Aujourd'hui
24°
SUN
23°
MON
23°
TUE
24°
WED
24°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Empreinte de force et de lyrisme, respectueuse de la nature et des traditions humaines, l’île de Leros a vu sa beauté s’épanouir au fil des siècles.

Ce coin de la Mer Égée où le chant et le rythme, le soleil et la mer cohabitent en harmonie, fut choisi par la déesse Artémis pour y établir son trône. Depuis lors, les hommes y ont élevé des châteaux, des temples, des monastères et des maisons, dans le respect de l’environnement naturel et de l’héritage historique, en gardant intactes les caractéristiques architecturales typiques du Dodécanèse.

Où que vous regardiez, des vues magnifiques raviront vos yeux. De basses collines inscrivent leurs douces courbes sur l’horizon ; d’immenses plaines verdoyantes s’étendent vers la mer. L’Égée est là, lumineuse ; ses vagues éclaboussent joyeusement les criques, les baies et les ports abrités des vents, caressant doucement les rivages sereins. Vous êtes à Leros ! Authentique et bienveillante, elle vous accueille pour des vacances familiales. Sa brise parfumée chassera tous vos soucis. Des installations modernes, des plages uniques, une large variété de sports nautiques et des événements culturels remarquables rendront votre séjour inoubliable.

 

Attractions à Leros

Les hameauxs

Bâtis par les habiles constructeurs locaux, les nombreux hameaux de l’île vous charmeront par leur simplicité et leur beauté naturelle, adaptée à leur environnement.

Agia Marina

Des habitations traditionnelles, des manoirs et des bâtiments italiens ocre et terracotta composent un ensemble architectural harmonieux. Un lieu idyllique et romantique, avec son moulin qui semble flotter sur la mer et sa vue sur l’entrée de la large baie qui abrite un port naturel.

Platanos

Il s’agit de la capitale de l’île. Le long de la crête des collines, une série de moulins à vent contemple la mer. En cet endroit, la vue incroyable sur la Mer Égée vous incitera à déguster votre café un peu plus longtemps…

Panteli

Avec son atmosphère particulière, ce village de pêcheurs est considéré à juste titre comme l’un des endroits les plus pittoresques de l’île. Comme un cadeau offert à la mer, il accueille aussi bien les caïques de pêche que les luxueux bateaux de plaisance, et il enchante chacun par sa beauté simple.

Lakki

Le port principal de l’île est situé sur une pente douce. Les bâtiments néoclassiques d’un côté et les maisons blanchies à la chaux de l’autre créent une composition remarquable de formes, de couleurs et de textures, très appréciée des architectes et des artistes. Sa beauté relaxe à la fois l’esprit et les sens.

Le château de la Vierge Marie

Au nord-est de l’île, la citadelle domine l’horizon, tel un garde infatigable qui surveillerait toute la région, de Patmos et Kalymnos à la côte d’Asie Mineure. Dans son enceinte, vous trouverez l’église de la Vierge Marie, où a lieu une grande célébration le 15 août en l’honneur de la Sainte, ainsi que le musée de l’église, qui abrite de précieux objets de culte. Promenez-vous, explorez les environs superbes de Platanos. La vue est exceptionnelle ! Le ciel, la mer et les créations humaines vous empliront d’un sentiment d’harmonie.

La tour Bellenis

Entièrement construit de pierre locale en 1925, ce manoir à deux étages abrite le musée historique, le musée du folklore, le musée de la presse, ainsi que la galerie d’art et la bibliothèque municipales.

Les plages de Leros

Sur Leros, vous trouverez des plages, des baies reculées ainsi que de petites criques, prêtes à vous accueillir. Parmi elles, se trouvent Panagies, Krithoni, Panteli, Ksirokampos, Koulouki, ainsi que Vromolithos, Gourna, Blefoutis et Agia Kioura. Profitez de moments de détente, libre de tous soucis, dans leurs eaux bleues.

 

Les trésors cachés de Leros

Le musée de la guerre

L’ancien réseau de dépôts de munitions, sous terre comme en surface, constitue maintenant un musée richement fourni qui vous projettera dans l’histoire de la guerre.

Saint Isidore

Une église pittoresque bâtie sur un îlot relié à l’île par un chemin étroit, aussi photogénique que les nombreux couples qui s’y sont unis.

Plongez dans l’histoire

Si vous aimez la plongée, la mer qui entoure Leros présente un fond marin doté d’un riche écosystème, de grottes et de nombreuses épaves de la Deuxième Guerre Mondiale. Équipez-vous et plongez dans des endroits où le temps s’est arrêté et où l’Égée a entrepris de préserver le passé.

Dégustez une cuisine délicieuse

Le poisson frais, la viande délicieuse et les herbes aromatiques locales sont les ingrédients de base de la cuisine de Leros. Ne manquez pas de goûter la patsavouropita, version locale de la yaourtopita (gâteau au yaourt grec), et étanchez votre soif avec la « gavafa », la boisson locale.

Panagia tis Kavourodenas

Cette église, l’une des plus belles et pittoresques de l’île, se trouve près du village de Ksirokampos, sur un rocher de la côte.

  • La chapelle de Saint Isidore
  • Panagia tis Kavourodenas
  • La tour Bellenis
  • Le port idyllique d’Agia Marina
  • Une vue panoramique depuis Platanos
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
The windmills of Hora

Le Dodecanese: Une chaîne d’îles pour sauter d’une île à l’autre

Pendant les vacances, il suffit juste une étape pour commencer le processus de la découverte. Alors, qu’arriverait-il si cette étape devient un saut ? Et puis un autre ? Bienvenue au Dodécanèse, un groupe d’îles féeriques au sud de la mer Égée, simplement

Today
14°
TUE
15°
WED
16°
THU
15°
FRI
12°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Unspoilt Aegean colour for peaceful holidays with a scent of authenticity and pristine nature that will enthrall you

This corner of the Aegean sea, where song and rhythm, sun and sea co-exist harmoniously, was chosen by the goddess Artemis to build her throne. And ever since people have built castles, temples, monasteries and homes which respect the natural environment and historical heritage, preserving the special, unadulterated character of architecture on the islands of the Dodecanese.

Wherever you look, your eyes are greeted by beautiful sights. Low-lying hills inscribe shapely lines along the horizon, endless verdant planes reach languidly for the sea. And the Aegean, full of light; its waves joyfully cartwheeling into coves, bays and harbours sheltered from the winds and adding their silkiest caress to serene shores. This is Leros. Authentic and human, it invites you for family holidays on an island where the herb-scented breeze will blow away all your cares. Modern tourist facilities, unique beaches with numerous options for water sports and remarkable cultural events will make your stay unforgettable.

 

Things to do in Leros

The hamlets

Dotted all over the island, the hamlets enchant with the simplicity of their structure, the unadorned beauty adapted to the natural environment by experienced Lerian builders.

Agia Marina

Traditional residences, stately homes and Italian buildings in ochre and terracotta form a harmonious architectural ensemble. An idyllic, romantic place with the windmill that seems to float in the sea and a view to the entrance of the large bay where the natural harbour is situated.

Platanos

This is the capital of the island. Along the ridge of the hills a cluster of windmills gazes out at the sea. Indubitably, a place where the stunning view of the Aegean will keep you sipping at that coffee a little while longer.

Panteli village

With an atmosphere all of its own, this fishing village is rightly considered to be one of the most picturesque spots on the island. A little gift to the sea, welcoming fishing caiques as well as luxurious pleasure craft and enchanting all-comers with the simplicity of its beauty.

Lakki

The main port of the island is set on gentle, rolling downs. Neoclassical buildings on one side and whitewashed houses on the other create a remarkable composition of shapes, colours and textures which has architects and artists purring with appreciation. Naturally enough, the kind of beauty found there is one that relaxes both the spirit and the senses.

Castle of Panagia (Virgin Mary)

In the north-east of the island the castle dominates the skyline like a sleepless guard keeping vigil over the entire region, from Patmos and Kalymnos to the coast of Asia Minor. In the Castle you will find the church of the Holy Mother which celebrates on August 15th with a big feast, as well as the church Museum with priceless sacred objects. Take a stroll ascending to the beautiful neighbourhoods of Platanos. The view is something else! The sky, the sea and the works of humanity in an apotheosis of harmony.

Bellenis Tower

Built entirely of local stone in 1925, the two-storey stately home houses the Historical Museum, the Folklore Museum, the Press Museum and the Municipal Art Gallery and Library.

Beaches on Leros

On Leros, you will find organized beaches, secluded bays as well as small coves, all awaiting your enjoyment; they include Panagies, Krithoni, Panteli, Ksirokampos, Koulouki as well as Vromolithos, Gourna, Blefoutis and Agia Kioura. Enjoy moments of carefree relaxation in their blue waters.

 

Hidden treasures of Leros

War Museum

A network of subterranean and above-ground ammunition depots nowadays constitutes a museum with a wealth of exhibits that will catapult you through a history of combat.

Saint Isidorus

A picturesque church built on an islet connected to the mainland by a small strip of land, as photogenic as the many couples who have tied the knot there.

Delve into history

If you like scuba diving, the sea around Leros boasts a seabed with a rich ecosystem, caves and a lot of shipwrecks from World War II. Equip yourselves accordingly and dive into places where the clock has stopped and the Aegean has quietly gone about its business of preserving the past.

Dive into tasty cuisine

The freshest fish, delicious local meat and herbs from the fields are the basic ingredients that make up the cuisine of Leros. Make sure you try patsavouropita, the local version of yiaourtopita ( Greek yoghurt cake) and quench your thirst with a local beverage known as “gavafa”.

Virgin Mary of Kavouradena

One of the most delightful and picturesque churches of the island is near Ksirokampos village, built on a rock on the coastline.

  • The chapel of Saint Isidoros
  • Virgin Mary of Kavouradena
  • Bellenis Tower
  • The idyllic Agia Marina harbour
  • Panoramic view from Platanos
Landmarks

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
The windmills of Hora

The Dodecanese: An island chain made for hopping

It takes just one step on holiday to start the process of discovery. So, what if that step becomes a hop? And then another? Welcome to the Dodecanese, a cluster of magical islands in the South Aegean simply made for hopping. Some you will have heard of (R