View of Skiathos from Bourtzi
EXPERIENCE

Une promenade dans la ville de Skiathos

Que vous fassiez le tour de la ville de Skiathos en une seule promenade ou que vous étendiez l'expérience sur votre séjour, vous saurez pourquoi elle peut vous tenir éloigné de ses célèbres plages... pour un moment au moins
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
3 - 4 heures
Par saison
Mai - Octobre

OVERVIEW

Le tour de la ville de Skiathos 

Célèbre pour ses collines verdoyantes et ses lieux de baignade d'un bleu irisé, Skiathos est une île qui sait séduire les visiteurs désireux de faire le plein de soleil et de plage. Mais attendez une minute ! Il y a un autre joyau dans son coffre à trésors que vous adorerez découvrir. Et si vous voyagez en ferry, ce sera votre première et dernière impression de cette splendide île.

La ville de Skiathos est l'endroit où vous trouverez la plupart des activités de l'île. Elle est remplie de boutiques, de bars et de cafés, ainsi que de restaurants et de tavernes et de toutes les autres commodités dont vous aurez besoin pour vos vacances à Skiathos. 

Se promener le long du front de mer (notamment le Vieux et le Nouveau Port et la péninsule de Bourtzi) est spécial, mais vous adorerez aussi explorer le dédale de ruelles aux maisons blanchies à la chaux très rapprochées. On a l'impression qu'à chaque fois que l'on tourne un coin, on trouve un autre petit coin adorable ou une cour remplie de bougainvilliers. 

Alors rejoignez-nous pour explorer les points forts de la ville de Skiathos !

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Bourtzi

C'est l'endroit naturel pour commencer toute promenade dans la ville de Skiathos. Les pins et les eaux vertes et bleues autour de la péninsule de Bourtzi donnent à tout le cadre une beauté de peinture à l'eau, surtout lorsque vous regardez en arrière les maisons blanchies à la chaux et les tuiles rouges de la ville. Mais il y a aussi beaucoup d'histoire ici. La péninsule en forme de goutte d'eau a été fortifiée par la famille Gyzi au 13ème siècle et les archéologues ont mis au jour les vestiges d'une forteresse vénitienne. 

Au milieu se trouve une école qui sert aujourd'hui de centre culturel, abritant le musée de la tradition nautique et culturelle de Skiathos (où vous pourrez découvrir la longue histoire de la construction navale et de la marine de l'île). En continuant votre visite, vous trouverez également un restaurant-bar, qui sert tout, du petit-déjeuner au vin et aux cocktails. Les nuits de lune, la vue sur la mer Égée et la ville illuminée ne pourrait pas être plus romantique.

Le musée d’Alexandros Papadiamantis 

Depuis Bourtzi, vous avez la possibilité de continuer votre promenade le long du front de mer du vieux port (bordé de boutiques et de tavernes), mais notre balade à pied dans la ville de Skiathos vous emmène quelques centaines de mètres à l'intérieur des terres, jusqu'à la maison d'Alexandros Papadiamantis, l'un des géants de la littérature grecque. Vous la trouverez sur une place juste à côté de la principale rue commerçante (qui porte le nom du romancier). La maison, qui a été construite par son père prêtre, est le lieu de naissance et de décès de Papadiamantis (1851-1911) et a été transformée en musée. Vous serez humilié par son mode de vie ascétique et la simplicité du mobilier, notamment le bureau sur lequel il a écrit de nombreux classiques.

Skiathiko Spiti 

En s'enfonçant dans les ruelles de la ville de Skiathos, on arrive à la Maison de Skiathos (Skiathitiko Spiti). Maison d'une famille locale aisée au début des années 1900, elle a été transformée en musée par des parents du propriétaire d'origine. C'est un autre exemple de l'architecture traditionnelle de Skiathos, construite sur deux étages, avec d'épais murs de pierre, de grandes pierres d'angle et des tuiles rouges. 

La première des trois pièces de l'étage supérieur contient un métier à tisser utilisé pour tisser les costumes traditionnels, la deuxième des documents photographiques de la famille sur 150 ans (y compris les membres qui ont émigré en Amérique) et la troisième a été préservée comme une chambre principale, y compris un coffre avec des articles de dot tels que des broderies. Dans la cour, vous trouverez des jarres et un moulin à huile, provenant d'un pressoir à huile d'olive conservé à l'origine au sous-sol.

Plakes

En revenant vers la mer, vous atteignez la plus belle partie de la ville de Skiathos, le charmant quartier de Plakes. Vous adorerez vous promener dans ses ruelles labyrinthiques, avec ses vieilles maisons pittoresques aux balcons en fer et ses bougainvilliers. Lorsque vous atteindrez la mer, vous aurez une vue sur le vieux port et sur Bourtzi. Le point fort est la petite plage photogénique (connue simplement sous le nom de Plakes), avec une taverne juste au-dessus. N'hésitez pas à vous asseoir et à admirer la vue, ou peut-être serez-vous tenté par une petite baignade avant de continuer.

L’église Agios Nikolaos 

Après avoir terminé votre visite à pied, vous retournez le long du vieux port, avec ses bateaux de pêche et ses yachts flottants. Mais un dernier plaisir vous attend : vous vous dirigez une dernière fois vers l'intérieur des terres et montez à l'église d'Agios Nikolaos. Cette jolie petite chapelle a été construite en 1931 et possède une iconostase en bois sculpté et un clocher/horloge bien conservés. Mais le véritable attrait est la vue panoramique sur les maisons de Skiathos et le front de mer - magnifique à tout moment de la journée, mais surtout au coucher du soleil.

Lire la suite Read Less

Comment se rendre à Skiathos, en Grèce ?

  • Il y a des ferries pour Skiathos tout au long de l'année depuis Volos (sur le continent) et Mantoudi (dans le nord d'Evia), et des ferries saisonniers depuis Agios Konstantinos et Thessalonique (sur le continent).
  • Skiathos a également un aéroport juste à l'extérieur de la ville, avec des vols internationaux saisonniers et des vols domestiques depuis Athènes (45 minutes) tout au long de l'année. 
  • Skiathos est également une destination populaire pour les excursions vers les autres iles Sporades.

Comment se rendre à la ville de Skiathos ?

  • Le port de ferry est juste à côté de la ville principale et l'aéroport est à 2,5 km du centre-ville (environ 10 minutes en voiture). Vous pouvez louer une voiture ou prendre un taxi à l'aéroport.

Quel est le meilleur moment pour visiter l'île de Skiathos ?

  • Skiathos est une ville vivante toute l'année, mais vous trouverez la plupart des magasins, des restaurants et des sites culturels ouverts entre mai et octobre.
  • Si vous le pouvez, visitez l'île entre mai et juin et entre septembre et octobre, lorsque Skiathos est la plus charmante et la plus calme.

Musées et sites culturels

Les horaires d'ouverture et les tarifs d'entrée des musées et autres sites culturels peuvent varier tout au long de l'année. 

Musée Alexandros Papadiamantis  

  • Ouvert toute l'année
  • Plus d'informations sur les heures d'ouverture et les billets ici

Maison de Skiathos 

  • Ouverte toute l'année
  • Plus d'informations sur les heures d'ouverture et les billets ici 

Combien de temps faut-il pour faire une promenade dans la ville de Skiathos ?

  • La durée de votre promenade dépend entièrement de vous, mais les attractions citées ici peuvent être effectuées facilement en 3-4 heures.  
  • Comme la vie à Skiathos est axée sur la ville principale, vous aurez tout le temps de découvrir tous les coins de la ville de Skiathos pendant votre séjour.
     

 

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Veillons tous à préserver la magie des villages et des villes insulaires de la Grèce pour les générations à venir.

Gardez les rues propres en utilisant les poubelles mises à votre disposition et en cas de besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Gardez les rues propres en utilisant les poubelles mises à votre disposition et en cas de besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Respectez les monuments culturels et les reliques. N’utilisez pas de flash si vous voyez une pancarte qui l’interdit.
Soutenez les petites boutiques familiales et les producteurs locaux en choisissant un souvenir local fait main.
Respectez les plantes et les animaux.
Ayez l’esprit curieux et n’hésitez pas à demander des bons plans aux habitants.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Koukounaries has been winning over the hearts of visitors to Skiathos for decades

Laissez-vous séduire par les charmes naturels de la plage de Koukounaries à Skiathos

Lalaria, up on the north coast of Skiathos is unique for its smooth, pearly-white pebbles and dramatic cliff setting

Une excursion en bateau vers la plage isolée et sauvage de Skiathos, Lalaria

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Une visite au centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos à Athènes

Hiking in Kefalonia’s Mt Ainos National Park

Randonnée dans le parc national du Mont Ainos à Céphalonie

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Un tour au stade Panathénaïque d’Athènes

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Le Musée National d’art Contemporain d’Athènes

Panagia was the capital of Thassos after the revolution against the Ottomans in 1821 and still has a year-round population

À la découverte des villages de montagne de Thassos

Explore the footpaths up Mt Ipsarion

Explorez les meilleurs chemins de randonnée de Thassos

View of Skiathos from Bourtzi
EXPERIENCE

A walking tour of Skiathos town

Whether you set out to see the highlights of Skiathos town in one stroll or spread the experience over your holiday, you’ll understand why it’s got the power to keep you away from the island’s world-famous beaches … for a while at least
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
3 - 4 hours
Season
May-October

OVERVIEW

A tour of Skiathos town

Famous for its green hillsides and iridescent blue swimming spots, Skiathos is an island that knows how to seduce visitors keen to fill up on sun-and-beach time. But hold on a minute! There’s another gem in its treasure chest that you’ll love discovering. And if you are traveling by ferry, it will be your first and last impression of this gorgeous island. 

Skiathos town is where you’ll find most of the island’s life. It’s filled with shops, bars and cafes, as well as restaurants and tavernas and all the other amenities you’ll need for your holidays in Skiathos. 

Just strolling along the waterfront (including the Old and New Port and the Bourtzi peninsula) is special, but you’ll also adore exploring the maze of alleyways of tightly packed whitewashed houses. It feels like every time you turn a corner, you’ll find another adorable little spot or a bougainvillea-filled courtyard. 

So join us as we explore the highlights of Skiathos town!
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Bourtzi

This is the natural place for every stroll in Skiathos town to begin. The pine trees and green-blue water around the Bourtzi peninsula give the whole setting a watercolour painting beauty, especially when you look back at the whitewashed houses and red roof tiles of town. But there’s also a lot of history here. The teardrop-shaped peninsula was fortified by the Gyzi family in the 13th century and archaeologists have uncovered the remains of a Venetian fortress. 

In the middle is a schoolhouse that now serves as a cultural center, housing the Museum of Nautical and Cultural Tradition of Skiathos (where you can learn about the island’s long shipbuilding and naval history). As you continue around, you’ll also find a restaurant-bar, serving everything from breakfast to wine and cocktails. On moonlit nights, the views of the Aegean and lit-up town couldn’t be more romantic.

Alexandros Papadiamantis Museum

From Bourtzi, you have the option of continuing your stroll along the waterfront of the Old Harbour (lined with shops and tavernas), but our walking tour of Skiathos town takes you a few hundred metres inland to the home of Alexandros Papadiamantis, one of Greece’s literary giants. You’ll find it in a square just off the main shopping street (named after the novelist). The house, which was built by his priest father, is where Papadiamantis was born and died (1851-1911) and has been turned into a museum. You will be humbled by his ascetic way of life and the simplicity of the furniture, including a desk on which he wrote many classics.

Skiathos House

Delving deeper into the alleyways of Skiathos town, you reach the Skiathos House (Skiathitiko Spiti). The home of an affluent local family from the early 1900s, it was converted into a museum by relatives of the original owner and is another example of traditional Skiathos architecture, built over two storeys, with thick stone walls, large cornerstones and red roof tiles. 

The first of three rooms on the upper floor contains a loom used to weave traditional costumes, the second photographic material of the family over 150 years (including members who emigrated to America) and the third has been preserved as a master bedroom, including a chest with dowry items such as embroideries. In the courtyard, you will find jars and an olive mill, from an olive oil press originally kept in the basement. 
 

Plakes

Looping back towards the sea, you reach the most beautiful part of Skiathos town, the charming neighbourhood of Plakes. You’ll adore just walking through the maze of alleyways, with picturesque old houses with iron balconies and bursts of bougainvillea. As you reach the sea, you’ll be treated to views of the old port and Bourtzi. The highlight is the photogenic little beach (known simply as Plakes), with a taverna just above it. Feel free to sit and admire the view, or maybe you’ll be tempted to have a cheeky swim before continuing. 

Agios Nikolaos church

Completing your walking tour, you return along the Old Harbour, with fishing boats and bobbing yachts. But there’s a final treat in store as you head inland one last time and climb to the Church of Agios Nikolaos. This cute little chapel was built in 1931 and has a well-preserved wood-carved iconostasis and bell/clock tower. But the real draw is the panoramic view over Skiathos’ houses and the waterfront – gorgeous at any time of day but especially at sunset.
 

Read More Read Less

How do you get to Skiathos, Greece?

  • There are ferries to Skiathos throughout the year from Volos (on the mainland) and Mantoudi (in northern Evia), and seasonal ferries from Agios Konstantinos and Thessaloniki (on the mainland).
  • Skiathos also has an airport just outside town, with seasonal international flights and domestic flights from Athens (45 minutes) throughout the year. 
  • Skiathos is also a popular destination for island-hopping to other Sporades islands

How do you get to Skiathos town?

  • The ferry port is just by the main town and the airport is 2.5km away from the town center (around 10 mins by car). You can rent a car or take a taxi from the airport.
     

When is the best time to visit Skiathos island?

  • Skiathos has a year-round population, but you’ll find most of the shops, restaurants and cultural sites open between May-October.
  • If you can, visit in May-June and September-October when Skiathos is at its most charming and quiet.

Museums & cultural sites

Opening times and entry fees of museums and other cultural sites may vary throughout the year. 

Alexandros Papadiamantis Museum 

  • Open all year round
  • More info on opening hours & tickets here 

Skiathos House 

  • Open all year round
  • More info on opening hours & tickets here 
     

How long does it take to walk around Skiathos town?

  • The length of your walk is entirely up to you, but the attractions listed here can easily be done in 3-4 hours.  
  • Because life on Skiathos revolves around the main town, you’ll have plenty of time to get to know every corner of Skiathos town during your stay.
     

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Koukounaries beach, blues & greens

Be seduced by the natural charms of Skiathos’ Koukounaries beach

Lalaria, up on the north coast of Skiathos is unique for its smooth, pearly-white pebbles and dramatic cliff setting

A boat trip to Skiathos’ remote and wild Lalaria beach

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

A tour of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center in Athens

Hiking in Kefalonia’s Mt Ainos National Park

Hiking in Kefalonia’s Mt Ainos National Park

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Explore the footpaths up Mt Ipsarion

Explore the best hiking paths of Thassos