Alexandroupoli

Eine reise zwischen zwei kontinenten
Alexandroupoli, Thrace’s largest port is an excellent base for holiday excursions
Scroll
Heute
MON
TUE
WED
THU
11°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Zwischen zwei Kontinenten

Von Asien kommend ist Alexandroupoli in Griechenland der erste Anlaufpunkt. Am Scheideweg zwischen Asien, Europa, dem Mittelmeer und dem Balkan bildet die Stadt ein riesiges Schiffsverkehrszentrum. Für Reisende in der Gegend geht kein Weg an Alexandroupoli vorbei. Auf den breiten, sicheren Straßen und an der Uferpromenade liegen zahlreiche Tavernen, Restaurants für Meeresfrüchte, Bars und exklusive Hotels und bieten Ihnen alles was Sie inn Ihrem Urlaubbrauchen. Außerhalb der Stadt machen gefiederte Reisende eine Pause im Evros-Delta.

Besichtigen Sie in Alexandroupoli

Der Leuchtturm, das Wahrzeichen von Alexandroupoli

Den 27 Meter hohen Leuchtturm mit sechs Stockwerken aus Steintreppen können Boote auch aus 37 km Entfernung noch sehen. Der imposante Leuchtturm, der seit 1880 als eine der wichtigsten am Hafen steht, ist kaum zu übersehen. Unermüdlich bietet er Seefahrern Orientierung, auf alten Seekarten ist er noch mit dem alten Namen der Stadt vermerkt: Dede-Agats.

Das Evros-Delta, eine Durchgangsstation für Zugvögel

Die Natur ist die größte Künstlerin. Hier malt sie wunderschöne Bilder in den Faren Griechenlands. Das Evros-Delta ist ein Traum für Naturliebhaber. Süßwasser und Meer vermischen sich hier zu einem reichhaltigen Feuchtgebiet, das einen bedeutenden Ruheplatz für Wasservögel darstellt. Von den 400 Vogelarten Griechenlands fliegen 300 durch dieses Gebiet. Im Fluss leben 46 Fischarten, 7 Amphibien-, 21 Reptil- und über 40 Säugetierarten.

Ökotourismus im Dadia-Wald

60 Kilometer außerhalb der Stadt bietet der Dadia-Wald einen weiteren Magneten für Ornithologen und Naturfreunde. Die Wanderwege in den vielen tausend Hektar des Nationalparks sind bestens geeignet, um Adler, Falken, Geier und viele andere majestätische Vögel zu beobachten. Eine Wanderung die Sie unbedingt machen müssen wenn Sie in Alexandroupoli sind. 

Panagia Kosmosotira, eine Kirche an der Grenze

Bei Feres, neben der Brücke, die Griechenland und die Türkei trennt, liegt die Kirche Panagia Kosmosotira – bedeutend sowohl kirchlich als auch architektonisch. Die Kirche und das Kloster, zu dem sie gehörte, wurden in der Mitte des 12. Jahrhunderts n. Chr. Gebaut und ist heute eines der wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Region.

Die verborgenen Schätze von Alexandroupolis

Die Thermalbäder von Evros

Wem die Müdigkeit noch in den Knochen steckt, sollte eine Pause in Trajanopolis einlegen. Das han mit dem Ziegeldom aus dem 14. Jahrhundert war einst eine Einkehrstätte für Reisende, die die heilenden Kräfte der Quellen schätzten. In den Wänden sind einige Rohre verlegt – eine frühe Zentralheizung. 

Eine Reise in die Höhle der Zyklopen

Eine der zahlreichen Höhlen der Zyklopen liegt im heutigen kleinen Hafen von Makri. 

Antike Aircondition

Evros. In der antiken Küstenstadt in der Mesembria-Gegend (7. Jahrhundert v. Chr.) gruben die Einwohner Amphoren in den Boden des Wohnzimmers ein, um die Luftfeuchtigkeit einzudämmen – eine Art antike Klimaanlage.

  • Der Leuchtturm, das Wahrzeichen von Alexandroupoli
  • Das Evros-Delta, eine Durchgangsstation für Zugvögel
  • Ökotourismus im Dadia-Wald
  • Panagia Kosmosotira, eine Kirche an der Grenze
  • Die Thermalbäder von Evros
  • Eine Reise in die Höhle der Zyklopen
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Bäume mit goldenen Blättern am Herbst in Valia Κalda

Herbstferien in Griechenland

Alexandroupoli

A seaside escape with a warm city glow in northern Greece
Alexandroupoli, Thrace’s largest port is an excellent base for holiday excursions
Scroll
Today
19°
MON
17°
TUE
17°
WED
17°
THU
15°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Thrace’s largest port is an excellent base for holiday excursions and an enchanting destination in its own right, with tons of cultural history and an impressive lighthouse

Entering Greece from Asia, Alexandroupoli is your first stop. Situated as it is at the crossroads of Asia, Europe, the Mediterranean Sea and the Balkan peninsula, everyone who passes through stops here, and so will you. The streets are atmospheric and the waterfront is lined with tavernas, seafood restaurants, bars and hotels. Alexandroupoli is a holiday destination that caters to so many needs. Outside town, visitors of the feathered variety make use of the facilities provided by the impossibly beautiful Evros Delta.

What to do in Alexandroupoli

The lighthouse

Alexandroupoli’s emblematic lighthouse stands 27m tall, with six storeys of stone steps, and its light can be seen 37km away. It’s hard not to notice the city’s main and most luminous attraction, which has stood in the port since 1880. Tirelessly guiding seafarers, it is still listed with the town’s old name, Dede-Agats, on nautical maps.

The Evros Delta

When it comes to artistic flair, nature is the true master in these parts. The Evros Delta is a nature lover’s dream. Freshwater mixes with the sea to create a rich wetland habitat and vital sanctuary for large numbers of water birds. Of Greece’s 400 species, 300 pass through here, while the river itself boasts 46 kinds of fish, 7 amphibian, 21 reptile and more than 40 mammal species.

The Dadia Forest Reserve

Sixty kilometres outside of town, the amazing Dadia Forest is another magnet for bird watchers and nature lovers travelling to Alexandroupoli. The hiking and birdwatching trails within the hundreds of thousands of acres in the reserve will bring you close to eagles, hawks, vultures and dozens of other majestic birds.

Panagia Kosmosotira, a church on the frontier

At Feres, next to the bridge crossing the border between Greece and Turkey, is the church of Panagia Kosmosotira, important both ecclesiastically and architecturally. The religious complex and the monastery it was part of were built in the mid-12th century, and are among the most significant sights in the area.

Hidden gems of Alexandroupoli

The thermal springs of Evros

Whether you are in need of bodily or spiritual renewal or just craving a hot bath, take a pause at Trajanopolis. The brick-domed hostel for world-weary travellers was reputed for the healing powers of the springs even back in the 14th century. Take note of the piping in the walls, an object lesson in central heating.

A trip to the Cyclops' cave

You can visit one of the numerous  caves of the Cyclops at the modern small port of Makri.

Air conditioning in antiquity

In Evros, in the ancient coastal town of Mesembria-Zone (7th century BC), the inhabitants buried amphorae under their living rooms to combat the humidity, a sort of ancient air conditioning.

  • The lighthouse, Alexandroupoli’s emblem
  • The Evros Delta
  • The Dadia Forest Ecotourist Reserve
  • Panagia Kosmosotira, a church on the frontier
  • The thermal springs of Evros
  • A trip to the Cyclops' cave
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Trees with golden leaves at autumn in Valia Κalda

Autumn holidays in Greece

Autumn is a very special time in Greece.