Икария

Kрасота и энергия на краю эгейского моря
A small beautiful beach, reached after a good ten-minute hike, Seychelles is as exotic as its name would suggest Lorenzo Spoleti
Scroll
Сегодня
22°
TUE
20°
WED
19°
THU
20°
FRI
20°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Деревни, живущие в своем ритме; неподражаемые панегирики; неожиданная смена пейзажа от буйной зелени к голым скалам; реки и секрет многолетия

«Непокорная» скала на севере Эгейского моря, такая же, как и тот юноша, которому она обязана своим именем. Мифический герой Икар, сын Дедала, не послушался предупреждений отца, и солнце растопило воск, которым были склеены его крылья. Юноша стал именем острова и напоминанием всем об ограниченности человека.

Он подарил острову и свою вечную энергию. Шестьдесят деревень, множество рек, буйная зелень, леса, которые сменяются сказочными пляжами, культура иного. Совершите путешествие в волшебное место, полное противоречий и очень интересных людей, чья фантазия преобладает над логикой. Первый их принцип: не обращать внимания на время.

Пусть оно течет, как угодно медленно. Принцип второй: нам не нужны каникулы, чтобы отдыхать от будней. Мы можем радоваться жизни каждый день. Вот два секрета этого острова, которые вкупе с особым климатом дарят своим жителям долголетие. Феномен как для Греции, так и для всего мира.

Стоит увидеть на Икарии

Праздники панегирики Икарии: обряды в ритме души

Традиционный танец острова, сиртаки на счет две четверти. Волынка и скрипка сопровождают танец. Считайте себя счастливчиком, если вам удастся принять участие в их обрядах. Все деревни устраивают свои панегирики, связанные с какими-нибудь календарными праздниками, и так весь год. Праздники длятся с утра до позднего вечера, или с вечера до утра. Самые популярные праздники проходят в августе: 6 числа в деревне Христос Рахон, 15 числа в деревнях Лангада, Монокапби и Акаматра, 17 числа в Каравостамо и 27 августа в Марафо..

Христос Рахон: где день начинается ночью

Горная деревушка Икарии носит имя Иисуса Христа. Создается такое ощущение, что у всех включена замедленная съемка. И, кажется, что обычные сутки объявлены «вне закона». Магазины в этой деревне открываются вечером, чтобы вы могли сделать дневные покупки… Тем более, что уже много веков жители острова по утрам работают на полях, а значит такое время работы магазинов им гораздо удобнее!

Нас: пляж Артемиды

Река с небольшими водопадами в летние месяцы плавно течет к Эгейскому морю. На ее заросших лесом берегах молодежь находит себе тенистый приют, чтобы радоваться морю и жизни. В дельте реки находится древний храм, посвященный некой «другой» Артемиде. Храм украшает собой не только прибрежные гальки, но и само море. Детородная сила природы и сила естественного старения были двумя свойствами «Артемиды Тавропольской», и перед вами ее святилище.

Пляжи Месахти и Сейхеллес

Два экзотических пляжа настолько же разные, насколько и уникальны. Месахти: огромный пляж с золотым песком и голубой водой, идеально подходит для серфинга, игр на песке, развлечений в кафе и релаксации с видом на безбрежное море. Сейхеллес: откуда ни возьмись перед вами небольшая лагуна, с выбеленными на солнце высокими скалами, невозможно синей водой и необычайно дикой и экзотичной красотой.

Спуск со скалы занимает 10 минут, но если вы отыщете эту лагуну, она подарит вам незабываемые воспоминания. Запаситесь провизией, но даже если вы забудете это сделать, по пути вам удачно попадется какое-нибудь импровизированное кафе на колесах.

Скрытые сокровища Икарии

Манганитис и Каркинагри: две деревни, в которых стоит побывать

На Икарии там, где кончаются дороги, начинаются сюрпризы. В деревне Каркинагри люди, как будто ссыльные, прислушиваются сами к себе. Они возродили настоящие ценности жизни.

Живут счастливо, не нуждаясь в материальных ценностях. На другой стороне острова, в Манганитисе никто не мог поверить в пластичность камней, ныряющих в Эгейское море. Или в дикость тех скал, что как пики пронизывают  горизонт. Но все они примирились с природой в этой деревне на Икарии. И позволили времени течь себе на пользу.

Антипиратские «дома-камни»

Редкий архитектурный прием: так называемые «антипиратские» дома. Они были созданы в эпоху «невидимости» примерно в 1700 годы, когда жители острова жили в постоянном страхе пиратских нападений. Поэтому жители придумали использовать огромные круглые валуны (местные жители называют их лурами)  и обнесли их стенами из камня. Так получились дома без окон и печных труб. Дома бережно укрыты под кроной деревьев и врытые наполовину в землю. А что вместо крыши? Большие необработанные отколотые каменные плиты.

Целебные источники

Икарии посчастливилось получить в подарок неоценимое богатство – целебные источники. Восемь природных горячих источников, которые бьют из земли в разных районах острова, заряжают своей энергией и тело и душу. Погрузитесь в уникальную природу Икарии, и, может быть, вам откроется секрет долголетия ее жителей. 

  • Праздники панегирики Икарии: обряды в ритме души
  • Пляжи Месахти и Сейхеллес
  • Антипиратские «дома-камни»
  • Манганитис и Каркинагри: две деревни, в которых стоит побывать
  • Христос Рахон: где день начинается ночью
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Emerald waters on the Island of Kato Koufonisi, Little Cyclades cluster

10 скрытых сокровищ Греции

Откройте для себя маленькие и неизведанные сокровища островной Греции и получите незабываемые впечатления
Zante - Zakynthos

Бесконечное Греческое лето

Греческие острова и материковая Греция приветствуют вас и дарят незабываемые летние впечатления

Ikaria

Where the slow life turns into a festival
A small beautiful beach, reached after a good ten-minute hike, Seychelles is as exotic as its name would suggest
Scroll
Today
12°
SAT
11°
SUN
MON
12°
TUE
15°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Villages that march to a different drummer, wild landscapes and the secret of long life

 

Icarus, the impetuous son of Daedalus who disobeyed his father and flew too close to the sun, aptly gave his name to this rocky island in the North Aegean. Things are done differently here. No one is ever in a hurry, which might account for incredibly long life spans, and in some places the normal day/night cycle is completely turned on its head. The island itself is a study in contrasts and the unexpected.

High, bare, rocky mountains alternate with green slopes, flowing streams and beaches that could have been imported from the South Seas. Ikarians have a legendary capacity for fun, food, mirth, music and drink. Are you ready for something completely different? Come to Ikaria. It is an island-phenomenon unlike anywhere else in Greece, or the world.

What to do in Ikaria

Village fairs

Every village takes advantage of some saint’s day to hold a fair involving music, dancing, tons of food and tanker-loads of wine and raki. They often last all day and all night but even the oldest don’t flag. If you’re at all interested in local traditions and people, you’ve got to experience one or more. Luckily some of the largest are in August;  at  Christos in Rahes on the 6th, Langadas, Monokambi and Akamatra on the 15th, Karavostamo on the 17th and Maratho on the 27th.

Christos

If you thought the rest of Ikaria ran more slowly than elsewhere, prepare for the logical conclusion( or maybe that’s logic turned on its head) in Christos. Here the baker is the only one awake and working during the day. All the other shops, including banks, open at night when the village comes to life. The origins of this topsy-turvy schedule may lie in the fact that everyone was working in the fields during the day so it made sense for the shops to open after dark.

Nas, Artemis’ beach

A large stream cascades down the slope and meanders into the Aegean, watering plants and trees that provide shade to a host of laid-back young people. The scattered remains of an ancient temple to Artemis Tauropolou lie where it flows into the sea. Two of the aspects of Artemis worshipped here were nature’s seminal power and its impact on the landscape.

The beaches of Mesahti and Seychelles

Two beaches as different from each other as they could be, yet both incredibly special. Mesahti is huge and golden, ideal for water sports, sandcastles, refreshing drinks and the soothing sound of the waves while your soul drinks in the blue horizon.

A small beautiful beach, reached after a good ten-minute hike, Seychelles is as exotic as its name would suggest. White rocks, boulders and cliffs combine with translucent blues to magic up the stuff of dreams. It’s a good idea to bring supplies of your own, as only occasionally does a small boat come by hawking “something to eat, something to drink”.

Hidden gems of Ikaria

Manganitis and Karkinagri: two villages you must discover

On Ikaria the surprises begin where the road ends. In the remote village of Karkinagri, the inhabitants listened to their inner selves,  decided they could do without things many of us consider essential and live life in its purest form. There are, for instance, no shops! In Manganitis you won’t believe the sculpted shapes of the rocks plunging into the Aegean or the ferocity with which they pierce the sky. Here, nature rules and everyone is more than happy with that. As for time, you can add watches and clocks alongside shops on the list of objects that are pretty scarce around these parts!

Rock against pirates

A rare architectural phenomenon, anti-pirate hideaways. They were created during a ‘dark age’ around 1700 when the inhabitants lived in constant fear of pirate raids. Necessity being the mother of invention, the locals made windowless, chimneyless houses that were completely camouflaged by huge round boulders, fortifying them with stones. Sometimes carefully hidden under trees, partially buried in the ground and roofed with large slabs of slate, they are marvels of ingenuity.

Health Spas

Lady luck has blessed Ikaria with a wealth of health spas. Eight natural thermal springs, which surface at various points on the island, revitalise body and soul. Who knows, perhaps you too could discover the secret to the inhabitants’ famed longevity?

  • Village fairs
  • The beaches of Mesahti and Seychelles
  • Rock against pirates
  • Manganitis and Karkinagri: two villages you must discover
  • Christos
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Votsi beach, Alonnisos

Greece’s 10 Hidden Gems

Unexplored islands, with a rich history, secret beaches and rare natural beauty. Discover Greece’s island-treasures and experience authentic moments
Zante - Zakynthos

Summer holidays in Greece

The Greek islands and mainland Greece invite you to experience an unforgettable summer.