Ios

Unendliche parties inmitten der ägäis
Hora of Ios island
Heute
24°
MON
24°
TUE
24°
WED
25°
THU
26°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
In den Kykladen liegt eine griechische Insel mit zwei Gesichtern, Ausschweifendes Partyleben bei Nacht und ruhige Idylle bei Tag. Welches bevorzugen Sie?

Egal was Sie über die Insel gehört haben, sie ist noch schöner: Ios lädt Sie dazu ein, an den wildesten Sommer-Partys teilzunehmen, sich an den Stränden zu sonnen und durch die kopfsteingepflasterten Straßen dieser Stadt der Kykladen zu spazieren. Die Musik wird aufgedreht, internationale Nachtschwärmer feiern laut und ausgelassen, tanzen non-stop, trinken Cocktails und Shots, bis die Sonne aufgeht.

Und dann gibt es noch die andere Seite der Hora: Neben den Bars und Nachtclubs gibt es traditionelle Kykladen-Häuser, Arkaden, Cafés, spielende Kinder auf den Plätzen, stilvolle Boutiquen, Restaurants mit internationaler Küche und die Kirche Panagia Gremiotissa, die über allem wacht. Hier warten der Spaß und das Partyleben, von dem Sie den ganzen Winter geträumt haben. Aber Ios bietet Ihnen noch mehr, etwas Tieferes: eine besondere Art von Schönheit, die Sie in den frühen Morgenstunden entdecken werden.

 

Besichtigen auf Ios

Die nie endende Party der Kykladen

Ios wird wie das Apple Betriebssystem geschrieben: iOS! Und es ist genauso besonders, aber viel unterhaltsamer. Auf Ios kennt der Spaß keine Grenzen. Ios ist bekannt für endloses Vergnügen unter der Sonne und seine wilden Sommerfeste.in diesem Partyurlaub sind die Party-Gäste jung, cool und kommen aus allen Teilen der Welt – Australien, Italien, Österreich, Amerika, England, Irland, Schweden. Sich erholen und frei unter der Sonne bewegen. Ios sorgt für einen unbeschwerten, zeitlosen Sommer in der Ägäis.

Milopotas, der leuchtende Stern der Insel

Hier beginnt der Spaß schon früh: Schwimmen Sie in der beeindruckenden Bucht von Milopotas. Smaragdgrünes Wasser, Strandbars, feiner Sand, Wassersportangebote, Cafés... die Party kann beginnen!

Eine andere Seite der Hora

Auf dem Weg zur Kirche Panagia Gremiotissa, am Rande der venezianischen Burg, können Sie die Hora aus einer anderen Perspektive sehen. Würfelförmige Häuser bilden ein Amphitheater, diese Stadt ist auf einer antiken Siedlung gebaut. Verlieren Sie sich in ihrem Labyrinth: das  weiße Kopfsteinpflaster, Blumen auf Terrassen, Düfte aus der Bäckerei, Frauen, die miteinander tratschen, während sie stricken. Willkommen auf der Insel des Lichts.

Das andere Gesicht von Ios

Der Morgen nach der Party: Jetzt erwartet Sie ein ganz anderes Gesicht von Ios: Bei der atemberaubenden Aussicht von Homers Grab, bei den alten Ruinen eines hellenistischen Turmes. Auf dem Kopfsteinpflaster der Straßen, die zum Palaiokastro (der alten Burg) führen. Beim Spazierengehen entlang der Klippen, 300 Meter über dem Meer und in Panagia Zinn Palaiokastritissa, der Burg aus dem 16. Jahrhundert.

Begeben Sie sich in die Bronzezeit auf Skarkos

Folgen Sie dem Pfad der spiralförmigen Steinmauern um den Hügel auf Skarko. Die Einheimischen nennen ihn Karavola, also Schnecken. Hier, nur ein paar Minuten außerhalb der Hora, wurde eine sehr bedeutende Siedlung aus der proto-kykladischen Zeit ausgegraben. Es werden Wandern Sie rund um die archäologische Stätte und sehen Sie sich die Entdeckungen aus nächster Nähe im archäologischen Museum an.

Geheime Juwelen Von Ios

Aghia Theodoti

Am nordöstlichen Ende von Ios können Sie  die älteste orthodoxe Kirche der Insel besichtigen, die im 16. Jahrhundert über den Ruinen des Tempels von Apollo erbaut wurde.

Odysseas Elytis Theatre

Das markante Theater mit 1.100 Sitzplätzen in der Hora ist genau nach dem antiken Prototyp gebaut und nach dem griechischen Dichter und Nobelpreisträger Elytis benannt. Besichtigen Sie es.

Fragoklissias

In der Nähe der Schule in der Hora können Sie die einzige katholische Kirche aus dem 14. Jahrhundert besichtigen.

Weiterlesen Read Less

Erleben Sie das Beste von Ios

Walking around Hora, you’ll discover a labyrinth of whitewashed alleyways and photogenic windmills

Erkunden Sie die Hora von Ios zu Fuß

Done
Done
IOSPALACE-photo-0 Angebot
Accommodation

Ios Palace Hotel

Ios

Ios Palace Hotel & Spa is the epitome of Cycladic beauty condensed in a bright white microcosm at the edge of Mylopotas bay in Ios...

Official online rates

RELUX-photo-0 Angebot
Accommodation

Relux Ios Design Hotel

Ios

Relux Ios Design Hotel opened its doors as of the summer of 2015 to welcome its esteemed guests to a romantic oasis where discrete elegance...

Official online rates

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Lernen Sie die kykladischen Zufluchtsorte in der Nähe von Santorin

Bei einem Besuch von Santorin könnte man leicht davon überzeugt sein, die kykladische Vollkommenheit gefunden zu haben.
Aerial photo of competition sport paddle surfing or sup between 2 men in tropical waters of Vouliagmeni beach, Athens riviera, Attica, Greece

Surfing, Wasseski und Wakeboarding in Griechenland

Vom Frühling bis spät in den Herbst hinein ist Griechenland das Reiseziel für Surfer und Kiter
Gruppe von Freunden am Strand

Urlaub für jugendliche in Griechenland

Wunderschöne griechische Inseln, exotische Strände, Sonne und Meer, Roadtrips, Abenteuer in den Bergen und Nonstop-Nachtleben

Nearby destinations

You might also be interested in exploring

Ios

The socialite with the secret love of the quiet life
Hora of Ios island
Scroll
Today
12°
SAT
12°
SUN
13°
MON
15°
TUE
14°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
In the Cyclades, you’ll find a Greek island with two sides: Choose the bacchanalia of Ios nightlife, or the more tranquil charms of daytime

This island’s reputation precedes it: Ios invites you to the wildest summer party, on the beaches and in the cobblestone streets of Hora. The music is turned up full-blast, revelers from across the world are loud and boisterous, dancing non-stop, knocking back cocktails and shots… all making up one big party until the sun comes up. And what about the other face of Hora?

Beyond the bars and the nightclubs, you will find traditional Cycladic homes, arcades, cafes, children playing in the town squares, stairways coated with whitewash, stylish boutiques, restaurants offering international cuisine, while Panagia Gremiotissa Church watches over it all. Ios is the fun and lively holiday scene that you were dreaming of all winter. But this Greek island also provides something more, something deeper: a special kind of Aegean beauty that awaits you at the break of dawn.

What to do on Ios

A never-ending party in the Cyclades

The island’s name is spelt just like Apple’s operating system and  it is just as special, but much more entertaining. Ios is renowned for its spirit of unlimited fun under the sun  and its wild summer parties. The party guests are young and cool and come from all over the world – Australia, Italy, Austria, America, England, Ireland, Sweden... An ‘anything-goes philosophy’, the freedom to frolic  in the sun, makes for carefree, timeless summers in the Aegean.

Milopotas, the island’s shining star

Here the revelry begins early: take a dip in Milopotas, with its impressive cove. A beach with emerald-coloured water, beach bars, fine sand, water sports, cafes... this is where the party begins! Are you ready?

Another side to Hora

Make your way to Panagia Gremiotissa Church, next to the Venetian castle, to see Hora from another perspective. Cube-shaped homes form an amphitheatre and churches emerge from the slopes in this town is built upon the site of an ancient city. Get lost in its labyrinth: Cycladic whitewashed cobblestone streets, flower-filled patios, aromas emanating from the bakery while you play hide-and-seek in the arcades… women gossiping on their stoops while they knit. Now you’re experiencing authentic Ios.

The other face of Ios

The morning after the party, you will encounter the other face of Ios. Where? In the breathtaking view from Homer’s grave, in the ancient ruins of a Hellenistic tower. On the cobblestone streets that lead to the Palaiokastro (the Old Castle), walking along the edge of the cliff, 300 meters above the sea. In Panagia tin Palaiokastritissa, at the 16th century castle, admiring the open Aegean Sea through its beautiful dome.

Enter the Bronze Age at Skarkos!

Follow the path: the stone walls spiralling around the hill form Skarko. The locals call it karavola, meaning snails. Here, only a few minutes outside Hora, a very important settlement from the Proto-Cycladic period was excavated. Wander around the organised archaeological site and see the discoveries first-hand in the archaeological museum.

Hidden gems of Ios

Aghia Theodoti

At the northeast end of Ios, you will find the island’s oldest Orthodox church, built in the 16th century, above the ruins of the Temple of Apollo. It’s an impressive sight!

Odysseas Elytis Theatre

A striking theatre made up of 1,100 seats in Hora, built in accordance with ancient Greek standards, and named after the Nobel award-winning Greek poet Elytis.

Fragoklissias

Near Hora’s school, you will find the only Catholic church on Ios, which has been there since the 14th century. 

Bird's eye view of abeach on Ios Island in the Cyclades

Experience the best of Ios

Walking around Hora, you’ll discover a labyrinth of whitewashed alleyways and photogenic windmills

Getting up close and personal with the Hora of Ios

Setting out on foot, you’ll discover that the main town of an island renowned for its love of fun and going out has an unexpectedly...
  • Another side to Hora
  • Enter the Bronze Age at Skarkos!
  • Aghia Theodoti
  • Odysseas Elitis Theatre
  • Fragoklissias
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Klima Village, Milos

Greek island hopping

From the Cyclades to the Dodecanese and the island of Crete, discover the wonders of the Aegean Sea and experience the Greek island hopping.
Group of friends having fun on the beach

Youth holidays in Greece

Beautiful Greek islands, exotic beaches, off-road adventures, and nonstop nightlife: the recipe for a fun-filled holiday in Greece