Ikaria

Schönheit und Energie am rande der Ägäis
A small beautiful beach, reached after a good ten-minute hike, Seychelles is as exotic as its name would suggest Lorenzo Spoleti
Scroll
Heute
22°
TUE
19°
WED
19°
THU
19°
FRI
20°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Dörfer, die im eigenem Rhythmus leben, wilde Landschaften und das Geheimnis des ewigen Lebens

Ikarus, der ungestüme Sohn des Daedalus, der seinem Vater nicht gehorcht und zu nah an die Sonne fliegt – nach ihm wurde passenderweise diese felsige Insel in der nördlichen Ägäis benannt. Alles ist anders hier. Niemand ist jemals in Eile, was die unglaublich lange Lebenserwartung der Bewohner erklären könnte, und an einigen Stellen wird der normale Tag/Nacht-Zyklus komplett auf den Kopf gestellt.

Die Insel ist voller Kontraste. Hohe, felsige Berge wechseln sich mit grünen Hängen, fließende Bäche mit Stränden ab, die aus der Südsee stammen könnten. Ikaria ist bekannt für Lebensfreude, gutes Essen, Musik und regionale Getränke. Kommen Sie nach Ikaria, die etwas andere Insel der Ägäis.

Besichtigen Sie auf Ikaria

Die berühmten Dorffeste

Jedes Dorf nutzt einen anderen heiligen Tag, um ein Fest zu feiern. Machen Sie sich auf viel Tanz, unendlich viel Essen und Tankladungen von Wein und Raki gefasst. Die Feste dauern oft den ganzen Tag und die ganze Nacht und selbst die ältesten Mitglieder der Dorfgemeinde bleiben bis in die Morgenstunden dabei. Wenn Sie Interesse an regionalen Traditionen und Bräuchen haben, sollten Sie auf alle Fälle eines der Feste besuchen. Zum Glück finden einige der größten im August statt: Christos in Rahes am 6., Langadas, Monokambi und Akamatra am 15., Karavostamo am 17. und am 27.8. Maratho.

Christos, wo der Tag zur Nachtzeit beginnt

Wer schon den Rhythmus der Insel als langsam empfindet, sollte nach Christos kommen. Tagsüber kommt es einem so vor, als ob der Bäcker der einzige ist, der arbeitet. Aber es lohnt sich bis zum Abend zu warten. Dann öffnen auch alle anderen Geschäfte, auch die Banken, und das Dorf erwacht zum Leben. Die skurrilen Öffnungszeiten rühren daher, dass früher alle Dorfbewohner tagsüber auf den Feldern arbeiteten und so machte es Sinn, dass die Geschäfte erst nachts öffnen.

Nas, der Strand von Artemis

Ein Bach mit kleinen Wasserfällen fließt bis an den Strand und bewässert auf seinem Weg zu Pflanzen und Bäume, die den vorwiegend jungen Strandbesuchern Schatten spenden. Wo das Rinnsal in die Ägäis fließt, stehen die Überreste eines antiken Tempels der Artemis. Sie wurde aus zwei Gründen hier verehrt: Für die Fruchtbarkeit der Natur und die Kraft der Erosion.

Mesahti  und die Seychellen

Zwei Strände, so verschieden wie überhaupt möglich, doch beide unglaublich schön. Der riesige Mesahti mit goldenem Sandstrand ist ideal für Wassersportarten und zum Sandburgen bauen. Getränke gibt es am Erfrischungsstand, ein perfekter Ort zum Entspannen und um die Seele mit Blick auf den blauen Horizont baumeln zu lassen.

Seychellen. Der Name spricht Bände für die kleine Bucht mitten im Nirgendwo. Nach gut zehn Minuten Fußmarsch gelangen Sie in ein Südseeparadies mit weißen Felsen, Geröll und Felsen, die im Kontrast zu der exotischen Schönheit und dem glasklarem Wasser stehen. Es empfiehlt sich, ein paar Snacks und Getränke mitzubringen, aber selbst wer nicht daran denkt, hat gute Chancen auf einen mobilen Bootskiosk zu treffen.

Versteckte Juwelen auf Ikaria

Manganitis und Karkinagri: zwei Dörfer die Sie entdecken müsse.

Auf Ikaria warten die Überraschungen dort, wo die Straßen aufhören. In dem abgelegenen Dorf Karkinagri sind sich die Einwohner treu geblieben. Sie leben zufrieden, ohne auf die Außenwelt angewiesen zu sein. In Manganitis bringen  die skulpturartigen Felsen, die aus der Ägäis in den Himmel ragen, Urlauber zum Staunen. Das Leben in Einklang mit der Natur steht hier jedem Besucher offen.
 

Steinhäuser gegen Piraten

Ein seltenes architektonisches Phänomen sind die  Piraten-Refugien. Sie wurden während des dunklen Zeitalters um 1700 gebaut, als die Einwohner in ständiger Angst vor Piratenüberfällen lebten. Not macht erfinderisch und so bauten die Einheimischen fensterlose Häuser, die vollständig von großen, runden Felsbrocken getarnt wurden. Manchmal sorgfältig unter Bäumen versteckt, teilweise in der Erde vergraben und mit großen Schieferplatten überdacht, sind sie ein Wunderwerk des Einfallsreichtums.

Thermalquellen

Ikaria kann sich glücklich schätzen, so viele herrliche Thermalquellen zu besitzen. Acht natürliche Spas, die an verschiedenen Orten der Insel hervorsprudeln, revitalisieren Körper und Seele. Vielleicht entdecken Sie hier das Geheimnis des langen Lebens der Inselbewohner.

  • Die berühmten Dorffeste
  • Mesahti und die Seychellen
  • Steinhäuser gegen Piraten
  • Manganitis und Karkinagri: zwei Dörfer die Sie entdecken müsse
  • Christos, wo der Tag zur Nachtzeit beginnt
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Emerald waters on the Island of Kato Koufonisi, Little Cyclades cluster

Die 10 versteckten Juwelen Griechenlands

Unerforschte Inseln, reich an Geschichte, geheimen Stränden, seltener Schönheit. Entdecken Sie die Schätze der griechischen Inseln und erleben Sie authentische Momente.
Zante - Zakynthos

Endloser Griechischer sommer

Die griechischen Inseln und das Festland Griechenlands sorgen für unvergessliche Sommererlebnisse

Ikaria

Where the slow life turns into a festival
A small beautiful beach, reached after a good ten-minute hike, Seychelles is as exotic as its name would suggest
Scroll
Today
12°
SAT
11°
SUN
MON
12°
TUE
15°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Villages that march to a different drummer, wild landscapes and the secret of long life

 

Icarus, the impetuous son of Daedalus who disobeyed his father and flew too close to the sun, aptly gave his name to this rocky island in the North Aegean. Things are done differently here. No one is ever in a hurry, which might account for incredibly long life spans, and in some places the normal day/night cycle is completely turned on its head. The island itself is a study in contrasts and the unexpected.

High, bare, rocky mountains alternate with green slopes, flowing streams and beaches that could have been imported from the South Seas. Ikarians have a legendary capacity for fun, food, mirth, music and drink. Are you ready for something completely different? Come to Ikaria. It is an island-phenomenon unlike anywhere else in Greece, or the world.

What to do in Ikaria

Village fairs

Every village takes advantage of some saint’s day to hold a fair involving music, dancing, tons of food and tanker-loads of wine and raki. They often last all day and all night but even the oldest don’t flag. If you’re at all interested in local traditions and people, you’ve got to experience one or more. Luckily some of the largest are in August;  at  Christos in Rahes on the 6th, Langadas, Monokambi and Akamatra on the 15th, Karavostamo on the 17th and Maratho on the 27th.

Christos

If you thought the rest of Ikaria ran more slowly than elsewhere, prepare for the logical conclusion( or maybe that’s logic turned on its head) in Christos. Here the baker is the only one awake and working during the day. All the other shops, including banks, open at night when the village comes to life. The origins of this topsy-turvy schedule may lie in the fact that everyone was working in the fields during the day so it made sense for the shops to open after dark.

Nas, Artemis’ beach

A large stream cascades down the slope and meanders into the Aegean, watering plants and trees that provide shade to a host of laid-back young people. The scattered remains of an ancient temple to Artemis Tauropolou lie where it flows into the sea. Two of the aspects of Artemis worshipped here were nature’s seminal power and its impact on the landscape.

The beaches of Mesahti and Seychelles

Two beaches as different from each other as they could be, yet both incredibly special. Mesahti is huge and golden, ideal for water sports, sandcastles, refreshing drinks and the soothing sound of the waves while your soul drinks in the blue horizon.

A small beautiful beach, reached after a good ten-minute hike, Seychelles is as exotic as its name would suggest. White rocks, boulders and cliffs combine with translucent blues to magic up the stuff of dreams. It’s a good idea to bring supplies of your own, as only occasionally does a small boat come by hawking “something to eat, something to drink”.

Hidden gems of Ikaria

Manganitis and Karkinagri: two villages you must discover

On Ikaria the surprises begin where the road ends. In the remote village of Karkinagri, the inhabitants listened to their inner selves,  decided they could do without things many of us consider essential and live life in its purest form. There are, for instance, no shops! In Manganitis you won’t believe the sculpted shapes of the rocks plunging into the Aegean or the ferocity with which they pierce the sky. Here, nature rules and everyone is more than happy with that. As for time, you can add watches and clocks alongside shops on the list of objects that are pretty scarce around these parts!

Rock against pirates

A rare architectural phenomenon, anti-pirate hideaways. They were created during a ‘dark age’ around 1700 when the inhabitants lived in constant fear of pirate raids. Necessity being the mother of invention, the locals made windowless, chimneyless houses that were completely camouflaged by huge round boulders, fortifying them with stones. Sometimes carefully hidden under trees, partially buried in the ground and roofed with large slabs of slate, they are marvels of ingenuity.

Health Spas

Lady luck has blessed Ikaria with a wealth of health spas. Eight natural thermal springs, which surface at various points on the island, revitalise body and soul. Who knows, perhaps you too could discover the secret to the inhabitants’ famed longevity?

  • Village fairs
  • The beaches of Mesahti and Seychelles
  • Rock against pirates
  • Manganitis and Karkinagri: two villages you must discover
  • Christos
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Votsi beach, Alonnisos

Greece’s 10 Hidden Gems

Unexplored islands, with a rich history, secret beaches and rare natural beauty. Discover Greece’s island-treasures and experience authentic moments
Zante - Zakynthos

Summer holidays in Greece

The Greek islands and mainland Greece invite you to experience an unforgettable summer.