The Atrium of the Muses in the gardens of the Athens Megaron
EXPERIENCE

Die Athener Konzerthalle (Megaron)

By G.Vrettakos / Athens Concert Hall
Mit einer erstklassigen Akustik und einem inspirierenden Angebot an Aufführungen das ganze Jahr über verspricht die Athener Konzerthalle (Megaron) einen kulturellen Hochgenuss während deines Aufenthalts in der griechischen Hauptstadt
Thrace region-id="pin-13"; Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Dauer
1-3 stunden
Nach Jahreszeit
Das ganze Jahr über

ÜBERBLICK

Die Athener Konzerthalle (Megaron)

Es spricht für die Athener Konzerthalle (oder Megaron Mousikis, wie sie auf Griechisch heißt), dass sie seit ihrer Eröffnung im Jahr 1991 nichts von ihrem "Wow-Faktor" verloren hat. Klassische und zeitgenössische Musikkonzerte sowie Ballett-, Tanz- und andere Darbietungen erhellen seither die Bühne einer der wichtigsten Kulturstätten Europas. 

Es spielt keine Rolle, zu welcher Zeit du in Athen bist. Du findest das ganze Jahr über eine Auswahl an Live-Veranstaltungen, die garantiert zu den Höhepunkten deines Aufenthalts gehören werden. Es gibt individuelle Shows aller Musikrichtungen und saisonale Festivals, wie das jährliche Frühlingsfestival, das die schönste Jahreszeit in Athen feiert. 

In der Athener Konzerthalle zählt nur der erste Eindruck. Die Christos Lambraki Halle mit 1.960 Sitzplätzen (benannt nach einem Medienmogul und Kunstmäzen) zieht dich in ihren Bann, sobald du die 6.080 Pfeifen umfassende Orgel im hinteren Teil der Bühne erblickst. Und der Alexandra Trianti-Saal mit 1.500 Plätzen (benannt nach einer Liedersängerin aus den 1920er Jahren) bietet dieselbe erstklassige Akustik wie bei der Einweihung des Saals durch die Berliner Philharmoniker im Jahr 2004, wodurch der Ruf des Megaron als einer der führenden Musikspielorte Athens besiegelt wurde.

In dem Komplex gibt es noch weitere kleinere Konzertsäle, Bankett-, Konferenz- und Ausstellungsräume sowie eine Musikbibliothek mit 63.000 Büchern und 10.000 Tonträgern aller Arten von Weltmusik (antike, byzantinische, Volksmusik, Jazz, Popmusik usw.) in einem echten kulturellen Multiraum

Die Weinbar des Megaron ist an Vorstellungsabenden geöffnet und im M Café kannst du an jedem Tag einen Drink oder einen Snack zu dir nehmen. Außerdem steht es jedem frei, durch den Megaron-Garten zu schlendern, eine 4,5 Hektar große Grünfläche, die von 10 Uhr morgens bis zum Sonnenuntergang geöffnet ist und in der gelegentlich eigene Aufführungen stattfinden, wie zum Beispiel, als 4.000 Menschen auf Bänken und auf dem Rasen saßen, um die Wiener Philharmoniker auf riesigen Bildschirmen zu sehen. 

Die Erkundung des wunderschön angelegten Gartens ist eine gute Möglichkeit, um die Architektur der Athener Konzerthalle umso mehr zu bewundern. Dazu gehört auch das Atrium der Musen (ein versunkener Innenhof im Freien, in dem auch Konzerte stattfinden), bevor du ein weiteres unerwartetes Highlight entdeckst: das Restaurant Fuga, das mit seiner stilvollen Einrichtung und seinen griechischen und internationalen Gerichten Gäste anlockt, unabhängig davon, ob sie einer Aufführung beiwohnen oder nicht. 

Weiterlesen Read Less

Wie gelangst du vom Zentrum Athens zur Athener Konzerthalle Megaron?

  • Von Syntagma aus nimmst du die blaue U-Bahn-Linie bis zur Station Megaro Moussikis oder gehst am besten zu Fuß, um die Gebäude der Vasilissis Sofias Ave. zu genießen. Von Plaka aus nimmst du die rote U-Bahn-Linie bis zur Station Syntagma und steigst um. 

Wie komme ich am besten vom Flughafen oder Hafen ins Zentrum von Athen?

  • Du kannst ein Taxi (ca. 38 € tagsüber) oder einen Bus nehmen, ein Auto vom internationalen Flughafen Athen mieten oder mit der U-Bahn direkt ins Zentrum fahren (blaue Linie bis Syntagma). 
  • Es gibt auch Taxis (25 € tagsüber), Busse und eine U-Bahn-Station (grüne Linie) am Hafen von Piräus (umsteigen in die blaue Linie in Monastiraki nach Syntagma). Je nachdem, wo du die Fähre nimmst, brauchst du 15-20 Minuten zu Fuß zur U-Bahn-Station. 

Wann ist die beste Zeit für einen Besuch der Athener Konzerthalle Megaron?

  • In der Athener Konzerthalle (Megaron) finden das ganze Jahr über Veranstaltungen statt, darunter saisonale Festivals und einzelne Aufführungen. 
  • Im Frühling und Sommer kannst du den Megaron-Garten von seiner schönsten Seite erleben.
  • Du brauchst keine Eintrittskarte, um das Megaron zu betreten, es sei denn, es findet eine Aufführung statt.

Wann ist die beste Jahreszeit für einen Besuch in Athen?

  • Um das Beste aus Athen herauszuholen, ist es am besten, die Stadt zwischen Oktober und April zu besuchen, wenn sich die sommerlichen Menschenmassen gelichtet haben und du die Gesellschaft der Athenerinnen und Athener genießen kannst, die ihrem täglichen Leben nachgehen.

Wie lange dauern die Veranstaltungen in der Megaron Athens Concert Hall?

  • Die meisten Konzerte dauern zwischen 1 und 3 Stunden und du kannst vor, in der Pause oder nach der Show ein Getränk genießen.
  • Du kannst dich so lange im Megaron-Garten aufhalten, wie du willst. Er ist jeden Tag von 10 Uhr morgens bis zum Sonnenuntergang für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich.
  • Das Restaurant Fuga ist täglich von Montag bis Samstag von 19:00-24:00 Uhr zum Abendessen geöffnet.

VERANTWORTUNGSVOLL REISEN

Bitte hilf uns, die Magie unseres Erbes für künftige Generationen zu bewahren, indem du alle grundlegenden Regeln für den Besuch von Kulturstätten beachtest.

Verwenden Sie die dafür vorgesehenen Abfalleimer, oder nehmen Sie gegebenefalls Ihren Müll mit, bis Sie einen Abfalleimer finden.
Benutzen Sie eine wiederauffüllbare Wasserflasche, um Ihren Kunststoffverbrauch zu minimieren.
Rauchen ist verboten.
Haustiere (mit Ausnahme von Blindenhunden) sind auf kulturellen Webseiten und in Museen nicht gestattet.
Respektieren Sie die anderen Besucher.
Respektiere die Schönheit des Megaron Gartens, indem du keine Pflanzen oder Blumen pflückst.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Ein Rundgang durch das Kulturzentrum der Stavros Niarchos Stiftung in Athen

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Führung durch die Nationale Galerie Athen

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

Tour durch das Benaki Museum der Griechischen Kultur in Athen

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Das Spektakel im Odeon des Herodes Atticus in Athen

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Eine Tour durch das Nationalmuseum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Athen

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Eine Tour durch das Panathenaic Stadion in Athen

You’ll find plenty more examples of Tinos’ famed marblework in the windows and doors, as you wander the streets of Pyrgos

Entdecke die besten Dörfer auf Tinos

The Arkadi Monastery in Rethymno has an architecture and history that will captivate you

Eine Tour durch das Kloster Arkadi auf Kreta

Minoan Palace of Phaistos Festos, Crete

Erkunde den minoischen Palast von Phaistos auf Kreta

Finikas Ave. - Neratzia Castle, Kos, Greece

Ein Spaziergang durch die kulturellen Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt Kos

Trigonou square in Akrotiri

Eine Tour durch Akrotiri auf Santorin

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Ein Rundgang durch das Kulturzentrum der Stavros Niarchos Stiftung in Athen

The Atrium of the Muses in the gardens of the Athens Megaron
EXPERIENCE

The Athens Concert Hall (Megaron)

By G.Vrettakos / Athens Concert Hall
With world-class acoustics and an inspiring range of performances all year round, the Athens Concert Hall (Megaron) promises a cultural treat during your stay in the Greek capital
Thrace region-id="pin-13"; Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1-3 hrs
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

The Athens Concert Hall (Megaron)

It says everything about the Athens Concert Hall (or the Megaron Mousikis, as it’s known in Greek) that it has retained every bit of its wow factor since the day it opened its doors in 1991. Classical and contemporary musical recitals as well as ballet, dance and other performances have lit up the stage at one of Europe’s premier cultural venues ever since. 

It doesn’t matter when you plan to be in Athens. You’ll find a selection of live events all year round in what promises to be one of the highlights of your stay. There are individual shows of all musical genres and seasonal festivals, such as the annual Spring Festival celebrating the most magical season in Athens. 

First impressions are everything at the Athens Concert Hall. The 1,960-seat Christos Lambraki Hall (named after a media mogul and patron of the arts) captivates you the moment you set eyes on the 6,080-pipe organ dominating the back of the stage. And the 1,500-seat Alexandra Trianti Hall (named after a 1920s lieder singer) offers the same world-class acoustics as it did when the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra inaugurated the auditorium in 2004, sealing the Megaron’s reputation as one of Athens’ leading music venues.

Other smaller concert halls exist within the complex, as well as banqueting, conference and exhibition spaces and a Music Library housing 63,000 books and 10,000 sound recordings of all kinds of world music (ancient, Byzantine, folk, jazz, popular etc) in a true cultural multi-space

Meanwhile, the Megaron’s Wine Bar is open on performance nights and you can visit the M Café for a drink or snack on any day. And everyone is free to stroll around the Megaron Garden, a 4.5-acre green space that is open from 10am to sundown and occasionally hosts performances of its own, notably when 4,000 people sat on benches and the lawn to enjoy the Vienna Philharmonic on giant screens. 

Exploring the beautifully landscaped garden is the best way to appreciate the Athens Concert Hall’s architecture all the more, including the Atrium of the Muses (a sunken outdoor courtyard that also hosts recitals), before discovering another unexpected highlight, the Fuga restaurant, whose stylish decor and Greek and international dishes attract diners irrespective of whether they are attending a performance or not. 
 

Read More Read Less

How do you get to Megaron Athens Concert Hall from the centre of Athens?

  • From Syntagma, take the blue metro line to the Megaro Moussikis station, or better still go by foot to enjoy the buildings of Vasilissis Sofias Ave. From Plaka, take the red metro line to Syntagma station and change. 

What is the best way to reach central Athens from the airport or port?

  • You can catch a taxi (about €38 during the day) or bus, or hire a car from Athens International Airport, or take the metro directly to the centre (blue line to Syntagma). 
  • There are also taxis (€25 during the day), buses and a metro station (green line) at Piraeus port (change to blue line at Monastiraki to Syntagma). Depending on your ferry gate, it could be a 15-20 min walk to the metro station. 
     

What is the best time of year to visit the Megaron Athens Concert Hall?

  • There are events at the Athens Concert Hall (Megaron) all year round, including seasonal festivals as well as one-off performances. 
  • In spring and summer, you’ll be able to enjoy the Megaron Garden at its best.
  • You don’t need a ticket to enter the Megaron unless there is a performance.


What is the best time of year to visit Athens?

  • To get the most out of Athens, it is best to visit between October-April when the summer crowds have thinned and you’ll enjoy the company of Athenians going about their daily lives.
     

How long are events at the Megaron Athens Concert Hall?

  • Most concerts are between 1-3 hours and you can enjoy a drink before, during the interval or after the show.
  • You are free to spend as long as you want in the Megaron Garden, which is open to the public from 10am till sundown every day.
  • The Fuga restaurant is open daily for dinner from Monday to Saturday from 19:00-24:00.
     
  • The Athens Concert Hall (Megaron) is fully accessible for visitors with mobility difficulties (more info)
  • Take a virtual tour of the Athens Concert Hall (Megaron) here
  • There are seasonal and daily events in the Athens Concert Hall (Megaron) throughout the year
  • Athens Concert Hall (Megaron) parking
  • M Shop & M Café: Οpening times
  • Wine Bar: Οpening times
  • Fuga restaurant: Οpening times

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting cultural sites.

Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Smoking is prohibited.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in cultural sites and museums.
Respect your fellow visitors.
Respect the beauty of Megaron Garden by not picking any plants or flowers.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

Stay connected with Greece

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

A tour of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center in Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Minoan Palace of Phaistos Festos, Crete

Explore the Minoan Palace of Phaistos in Crete

Finikas Ave. - Neratzia Castle, Kos, Greece

A stroll around the cultural landmarks of Kos town

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

A tour of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center in Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens