Heute
MON
TUE
WED
THU
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Der See Kerkini, Ökotourismus in einem der bedeutendsten Feuchtgebiete Europas

Wenn der Mensch in die Natur eingreift, muss das Ergebnis nicht zwangsläufig enttäuschend sein. Der See Kerkini ist ein wunderbares Beispiel dafür. Es ist ein künstlicher See, der 1932 aus einem Damm entstand und im Laufe der Zeit  die Umgebung in ein wahres Paradies verwandelt hat und die Schönheit Makedoniens wiederspiegelt. Genießen Sie die Freuden des Ökotourismus. Ein Schutzgebiet für Vögel und Menschen gleichermaßen, ist der ruhige, gelassene See ideal zum Vögel beobachten und Boot fahren. Am Ufer können Besucher tolle Radtouren und Spaziergänge machen.

Besichtigen Sie in Kerkini

Tausende von Lebewesen, ein Ökosystem

Der See Kerkini bietet Ihnen eine faszinierend schöne Landschaft, die eine perfekte Kulisse für jeden Dokumentationsfilm wäre. Nutzen Sie Ihren Teil in dieser Ecke Makedoniens. Werden Sie Teil der Harmonie zwischen Menschen und Tieren, Vögeln und Bäumen, Feldern und Schilf, Wasser und Fischen, die das Ökosystem verbindet. Nur zusammen entsteht diese magische Atmosphäre. Alles koexistiert in diesem friedlichen Königreich in einem zarten, aber dynamischen Gleichgewicht.

Vögel, Vögel, Vögel

Ein Paradies für die Ornithologen unter Ihnen. Schwärme von dalmatinischen Pelikanen, Reiher aller Art, Kormorane... alle fliegen hier um den See herum. In der Tat sind mehr als 300 Arten hier identifiziert worden, von denen viele vom Aussterben bedroht sind. Für andere Vögel, darunter auch Greifvögel, nehmen Sie Ihr Fernglas mit und ab auf die Berge Beles und Krousia nördlich des Sees. Das Herz des Ökotourismus schlägt hier!

Kanufahren

Schnappen Sie sich Ihre Paddel, Ihre Freunde und los geht´s. Nehmen Sie sich ein Kanu (groß genug für drei) oder ein plava, die traditionellen Flachboden-Boote, die die regionalen Fischer nutzen, und erkunden Sie die Wasserwelt von Kerkini. Diese Boote sind ideal auf flachem Wasser zwischen halb versunkenen Bäumen und Schilf. Wer lieber in der Gruppe unterwegs ist, kann sich einer der vielen Seetouren anschließen.

Radfahren rund um den See

Das Land rund um den See ist flach – genau richtig für eine Radtour oder einen kleinen Spaziergang, um die ruhigen Dörfer des Bezirks kennenzulernen. Erste Station: Kerkini mit seinen hübschen, niedrigen Gebäuden und breiten Straßen . Nächster Stopp: Lithotopos, wo Sie sehen können, wie der See entstanden ist. Eine gepflasterte Straße führt Sie auf eine Stelle etwas oberhalb der Staumauer. Die Wälder hier sind ideal für einen Spaziergang.

Versteckte Juwelen in Kerkini

Der Wald von Kerkini

Genau der richtige Ort für ein ökologisches Abenteuer. Seerosenteiche, Kormorannester und eine reiche Welt voller Vögel und Blumen, ob im 4x4-Jeep oder zu Fuß.

Ano Poria, für einen Tapetenwechsel

Dieses Dorf, eingebettet in unvergleichliche Landschaften am Fuße des Bergs Beles, in Makedonien, ist traumhaft schön. Hier finden Sie gemütliche Hotels, Cafés und Tavernen. Akritohori hat auch einige Hotels und ist in der Nähe des Timios Prodromos Kloster, das ebenfalls sehenswert ist.

Kerkinis Wasserbüffel

Auch wenn die Rasse vor dem Aussterben bedroht war, leben diese sanften Riesen heute wieder am See und waten durch das Wasser. Probieren Sie den Büffelmilchjoghurt und den karamellisierten, süßen Kazan dipi, eine regionale Spezialität.

  • Vögel, Vögel, Vögel
  • Der Wald von Kerkini
  • Ano Poria, für einen Tapetenwechsel
  • Kerkinis Wasserbüffel
Landmarks

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Parnassos Ski Resort: Skiing in Greece with sea view

Winter in Griechenland

Der lichtdurchflutete griechische Winter verspricht ein Winterurlaubserlebnis der besonderen Art
Bäume mit goldenen Blättern am Herbst in Valia Κalda

Herbstferien in Griechenland

Family on a trekking day looking at wild flowers

Familienurlaub in Griechenland

Wunderschöne Strände, Feriendörfer, herzliche Gastfreundschaft, zahlreiche Aktivitäten für die ganze Familie. Für Urlaub mit Kindern, ist Griechenland das beste Reiseziel!.

Lake Kerkini

A refuge for nature and birdwatchers
Sunrise on Kerkini lake
Scroll
Today
SUN
MON
TUE
WED
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Ecotourism at its best in one of the most important wetlands in Europe

Who was it who said that when man intervenes in nature, the results are invariably disappointing? Lake Kerkini refutes that statement 100%. It’s a lake born after a dam was built in 1932 and with the passage of time, it has metamorphosed into a veritable Macedonian paradise. Enjoy the pleasures of ecotourism: A sanctuary for birds and humans alike, the calm, unruffled lake offers itself for birdwatching and boating, while its shores are perfect for cycling and walks. Try Kerkini for the pause that refreshes.
 

What to do in Kerkini

Thousands of creatures, one ecosystem

Kerkini can’t help but fascinate, as the whole setting seems lifted from a nature channel documentary. Here on holiday in Macedonia, you too can play a role in the scenario, as you become part of the interaction between people and animals, birds and trees, fields and reed beds, water and fish. Taken altogether, these constitute a very special atmosphere. Everything coexists in this peaceful  kingdom in a delicate yet  dynamic balance.

Time for birdwatching

If you’re a ornithologist, you’ll think you’ve died and gone to heaven at Kerkini. Flocks of Dalmatian pelicans, herons of all kinds, pygmy cormorants… all frequent the area. In fact, more than 300 species have been identified here, many of them endangered. For more birds of a different feather, including raptors, take your binoculars up to Mts Beles and Krousia just north of the lake. The heart of ecotourism beats here  in Macedonia.

Paddle your own canoe

Grab your paddles, your friends and take to the water in a  canoe (large enough for three) or a plava, the traditional flat-bottomed craft used by local fishermen, and explore the beguiling  world of Kerkini. These boats are ideal for skimming over shallow water between half-submerged trees and clusters of reeds. Unsure of your skills? Join a lake tour.

Cycling around the lakeside villages

The land around the lake is flat, just right for a bike ride or gentle walk to get to know the district’s quiet villages. First stop, Kerkini, with its pleasant low buildings and broad streets. Next, Lithotopos, where you can see how the lake was created. A paved road will take you to a spot just above the dam. When you get to Lithotopos’s little port, get off your bike. The woods here are ideal for a walk.

Hidden gems of Kerkini

The forest of Kerkini

Just the place for an ecological adventure. In a 4x4 or on foot – to avoid the risk of getting stuck in the mud – set off to discover a place of special beauty;  water lily ponds, cormorants’ nests and a rich world of birds and flowers.

Ano Poria, for a change of scene

This village, nestled amidst incomparable scenery at the foot of Mt Beles, is the most developed in this hilly area. Here you’ll find cosy hotels, cafes and tavernas. Akritohori also has hotels and is near the Timios Prodromos monastery, which should also be on your must-see list.

Kerkini’s water buffaloes

Once a dying breed, these gentle beasts are flourishing once more. You may see them wading in the lake. Look for buffalo milk yogurt and the caramelised, custardlike sweet kazan dipi, a regional speciality.

  • Time for birdwatching
  • The forest of Kerkini
  • Ano Poria, for a change of scene
  • Kerkini’s water buffaloes
Landmarks

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Family on a trekking day looking at wild flowers

Family holidays in Greece

Beautiful beaches, organised resorts, warm hospitality, fun for the whole family. Greece is the best destination for a kid-friendly holiday.
Parnassos Ski Resort: Skiing in Greece with sea view

Winter holidays in Greece

Greece's bright light welcomes you to experience the most exciting winter holidays of your life
Trees with golden leaves at autumn in Valia Κalda

Autumn holidays in Greece