Athens Filarmonia Orchestra: Mozart at the Museum

From 12 February to 22 May 2022 · ATHENS

Venue Details

Gazi - Votanikos - Kerameikos

Benaki Museum - Pireos Building

138 Pireos Avenue

The International Conducting Masterclass and Competition of the Athens Philharmonia Orchestra has been held three times since its launch in 2019. In a cycle of three symphony concerts at the Benaki Museum, the three winners of the 2019, 2020 and 2021 competitions will have the opportunity to conduct the Athens Philharmonia Orchestra in a full concert program. In the fourth and final concert, Michalis Economou, the internationally renowned conductor who inspired this initiative, will take the podium to complete the cycle.

The focus of the concert cycle is on Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s last four symphonies, while the program also includes works by Greek composers such as Philippos Tsalahouris, Theodoros Antoniou, Michalis Economou and Tasos Rossopoulos. The soloists are clarinetist Angelos Politis, baritone singer Christos Rammopoulos, flutist Theodora Iordanidou and internationally renowned pianist Konstantinos Destounis.

The dates of the Cycle of concerts are as follows:
Saturday, February 12 (Gaddiel Dombrowner, Israel, 2021 winner)
Ottorino Respighi, Ancient Airs and Dances – Suite No. 3
Philippos Tsalahouris, “Es winkt und neigt sich”, fantasia/variations on a theme by Fr. Nietzsche, for solo clarinet, baritone and orchestra
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Symphony No. 38 in D major, Κ. 504

Soloists: Angelos Politis (clarinet), Christos Rammopoulos (baritone)
Conductor: Gaddiel Dombrowner, Israel, 2021 winner

Saturday, February 26 (Luis Castillo Briceño, Costa Rica, 2020 winner)
Theodoros Antoniou, Kommos B’
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Concerto for flute and orchestra in G major, Κ. 313
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Symphony No. 39 in E flat major, Κ. 543

Soloists: Theodora Iordanidou (flute)
Conductor: Luis Castillo Briceño, Costa Rica, 2020 winner

Friday, April 1 (Jonathan Stark, Germany, winner 2019)
Franz Schubert / Gustav Mahler, Death and the Maiden, String Quartet No. 14 in D minor, arranged for string orchestra
Michalis Economou, Concerto grosso 
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K. 550

Soloists: APhO’s principal strings
Conductor: Jonathan Stark, Germany, 2019 winner

Sunday, May 22 (Michalis Oikonomou, chief music teacher)
Tasos Rossopoulos, Don Giovanni's Liqueur, divertimento for orchestra
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Concerto for piano and orchestra in A major, No 12, K. 414
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Symphony No. 41 in C major, “Jupiter”, K. 551

Soloists: Konstantinos Destounis, piano
Conductor: Michalis Economou Soloists: clarinetist A. Politis, baritone Ch. Rammopoulos, flutist Th. Iordanidou and internationally renowned pianist K. Destounis.

Ticket Details

€ 15, €10 

Tickets must be bought in advance at tickets.benaki.org 


From 12 February to 22 May 2022