Walking around Hora, you’ll discover a labyrinth of whitewashed alleyways and photogenic windmills
EXPERIENCE

Знакомство с городком Хора на острове Иос обещает запомниться навсегда!

Пешая прогулка по главному городку острова, известного своей любовью к развлечениям, поможет Вам узнать и вторую, более спокойную сторону жизни этого места. Впечатления останутся незабываемыми!
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
продолжительность
один день
По сезону
мая - октябрь

OVERVIEW

Остров Иос можно легко сравнить с экстровертом, который в тайне от всех питает огромную любовь к уединению. С одной стороны, он неимоверно ивестен своей активной и насыщенной ночной жизнью, а с другой стороны, сохраняет свой особенный характер с уголками живописной красоты, особым шармом и историческими достопримечательностями.

Главный городок острова  - Хора идеально подходит для пешей прогулки. Её лабиринт беловыкрашенных улочек и живописные ветряные мельницы стали символом кикладических островов. Запах свежеиспечённого хлеба наполняет улочки города с раннего утра, а вчером Вас ждут уютные бары со свежими коктейлями под лучи уодящего солнца.

На острове находится 365 церквей (согласно местным жителям ) – по одной на каждый день. Вот ещё один контраст, подтверждающие гармоничное сосуществование двух совершенно разных сторон острова.

Подробнее Read Less

DON'T MISS

Прогулка по улочкам Хоры

Прогулка по улочкам Хоры окунёт Вас в особую атмосферу Киклад – беленькие домики на фоне голубого моря. Волшебное место для лучших снимков в Инстаграмме! Множество церквушек и 12 ветряных мельниц – выберите, какие привлекут Ваше внимание?! На завтрак рекомендуем сходить в одну из местных кофейн, а на обед и ужин есть широкий выбор ресторанов, готовящих местную, островную кухню. Особенно стоит выделить сыры острова, такие как мягкий белый сыр Мизитра, жёлтый пикантный сыр Кефалотири и мягкий сыр Ксино с его особой горчинкой. остров также известен совим мёдом. Ну а фирменным блюдом местной кухни по праву считатется «циметия», приготовленная из цветов кабачка, фаршированных рисом. 

Церковь Богоматери Гремниотисы

Это прелестная церкушка находится в самой высокой точке Хоры. Отсюда открывается, пожалуй, самый красивый вид во всём городе, особенно на закате. Церковь посвящена Богоматери, которая с высокой скалы (отсюда и наименование «гремниотисса») видит и защищает весь остров. Благоларя своему характерному голубому куполу и высокой колокольне, церковь легко можно увидеть и различить из любой точки города.

Археологический музей

Посещение Археологического музея Иоса является самым лучшим способом познакомиться с длинной историей острова. Музей расположен в величественном неоклассическом здании, в котром также находится городская ратуша. Здесь хранятся артефакты с первой кикладической эпохи, эллинистические и римские скульптуры, а также предметы со среднего и позднего Бронзового века.

Театр Одиссея Элитиса

Перед окончанием экскурсии пройдитесь к театру, носящему имя самого известного греческого поэта современности, обладателя Нобелевской премии по литературе – Одисссея Элитиса. Театр расположен позади ветряных мельниц, возвышающимися над Хорой. Построен он  в стиле классического амфитетеатра и может вмещать до 1100 зрителей. На его сцене регулярно проводятся концерты, ставятся пьесы и другие культурные мероприятия. Наиболее ярким событием для театра является ежегодный фестивил «Гомерия». Представления в театре приобретают особый шарм, благодаря захватывающему виду на море, который открывается с этого места.

Подробнее Read Less

От Милопотаса

От Манганари

  • На машине или на такси: 26 км (45 минут)

От Псафи

  • На машине или на такси: 17 км (30 минут)
  • Остров Иос интересен в любое время года, но большинство магазинов, ресторанов и культурных памятников открыты в период с мая по октябрь..
  • Наиболее благоприятным временем для поездки на остров являются периоды с мая по июнь и  с сентября по октябрь, когда острова более спокоен и раскроет перед Вами всё своё очарование.
  • Археологический музей 
    • Открыт со среды до понедельника с 8:30 до 16:00 (кроме вторника)
    • Стоимость билета: 4 € (льготная цена – 2 €)
    • Музей не оснащён для посетителей с инвалидностью.
  • Осень
  • Весна
  • Летом
  • Зима
  • Время пешей экскурсия зависит только от Вашего желания. Но чтобы обойти достопримечательности, упомянутые в списке, понадобится целый день.
  • Хора является центром острова Иос. Поэтомоу воспольуйтесь каждой минутой Вашего пребывания здесь чтобы разведать все уголки и красоты города.

РЕКОМЕНДАЦИИ ОТДЫХАЮЩИМ

Помогите нам сохранить волшебную красоту греческих деревушек, провинций и городов, чтобы передать это живое наследие будущим поколениям.

Поддерживайте чистоту на улицах. Используйте установленные мусорные урны. В случае их отсутствия носите мусор с собой до ближайшего мусорного бака.
Пользуйтесь многоразовыми ёмкостями для воды, чтобы уменьшить использование пластиковых бутылок.
Берегите культурные памятники и монументы. Не используйте вспышку на фотоаппарате, если висят таблички с соответствующим ограничением. Данная мера направлена на сохранение монумента.
Поддерживайте местный рынок, покупая продукты и сувениры в небольших магазинах и семейных лавках. Это также прекрасная возможность найти интересные предметы ручной работы.
Берегите флору и фауну.
Не бойтесь обращаться за советом или с просьбой о помощи к местным жителям.
Относитесь уважительно к другим отдыхающим и к местным жителям.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
High on the hill above Hora, The Monastery of St John the Theologian

Окунитесь в мистическую атмосферу столицы острова Патмос!

Hora is the capital and harbour of Antiparos island

Тихий и причудливый городок Хора на острове Антипарос

A walking tour through the Hora of Mykonos

Пеший тур по столице острова Миконос

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

Прогуливаясь по столице острова Скирос

From the beautiful chapel of Agios Konstantinos nearby, you can look out beyond Livadi onto a who’s who of Cycladic islands

Кикладическая красота и шарм острова Серифос

You’ll feel it all the way from the lofty fortifications-Palamidi Castle is an experience in itself

Пешая экскурсия по романтическому Нафплио

Walking around Hora, you’ll discover a labyrinth of whitewashed alleyways and photogenic windmills
EXPERIENCE

Getting up close and personal with the Hora of Ios

Setting out on foot, you’ll discover that the main town of an island renowned for its love of fun and going out has an unexpectedly quiet side that you’ll adore getting to know.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Full day
Season
May - October

OVERVIEW

Like an extrovert with a secret love of the quiet life, Ios has done a great job of convincing the world that it’s all liveliness and nightlife. The reality is that just a little exploring of its main town reveals a tender side to its personality, with corners of beauty and charm and enduring historical interest. 

Walking around Hora (as the town is called), you’ll discover a labyrinth of whitewashed alleyways and photogenic windmills, for which the Cyclades islands are famed. And you’ll find yourself just as drawn by the smell of freshly baked bread wafting from bakeries as you will by the cosy bars serving sunset cocktails.

This, after all is the island of 365 churches (or so they say) – one for every day of the year. When you put it like that, you realise how Ios’ two sides have coexisted so effortlessly for so long. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The alleyways of Hora

As you head into the alleyways of Hora, you’ll be swept into a classic Cycladic aura of whitewashed Instagrammability. Look out for the many churches and the 12 windmills on the hill above town. For breakfast, try a local coffee house and, for lunch or dinner, there are plenty of places serving dishes made with local products. The cheeses are especially good (soft white Myzithra, yellow spicy Kefalotiri and creamy and bitter Ksino), as is the local honey. Another speciality (particularly in springtime) is tsimetia, made with courgette flowers stuffed with rice. 

The Church of Panagia Gremniotisas 

This cute-as-can-be church found at the highest point of Hora offers perhaps the best view, especially at sunset. Its name means Virgin Mary of the Steep Cliff (no prizes for guessing why) and it is known as the protector of the island. With a characteristic blue dome and tall bell tower, it is also distinguished by the palm tree next to it and can be seen from every part of Hora.

The Archaeological Museum 

Visiting the archaeological museum is the best way to appreciate Ios’ long history, which could otherwise be overlooked. Within a neoclassical mansion (which it shares with the Town Hall), it houses artefacts from Ios’ first Cycladic period, Hellenistic and Roman sculptures, as well as Middle and Late Bronze Age relics.

Odysseus Elytis Theatre 

Finally, head up to the theatre named after Greece’s most famous modern-day poet, the Nobel Prize-winning Odysseus Elytis. Located behind the windmills above Hora, it has been built in the classical amphitheatre style, seating 1,100 people. Concerts, plays and other cultural events are staged here (the biggest is the annual Homeria festival), made all the more special by the incredible sea view.

Read More Read Less

From Mylopotas 

  • By car or taxi: 2km (5min)
  • By bus: Every 15-20min from Mylopotas to Hora during summer. More info

From Manganari

  • By car or taxi: 26km (45min)

From Psathi

  • By car or taxi: 17km (30min)
  • Ios is an island that can be visited at any time of year, but you will find most of the shops, restaurants and cultural sites open between May-October.
  • The ideal months to visit are May-June and September-October, when the island is at its most charming and quiet.
  • Archaeological Museum 
    • Open Wednesday-Monday 8:30-16:00 (closed Tuesday)
    • Entry: €4 ticket (€2 reduced)
    • Not suitable for visitors with disabilities
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • The length of your walk is up to you, but the attractions outlined here can easily be done in one day.  
  • Hora is the heart of Ios, so there’s nothing to stop you exploring it throughout your stay, until you know every corner.

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·
DESTINATION

Ios

The socialite with the secret love of the quiet life
Discover It
Hora of Ios island

See also

You might be interested in
The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

A walking tour of Skyros’ main town

A walking tour through the Hora of Mykonos

A walking tour through the Hora of Mykonos

You’ll feel it all the way from the lofty fortifications-Palamidi Castle is an experience in itself

A walking tour of Nafplio’s romantic Old Town

Many of the tightly packed houses are beautifully maintained with colourful balconies, doors and window frames

A walking tour of Folegandros’ simple yet sophisticated main town