Chalki

Le petit paradis de L’Archipel
Chalki Island, one of the Dodecanese islands of Greece, close to Rhodes
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
25°
SAT
23°
SUN
22°
MON
23°
TUE
23°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Sous le soleil de la Mer Égée et sur le bleu de la mer, un sourire grec accueillant émerge parmi les îles du Dodécanèse.

Bien que petite, Chalki est une île superbe et prête à vous révéler de véritables trésors. Vous vous en rendrez compte dès le moment où vous poserez le regard sur le magnifique port et le seul hameau de l’île, Nimporio. L’absence de véhicules, la paix qui règne sur l’île et l’atmosphère romantique enchantent le visiteur.

Tout évolue à un rythme tranquille, conféré par l’attitude décontractée des habitants. Vous serez charmés de vous promener sur les allées pavées parmi les grandes demeures et les maisons restaurées, qui présentent toutes les nuances de la palette du peintre. Plongez dans les eaux limpides, agrémentez vos sorties d’ouzo et de backgammon, et savourez les spécialités culinaires traditionnelles. Quant aux habitants, vous découvrirez leur convivialité et leur gentillesse innée, leur respect pour leur île et leur résistance à l’avancée du tourisme moderne.

Attractions à Halki

Nimporio

Les maisons ensoleillées à deux ou trois étages, avec leurs murs colorés et leurs toits de tuiles qui font le charme du hameau, ressemblent à de petits bateaux ancrés dans la baie.

Promenez-vous dans les allées et sentez les odeurs alléchantes des fours dont sont équipées toutes les maisons, pour cuire le pain et les célèbres « makarounia » de Chalki, des pâtes maison, exposées au soleil pour sécher. Demandez à un habitant de vous donner des figues de Barbarie, un fruit au goût unique que l’on trouve partout sur l’île.

Allez voir l’église d’Agios Nikolaos, le saint patron de l’île, avec son clocher majestueux et son iconostase de bois scultpé. Prenez une profonde inspiration dans sa cour pavée décorée des traditionnels « chochlakia », des galets. Arrêtez-vous un moment à l’hôtel de ville, une ancienne maison de maître, avec sa splendide tour d’horloge. Une promenade dans Nimporio apaisera votre cœur et le remplira d’une joie ineffable.

Des plages de rêve

Certaines plages de l’île sont accessibles à pied, d’autres par caïque à partir de Nimporio. Pontamos est la plage la plus populaire de l’île, éblouissante avec son sable blanc. Kania est une plage de galets pittoresque, tout comme Giali, Ftenagia et Areta, connues pour leurs eaux bleu azur. Trachia, une plage étroite prise entre deux avancées d’eau, est uniquement accessible en caïque.

Le monastère d’Agios Ioannis Alargas

« Alarga » signifie « loin ». Ce monastère de Stafia est effectivement assez éloigné de Palio Chorio, tout comme de la mer. Vous pouvez y accéder après une heure et demie de randonnée à travers une terre nue avec des murs de pierre sèche et des cabanes, des herbes odorantes qui s’accrochent au sol rocailleux, des figuiers et des figuiers de Barbarie. Le 29 août, le monastère se remplit de pèlerins qui viennent prendre part à la plus grande célébration de l’île et sont généreusement logés dans les cellules des moines. Sous les hauts cyprès, ils mangent, chantent et dansent la « sousta » jusqu’au matin.

Chorio – le Château des Chevaliers

Perchée au sommet d’une colline à 2,5 km du port, se trouve Chorio, l’ancienne capitale de l’île. Dans les ruines des maisons abandonnées se cache toute la beauté de Chalki.

Depuis l’église de Panagia Choriani, avec sa maçonnerie joliment incurvée, vous pourrez suivre le sentier qui mène au château des Chevaliers. L’intérieur est plein de ruines fascinantes et l’église d’Agios Nikolaos existe toujours, avec ses fresques des 15e et 17e siècles. Depuis la forteresse, vous pourrez admirer la vue magnifique sur la mer de Karpathos.

Trésors cachés de Halki

Alimia

Que ce soit en bateau privé ou en caïque à partir de Nimporio, il vaut la peine de passer une journée à Alimia, un îlot situé dans la mer entre Chalki et Rhodes. Sur la large plage, vous pourrez nager à votre aise et plonger dans les eaux bleues et, à l’intérieur des terres, vous pourrez découvrir les ruines de l’ancien village, ainsi qu’un lac d’eau salée à une courte distance de la côte.

Le monastère de Taxiarchis Michael Palarniotis

Contrastant avec le paysage montagneux austère de l’île, le monastère est entouré d’arbres et offre une vue panoramique. Si vous aimez la randonnée, vous pourrez vous y rendre via le sentier qui part de Nimporio et qui traverse Chorio.

À partir de Palarniotis débute un sentier qui mène à Agios Georgios Riskiou, et qui vous permettra de voir sur votre chemin les ruines d’églises médiévales, des murs de pierre sèche et des moulins abandonnés.

Colorful architecture in a street of Halki village, Dodecanese

Vivez le meilleur de de Chalki

A walk around Nimporio will leave your heart brimming with peaceful thoughts and ineffable joy

Une excursion en bateau vers Chalki intemporel

Remontez le temps lors d'une excursion d'une journée de Rhodes à la plus petite des îles du Dodécanèse, avec des manoirs aristocratiques, des ruelles pittoresques...
  • Nimporio
  • Le majestueux hôtel de ville de Chalki
  • Le monastère d’Agios Ioannis Alargas
  • Le Château des Chevaliers
  • Le monastère de Taxiarchis Michael Palarniotis
  • Des bateaux de pêche dans le port de Chalki
Highlights

Halki

The simple aristocrat in the Dodecanese
Chalki Island, one of the Dodecanese islands of Greece, close to Rhodes
Scroll
Today
24°
WED
21°
THU
21°
FRI
21°
SAT
21°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Simple living and a warm smile greet you on this small but proud island of the Dodecanese

Halki, small though it may be, makes a big impression. It is obvious from the moment you cast your eyes on the smallest Dodecanese island’s gorgeous harbour (and only settlement), Nimporio. The absence of vehicles, the serenity and the romantic atmosphere enthrals you.

Everything moves at a relaxed pace, set by the laid-back attitude of the locals. You will enjoy walks in the stone-paved alleys, amongst stately homes and restored houses, coloured with a painter’s full palette; dive into limpid waters; take time out with ouzo and backgammon and savour the traditional food. And as for the people themselves, they stand out for their innate kindness, their respect their island and love of the slow life.

Things to do in Halki

Wander the alleyways of Nimporio

The sun-drenched two- and three-storey houses of picturesque Nimporio, with colourful walls and tiled roofs, look like little boats anchored in the bay.

Wandering through the alleyways, you’ll enjoy delicious smells from the ovens that every house seems to be equipped to bake bread and the famous makarounia of Halki, handmade pasta, laid out in the sun to dry. Ask a local to give you some prickly pears, fruit of unique taste found everywhere on the island.

Amongst the architecture, the church of Agios Nikolaos (the island’s patron saint) stands out with its steeple and the carved wooden icon screen, as well as its ornately paved courtyard with the traditional “hohlakia”, beach pebbles. And pause for a while at the town hall, an old stately home with its splendid clock tower

The dreamlike beaches 

Some of the island’s beaches are accessible on foot and others by caique from Nimporio. Pontamos is the most popular beach on the island with its sparkling white sand. Kania is a picturesque pebbly beach, as are Giali, Ftenagia and Areta, renowned for their azure waters. Trahia, a beach between two channels of water, can only be accessed by boat.

The Monastery of Agios Ioannis Alargas

“Alarga” means “far” and this monastery in Stafia is indeed some distance from both Palio Horio and the sea. You can get there after a 1.5hrs hike passing dry stone walls and huts, fragrant herbs and a scattering of fig and prickly pear trees. On August 29, the monastery throngs with pilgrims who come to take part in the biggest celebration on the island and are generously accommodated in the monks’ cells. Under the high cypress tree, they eat, sing and dance “sousta” until the morning.

Horio and the Castle of the Knights

Perched on a hill 2.5km from the harbour is Horio, the old capital of the island. Concealed in the ruins of the abandoned houses is the Glory of Halki. From the church of Panagia Horiani, with its exquisite curved masonry, you can follow the path that leads to the Castle of the Knights. Its interior is full of fascinating ruins and the Temple of Agios Nikolaos still stands with frescos from the 15th and 17th centuries. From the fortress, you can admire the wonderful view to the Karpathian sea.

Hidden treasures of Halki

The islet of Alimia 

Either by private boat or by caique from Nimporio, a day trip to Alimia, an islet in the sea between Halki and Rhodes, is well worth it. You will have your fill of swimming and diving in the blue waters of the large beach, while further inland you can find the ruins of the old hamlet and a saltwater lake.

Monastery of Taxiarhis Mihael Palarniotis

In contrast to the stark mountainous landscape of the island, this monastery is surrounded by trees and affords a panoramic view. If you enjoy hiking, you can get to the monastery on the footpath starting from Nimporio and crossing Horio. From Palarniotis, starts a trail towards Agios Georgios Riskiou passing through the ruins of medieval churches and abandoned windmills.

Colorful architecture in a street of Halki village, Dodecanese

Experience the best of Halki

A walk around Nimporio will leave your heart brimming with peaceful thoughts and ineffable joy

A boat trip to timeless Halki

Step back in time on a day trip from Rhodes to the smallest of the Dodecanese islands, with aristocratic mansion houses, quaint alleyways and age-old...
  • Wander the alleyways of Nimporio
  • The town hall of Halki
  • The Monastery of Agios Ioannis Alargas
  • The Castle of the Knights
  • Monastery of Taxiarhis Mihael Palarniotis
  • Fishing boats in the harbor of Halki
Highlights

Plan your trip