Lac de Kerkini

Un lac, de nombreux voyages
Sunrise on Kerkini lake
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
SUN
MON
TUE
WED
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Au lac Kerkini, l'homme rencontre l'environnement, l'eau la nature, le calme les activités, et vous un petit «refuge» de rêve

Qui a dit que quand l’homme intervient dans la nature, le résultat est forcément décevant? Le lac de Kerkini est la preuve parfaite du contraire. Il s’est formé à la suite de la construction d’un barrage en 1932 et avec le temps il s’est métamorphosé en une scène idyllique avec la beauté de la Macédoine étant omniprésente. Profitez des plaisirs de l’écotourisme: observation des oiseaux et aux tours en bateaux, tandis que ses rives sont parfaites pour s’adonner au cyclisme et à la marche - quelle qu’elle soit l’activité que vous choisissiez à Kerkini, ce lac vous ravira et vous rajeunira.

Attractions à Kerkini

Des milliers de créatures pour un seul écosystème

Kerkini ne peut que fasciner puisque l’ensemble du lieu semble directement extrait d’un documentaire de chaîne de télévision thématique consacrée à la nature. Profitez de vos vacances dans ce coin de la Macédoine pour y jouer vous aussi votre rôle dans le scénario en prenant part à la cohabitation – l’interaction même – entre les individus et les animaux, les oiseaux et les arbres, l’eau et les poissons. Pris tous ensemble, tous ces acteurs créent une atmosphère tout-à-fait singulière. Tout coexiste au sein de cette république pacifique et paisible dans un équilibre tout à la fois délicat et dynamique.

Observer les oiseaux

Si vous êtes un spécialiste des oiseaux ou même si vous ne vous y connaissez qu’un peu, vous allez vous sentir au paradis à Kerkini à les observer. Des groupes de pélicans frisés, des hérons de toutes sortes, des cormorans pygmées... tout type d’oiseaux fréquentent le lieu. En fait, plus de 300 espèces ont été identifiées ici dont de nombreuses sont protégées. Pour plus d’oiseaux encore et pour admirer une diversité de plumages encore plus grande, prenez vos jumelles et allez au monts Bèlès et Kroussia au nord du lac. Le cœurde l’écotourisme bat ici!

Un tour du lac en barque

Entrez dans un canoé (accueillant jusqu’à trois personnes) ou un «plava», l’embarcation traditionnelle au fond plat utilisée par les pêcheurs,  pour profiter de votre voyage au monde marin de Kerkini. Ces bateaux sont parfaits pour se déplacer en eaux peu profondes entre les arbres à moitié immergés et les roseaux. Vous n’êtes pas sûr de vos aptitudes en canoé? Prenez un billet pour un tour guidé du lac.

Cyclisme aux villages autour du lac

Le sol autour du lac est plat, idéal pour marcher ou profiter du paysage en faisant un tour en vélo pour découvrir les villages tranquilles des environs. Arrêtez-vous d’abord à Kerkini avec ses édifices bas et ses rues larges. Second  arrêt: Lithotopos, où vous pourrez voir comment le lac s’est formé. Une route pavée vous emmènera à un endroit qui surplombe le barrage. Quand vous atteindrez le petit port de Lithotopos, descendez de votre vélo. Les bois, ici, constituent le cadre idéal pour une très belle ballade à pieds.

Les trésors cachés de Kerkini

La forêt de Kerkini

L’endroit idyllique pour une aventure 100 % écologique. En 4x4 ou à pied – pour éviter l’enlisement dans la boue – préparez-vous à découvrir un lieu de toute beauté: des étangs de nénuphars, des nids de cormorans et tout un univers riche en oiseaux et en fleurs.

Ano Porroïa, l’évasion à 100%!

Situé au cœur d’un environnement exceptionnel au pied du mont Bèlès en Macédoine, le village d’Ano Poria est le plus développé de cette région montagneuse. Vous y trouverez des hôtels chaleureux et confortables, des cafés très agréables et des petites tavernes authentiques. Akritochori dispose également d’hôtels et se trouve près du monastère Timios Prodromos, une visite incontournable.

Les buffles d’eau de Kerkini

Autrefois en voie de disparition, ces animaux doux représentent à nouveau aujourd’hui une espèce florissante. Vous pourrez les voir barboter dans le lac. Ne repartez pas de la région sans emporter avec vous du yaourt au lait de buffle – iaourti me gala ydrovouvalou – ainsi qu’une spécialité régionale dont il est un composant essentiel: les kazandipi, de succulentes douceurs crémeuses et caramélisées.

  • Observer les oiseaux
  • La forêt de Kerkini
  • Ano Porroïa, l’évasion à 100%!
  • Les buffles d’eau de Kerkini
Highlights

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Parnassos Ski Resort: Skiing in Greece with sea view

La Grèce en hiver

L'hiver lumineux de la Grèce vous accueille aux vacances d'hiver les plus fascinantes de votre vie
Arbres aux feuilles dorées en automne à Valia Κalda

Vacances d’automne en Grèce

Family on a trekking day looking at wild flowers

Vacances en famille en Grèce

Découvrez la Grèce avec les yeux des enfants: plages magnifiques, stations organisées, une multitude d’activités et d’expériences pour toute la famille.

Lake Kerkini

A refuge for nature and birdwatchers
Sunrise on Kerkini lake
Scroll
Today
SUN
MON
TUE
WED
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Ecotourism at its best in one of the most important wetlands in Europe

Who was it who said that when man intervenes in nature, the results are invariably disappointing? Lake Kerkini refutes that statement 100%. It’s a lake born after a dam was built in 1932 and with the passage of time, it has metamorphosed into a veritable Macedonian paradise. Enjoy the pleasures of ecotourism: A sanctuary for birds and humans alike, the calm, unruffled lake offers itself for birdwatching and boating, while its shores are perfect for cycling and walks. Try Kerkini for the pause that refreshes.
 

What to do in Kerkini

Thousands of creatures, one ecosystem

Kerkini can’t help but fascinate, as the whole setting seems lifted from a nature channel documentary. Here on holiday in Macedonia, you too can play a role in the scenario, as you become part of the interaction between people and animals, birds and trees, fields and reed beds, water and fish. Taken altogether, these constitute a very special atmosphere. Everything coexists in this peaceful  kingdom in a delicate yet  dynamic balance.

Time for birdwatching

If you’re a ornithologist, you’ll think you’ve died and gone to heaven at Kerkini. Flocks of Dalmatian pelicans, herons of all kinds, pygmy cormorants… all frequent the area. In fact, more than 300 species have been identified here, many of them endangered. For more birds of a different feather, including raptors, take your binoculars up to Mts Beles and Krousia just north of the lake. The heart of ecotourism beats here  in Macedonia.

Paddle your own canoe

Grab your paddles, your friends and take to the water in a  canoe (large enough for three) or a plava, the traditional flat-bottomed craft used by local fishermen, and explore the beguiling  world of Kerkini. These boats are ideal for skimming over shallow water between half-submerged trees and clusters of reeds. Unsure of your skills? Join a lake tour.

Cycling around the lakeside villages

The land around the lake is flat, just right for a bike ride or gentle walk to get to know the district’s quiet villages. First stop, Kerkini, with its pleasant low buildings and broad streets. Next, Lithotopos, where you can see how the lake was created. A paved road will take you to a spot just above the dam. When you get to Lithotopos’s little port, get off your bike. The woods here are ideal for a walk.

Hidden gems of Kerkini

The forest of Kerkini

Just the place for an ecological adventure. In a 4x4 or on foot – to avoid the risk of getting stuck in the mud – set off to discover a place of special beauty;  water lily ponds, cormorants’ nests and a rich world of birds and flowers.

Ano Poria, for a change of scene

This village, nestled amidst incomparable scenery at the foot of Mt Beles, is the most developed in this hilly area. Here you’ll find cosy hotels, cafes and tavernas. Akritohori also has hotels and is near the Timios Prodromos monastery, which should also be on your must-see list.

Kerkini’s water buffaloes

Once a dying breed, these gentle beasts are flourishing once more. You may see them wading in the lake. Look for buffalo milk yogurt and the caramelised, custardlike sweet kazan dipi, a regional speciality.

  • Time for birdwatching
  • The forest of Kerkini
  • Ano Poria, for a change of scene
  • Kerkini’s water buffaloes
Landmarks

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Family on a trekking day looking at wild flowers

Family holidays in Greece

Beautiful beaches, organised resorts, warm hospitality, fun for the whole family. Greece is the best destination for a kid-friendly holiday.
Parnassos Ski Resort: Skiing in Greece with sea view

Winter holidays in Greece

Greece's bright light welcomes you to experience the most exciting winter holidays of your life
Trees with golden leaves at autumn in Valia Κalda

Autumn holidays in Greece