключения, пережитые на острове, останутся незабываемыми как для новичков, так и для мировых чемпионов по альпинизму.

 

Rock climbing in Kalymnos

Пляжи на любой вкус!

А теперь перейдём от скал к морю! А, может быть, именно прыжком в море стоит заканчивать каждый горный поход? Как бы то ни было, на Калимносе найдётся пляж на любой вкус. Организованные пляжи больше сконцентрированы на западном побережье. Здесь Вы найдёте все удобства, чтобы провести целый день у моря.  Самыми популярными являются Массури, Миртьес и Панормос (с замечательным баром-рестораном), а также пляжи Кантуни и Линарья. Если Вам захочется чего-то более экзотического, выберите Платис Ялос с чёрным вулканическим песком. А для большего уединения рекомендуем пляж Палионис на востоке и Тон Тоихо на севере. 

Пофия: от Средневековья до добычи морских губок

Пофия является главным портом острова. Город украшают неоклассические здания, построенные богатыми судовладельцами, церкви, рыцарские эмблемы, Археологический музей (с экспонатами и инструментами доисторической эпохи), а также Калимнийский дом – этнографический музей острова. 

A local sponge diver in the making, at Pothia port

В районе Вувалио Вы найдёте множество живописных уголков, где можно выпить кофе или перекусить. А в Морском музее сможете узнать о знаменитых ныряльщиках за губками. В районе около верфи расположены как раз те мастерские, которые занимаются обработкой морских губок. А над городом возвышается крепость Хрисохерия – ещё один памятник Средневековья, сохранившийся на острове. Здесь Вас ждёт завораживающий вид!

Tastes that are at one with nature

Seafood is king on Kalymnos: octopus, tuna and swordfish (grilled or smoked and thinly sliced), lobster and so much more. Look out for spinialo, a local delicacy of fouskes (sea squirts) traditionally preserved in a bottle of seawater by sponge divers. Nowadays, scallops, mussels, devil fish and sea urchins are added as taverna appetizers. There are citrus groves in the fertile valleys and goats thrive in the hills. Aromatic honey has been famous here since antiquity and another tradition is Krithira Kouloura, a barley rusk enjoyed with local cheeses – spicy kopanisti, creamy myzithra or semi-hard kalathaki (a kind of feta).

Traditional food on Telendos

Вафи – греческий фьорд!

Продвигаясь к восточной части острова, Вы проедете по долине Вафи, покрытой цитрусовыми деревьями. После чего Вы окажетесь перед маленькой, умиротворённой бухточкой Рина, по своей форме и ландшафту очень похожей на фьорд. Здесь останавливается много рыбацких лодок и экскурсионных катеров. Вода настолько прозрачна, что хочется нырнуть прямо с причала. В Вафи можно также предлагаются разные активные развлечения: каяк, лодочные поездки до соседних пляжей, рыбалка и скалолазание. И, конечно же, не премините зайти в одну из здешних морских таверн. 

Vathy, a seaside village has a coastal view with two beaches

Знакомясь с подводными миром

Скалистый пейзаж острова продолжается и под водой. Благодаря прозрачности своих вод, Калимнос является излюбленым местом дайверов. Кстати, первый в Греции парк для подводного плавания был открыт именно здесь. Вы с лёгкостью найдёте множество интересных мест для погружения, особенно со стороны южного побережья. Губки, морские анемоны, осьминоги, морские звёздочки, морские окуни и ерши – морская фауна острова поразит Вас своим разнообразием!  А местные инструкторы по дайвингу смогут поведать Вам множество увлекательных историй о добыче губок.

Телендос – островок нетронутой природной красоты

Совсем недалеко от западного побережья находится маленький островок в форме конуса под названием Телендос. Чтобы добраться сюда, понадобится не более 10 минут на лодке от порта Миртьес. На островке нет дорог, а пляжи настолько дышат умиротворением, словно сюда никогда не ступала нога человека. Самые известные из них это пляжи Парадиз и Хоклакас. Вы также увидите небольшую семейную таверну, которая ежедневно готовит свой утренний улов. Это идеальное место, чтобы выпить рюмочку прохладного узо под закусочку из свежих морепродуктов. Если Вам по душе более активный отдых, можно прогуляться пешком до раннехристианского кладбища, сохранившегося на островке.

Морская экскурсия к острову Псеримос

С другой стороны Калимноса отправляются кораблики до крошечного островка Псеримос, расположенного на половине пути до Коса. На островке есть только маленький посёлок  под названием Авлакия. Здесь Вы найдёте таверны и магазинчики, продающие местные продукты (мёд, каперсы) и сувениры. Большинство отдыхающих приезжает сюда, чтобы поплавать и отужинать в рыбной таверне на берегу моря. Опытных дайверов, несомненно, привлечёт 25-метровая морская расщелина на восточном побережье острова.

The nearby island of Pserimos – will stay carved in your memory as you dive into its depths

 

Откройте для себя остров Калимнос!

Скалолазание, подводное плавание, великолепная кухня и множество прекрасных пляжей – всё это ждёт Вас на острове Калимнос, где захватывающие приключения и глубокие традиции идеально сочетаются друг с другом.

Откройте для себя острова Эгейского моря!

Done
Done




Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
When in Telendos, you must visit the family-owned tavernas where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning

Путеводитель по спиртным напиткам Греции: всё, что необходимо знать об узо

Hiking Balos trail

8 интересных вариантов активного отдыха в Греции

Oia in Santorini

Вокруг Греции на пароме в эпоху короновируса

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 причин, чтобы приехать на остров Карпатос

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 причин, чтобы Астипалея стала Вашим любимым летним островом

Stroll along the maze of alleyways, through vaulted archways and past dazzlingly white and mostly immaculately maintained houses

9 идей, чтобы погрузиться в духовную атмосферу Патмоса

Noctua beer

Справочник о лучших сортах греческого пива, которое придаст свежести Вашему отпуску

Must-try local products of Syros

Путеводитель по спиртным напиткам Греции: всё, что необходимо знать о ципуро

When in Telendos, you must visit the family-owned tavernas where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning

Путеводитель по спиртным напиткам Греции: всё, что необходимо знать об узо

Смола на мастичных деревьях, Хиос

Путеводитель по спиртным напиткам Греции: всё, что необходимо знать о мастичном ликёре

Take a long afternoon stroll in Hora

10 лучших идей для отпуска на острове Кифнос

If you are interested in exploring the other grape varieties, there are wineries around Lixouri

Гастрономический путеводитель по Кефалонии

8

8 UNFORGETTABLE HIGHS AND HIDDEN DEPTHS IN KALYMNOS

READING TIME
As long as it takes to drink a Greek coffee

Famous for its sponge divers and rugged landscape, Kalymnos has now become a landmark destination for rock climbers. But that’s just the start of what this Dodecanese island has to offer. From scuba diving sites and boat trips to beaches as varied as the selection of seafood in the tavernas, welcome to an island with a wild and unexpected beauty.

Rock climbing with an Aegean view

In next to no time, Kalymnos has become one of the most iconic rock climbing destinations in the world. Hundreds of climbing routes with crags, caves and overhangs combine with epic views of the Aegean to bring back enthusiasts year after year. In fact, Kalymnos can claim something special in Greece, as its tourism season peaks in autumn during the Kalymnos Climbing Festival. Climbing certainly doesn’t need to be your only reason to visit but, whether it’s your first time or you’re a world champion, in Kalymnos it’s an experience of a lifetime. 

 

Rock climbing in Kalymnos

Beaches for every mood

From the cliffs to sunbathing on the beach… surely how every climb should end! Or you could just head straight for a swim. Most of Kalymnos’ organised beaches are concentrated on the western coast, with everything you need to spend a whole day by the sea. Amongst the most popular are Massouri, Myrties and Panormos (where there’s an awesome sea bar/restaurant), as well as Kantouni and Linaria. For something more exotic, there’s the black volcanic sand of Platys Yialos. And if remote is what you’re looking for, there’s Palionisos to the east and Ton Toicho to the north. 

From medieval to sponge-diving traditions in Pothia

Within the alleyways of Kalymnos’ port-town, you’ll find churches and neoclassical buildings (built with the riches of shipping), the coats of arms of the Knights Templar, an Archaeological Museum (with prehistoric ceramics, tools and statues) and the House of Kalymnos (an excellent folk museum).

The town of Pothia is the capital and harbour of the island

There are beautiful spots for coffee or a meze and, in the Vouvalio district, you can learn all about the famed sponge divers in the Maritime Museum. By the shipyard are workshops that processed the highly-prized sponges. And overlooking Pothia is the Castle of Chryssocheria (another medieval legacy), with an epic view.

Tastes that are at one with nature

Seafood is king on Kalymnos: octopus, tuna and swordfish (grilled or smoked and thinly sliced), lobster and so much more. Look out for spinialo, a local delicacy of fouskes (sea squirts) traditionally preserved in a bottle of seawater by sponge divers. Nowadays, scallops, mussels, devil fish and sea urchins are added as taverna appetizers. There are citrus groves in the fertile valleys and goats thrive in the hills. Aromatic honey has been famous here since antiquity and another tradition is Krithira Kouloura, a barley rusk enjoyed with local cheeses – spicy kopanisti, creamy myzithra or semi-hard kalathaki (a kind of feta).

Vathy, a Greek island fjord!

Heading east, you pass through the Valley of Vathy, filled with orange and tangerine trees, until you reach the peaceful little port of Rina. The bay here is so long and narrow that it resembles a fjord, complete with fishing and excursion boats. The water is so clear, you’ll want to dive right in from one of the piers. There are also plenty of activities you can book in Vathy (sea kayaking, boat trips to nearby beaches, fishing and climbing). But don’t think twice about heading straight to one of the fish tavernas.

Vathy, a seaside village has a coastal view with two beaches

Exploring an underwater world

The rocky landscape continues underwater in Kalymnos which, given the clarity of the sea, also makes it a perfect diving destination. In fact, Greece’s first diving park was created here and you’ll find plenty of diving sites around the island, particularly on the south coast. Sponges, sea anemones, octopus, starfish, seabream, scorpionfish… keep your eyes open because you’ll be seeing plenty of sea life. And you’ll have the bonus of hearing lots of sponge diving tales from certified instructors. 

A boat trip to unspoiled Telendos

Just off the western coast is a little conical-shaped island, Telendos, little more than a 10-minute boat trip from the port of Myrties. You’ll instantly be transported to a world of no roads and beaches as peaceful as the day they were created (Paradise and Hoklakas are the most popular) and a family-owned taverna where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning… perfect for an ice-cold ouzo and seafood meze. There’s an early Christian necropolis you can hike to, if you’re feeling active.  

A boat Trip to Pserimos

From the opposite side of Kalymnos, boats leave to another tiny island, Pserimos, which is halfway to Kos. It has a little town, called Avlakia, with a smattering of tavernas and shops selling souvenirs and local products (such as honey and capers). But most people come for the great swimming and beachfront tavernas, with plenty more unforgettable seafood. Experienced scuba divers will be interested in the 25m-deep wreck off the eastern shore.

The nearby island of Pserimos – will stay carved in your memory as you dive into its depths

 

Experience Kalymnos island

Climbing, diving, eating, exploring and plenty of beach-time await you in Kalymnos, on an island of big adventures and deep traditions.

Explore the Aegean islands

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 reasons to make you want to explore Karpathos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 reasons why Astypalea will be your favourite summer hangout

Stroll along the maze of alleyways, through vaulted archways and past dazzlingly white and mostly immaculately maintained houses

9 ways to feel the spirituality of Patmos

The harbour of Kastelorizo, a technicolour amphitheatre

8 hidden gems of the Dodecanese islands

Scuba cave diving

5 popular scuba diving destinations in Greece

Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

12 Popular sailing destinations in the Aegean

Mount Olympus summit. The "Throne of Zeus" 2.919m

12 destinations that gave life to Greek mythology

Psarou beach on Mykonos

12 iconic beaches to love on Mykonos

Famous for its celebrity beaches, Mykonos has another side when it comes to beach life that it keeps away from the spotlight.

12 relaxing beaches chosen by locals on Mykonos

Nature… the true guardian of Mt Olympus

7 magical getaways just 60mins from Thessaloniki

The peak of Mt Olympus

8 mythical experiences on Mt Olympus

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini